We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Rooms really great, staff helpful and friendly, Breakfasts very good choice,the spa at the low wood idle after a days walk. this was how second stay and will be going again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    279
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
225
1,111
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury wiltshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal and had a lovely stay! We had a view over the lake and the room was modern, nicely furnished and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was very good. If we have one criticism its that the portions were too big... but thats always a good complaint.

We would definately stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked a 2 night stay through KGB and upgraded to lake view room. Fantastic hotel, room very high standrd. Particularly liked Sam the "do not disturb dog", original fun idea. Staff very attentative and caring, they even put an ice bucket full of ice in our room on both evenings all part of their amazing service. Food superb standard. Excellent location. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Opt for lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHembery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My family are regular visitors to the lakes and have stayed at numerous places but overall we keep coming back to the waterhead. The staff are always friendly and eager to please and the rooms are modern and very clean. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The breakfasts are perfect to set you up for the days slog up some mountain ( ok, hill). To top it all it's in the best location right on the lake with a pub over the road. Can't wait to go again !!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here end of January 2012 for a four day stay with my Girlfriend. We stayed in room 8 with stunning views over the lake. During our visit I proposed to my Girlfriend of 7 years, and we were delighted to find a bottle of champagne and a congratulations card from the hotel on return to our room. The staff were very courteous and our thanks go to Adam, Miroslava and Stephen for their help in making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely stay at the Waterhead again and have already recommended the Hotel to a number of friends and family. Hopefully we will return for our wedding later in the year.

Room Tip: The Lake view rooms on the first floor have stunning views, room 8 excellent bay windowed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STEVEH1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Have stayed in the area a number of times and have eaten here before (see seperate review) but have never stayed here until last week. Had our dog with me and she was well looked after - small bed provided and a dog bowl with some treats in.

Staff very good - knew my name on the 2nd day. Breakfast very good - had this in the room. The room was a reasonable size, view over the car park (room 40), good clean bathroom. Underfloor heating worked well. Bar area very good, evening food was also very good. Its a 10 minute walk in to town and pretty central to the Lakes as its Ambleside. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essjay2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St helens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

this is one of the best hotels i have stayed in. i stayed with my partner for one night and the only complaint we had was that the stay wasn,t long enough. we will be going back in summer for a longer stay. we we,re upgraded to a lake view room which was fabulous and the restaurant was beautiful. the staff couldn,t have been any nicer and the hotel was ina great position within walking distance of ambleside. cant wait to return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing