We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

What can I say this hotel is fabulous!

Stayed in the suite over Christmas and could not fault anything in the room which was sooo spacious. It is very rare to find a bathroom with perfect lighting that makes you want to stay in the bathroom! The superking bed was fabulous as was the huge TV and gingerbread from Grasmere. I have never stayed in a hotel where there are cappucino sachets, galaxy hot chocoate and a good selection of teas to choose from. The breakfast was out of this world, just too much choice! It was served very quickly on hot plates (which I like!) and beautifully presented. I am a cappucino addict and was delighted when the waiter accommodated my request on both mornings as I think it was standard to have filter coffee and tea not a cappucino from the bar with breakfast.

I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel and would highly recommend it. Great location only about 10 minute walk into Ambleside. Also impressed that if you had to park in the public carpark due to the hotel car park being full, that they would reimburse your ticket. There was ample parking in the hotel car park so we did not need to but thought that this was a lovely touch as were all the extra's in the bedroom such as bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, tray for dirty boots. Also lovely lighting in the room and huge fab radiators that heated the bedroom immediately if you turned them up. Also loved the DVD library in the hotel reception, another fabulous touch to a fabulous hotel! I usually find one little niggle if I stay away from home but not in this hotel - well done!

Room Tip: The suite is fabulous and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happiness37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    285
    54
    5
    11
See reviews for
229
1,128
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic location - Out of hub bub of Windermere but easy to get to areas around Coniston and Ullswater. Also just across the road from Ambleside pier so handy for boat trips across the lake. The hotel is an excellent standard, beds are wonderfully comfortable. Restaurant is great - we had dinner there (best to book - it's that popular) and also an early tea for a light bite - both were great. We were lucky to have great weather so were out every day enjoying the area. Definitely recommend this hotel again - I hope to go back at some point.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Just returned from a two night winter break at the Waterhead Hotel. We had a lovely time. Our bedroom was warm and spacious with lots of extras, such as a DVD player etc. We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent dinner each evening. Breakfast was made to order and delicious. We were most fortunate to have sunny weather too! The staff were, without exception, friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room with a side view of the lake, No 34, it was spacious, quiet and very comfortable in ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandKathy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and I have to say I have nothing but positive praise and excellent comments about it.

This hotel is a prime location to the bars, shops & Ambleside lovely town centre, only a min walk if that and surrounding are beautiful!

Our amazing room was spotless,modern and so spacious and even had a DVD player with a whole buffet of up to date movies to watch for free.

The staff where polite, helpful and always to hand if we needed directions, queries and information.

The view from our fabulous room overlooked the end of the lake which was beautiful and we will definitely be returning in the warmer weather.

We dined in the immaculate, trendy restaurant and the food was exceptional.

I would advise anyone to go and stay here as it was such a beautiful hotel by far and it made all the difference with it's little extra touches.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed at the Waterhead on a KGB deal for two nights bed and breakfast this January. Surprised how lovely the hotel was for the price, really clean, friendly staff, beautiful room with huge bath and massively comfortable bed !! The food was very good too!

Weather was very cold, but it is January! A beautiful place to visit, definitely worth going on a boat ride to see the lake!

Room Tip: We had a standard room. it was lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v-hackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

lovely place to stay, just outside ambleside, but a quick walk/taxi into the restaurants and pubs. well appointed room, good and polite staff, good parking. whats not to like?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had a lovely 2 night break at the Waterhead Hotel. The location was great, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the food at dinner and breakfast was delicious. We hope to return in the near future!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachieb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing