We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed at The Waterhead for two nights at the beginning of April 2012. We manage to stay there at least once a year, this was our fifth visit.

Our booking was for the ‘Dirty Boots’ package consisting of two nights bed and breakfast, with evening meal on the first night - such good value for money. When making the reservation I asked for a specific room we have stayed in previously and, although special requests cannot be guaranteed, the hotel was able to accommodate (literally) our request.

Staff were, as always, very friendly and helpful; rooms and communal areas clean and presentable; DVDs still available in reception to choose and take to your room (it is a tradition for us to choose Miss Potter!); breakfast substantial; restaurant menu and food great. I’m still not keen on the toiletries provided in the en-suite bathroom but perhaps that is a personal choice! Although the hotel have made some cuts (no longer fruit in the room and bottled water only available in the room on request rather than automatically provided), it is understandable that cuts have had to be made and they did not detract from the great stay we have there – plus there’s still the Grasmere gingerbread in the room!

Look out for the great deals at The Waterhead, and do not hesitate to consider staying there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear sandrabj,

Many thanks for the great review and your continued custom. It was pleasing to read you had another enjoyable stay on our 'Dirty Boots' package. You will be pleased to know we are in the process of currently changing our toiletries in the rooms so i do hope these are more to your personal taste.
I look forward to welcome you back for another visit in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    272
    53
    4
    10
See reviews for
224
1,079
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just returned from a much needed 3 day break. Due to the stress of the last 2 months we decided that we needed to get away to a good hotel in a nice location so that we could relax. When we agreed on Ambleside we then looked at the hotels and after reading the reviews we chose this one. We were not disappointed, and could not have chosen better. The Waterhead is a gem of a hotel within a prime location in Ambleside,overlooking the Lake. The Reception staff were friendly and efficient and an offer to assist us with our luggage was made. Our room number was 23, This is a classic lake room, which had a lake view, and as part of the deal that we booked under there was a bottle of Prosecco (on ice) and a box of chocolates set out on the table at the window. The room was a good size, well furnished with plenty of storage space. The bathroom was beautiful, well designed with a good size bath, great shower, and a selection of quality toiletries and towels.The bed was king size and so comfortable, great night's sleep. Dinner over the 3 nights in the restaurant was delicious, the food was excellent with a varied menu. You will not leave the table hungry as the portions are more than adequate, in fact we were struggling to eat 3 courses, but because the food was so delicious you just had to force yourself. Breakfast again was first class with a great selection, and it was nice to order it from a menu and have it brought to you freshly cooked, instead of standing in a buffet queue. Some of the tables in the restaurant/dining room have a great view of the lake, but most provide a lake glimpse. The bar area is also lovely, it has great lake views because of the number of , and size of windows in it. All the staff in the hotel are first class, they are friendly, efficient and helpful. Nothing was too much bother for them, and they smile!! The service that we received throughout our stay was faultless. The location of the hotel is also a big plus, a 10 minute stroll into town. If like us you decide not to use your car during your stay, bus stops are located at the front and the back of the hotel. You can get a cheap day ticket which allows you to get on and off the bus at various points as many times as you want. It's great way to see other places, and take in the views while travellling. Reception has a bus timetable . Overall This is a great hotel with stylish surroundings and a lovely friendly, calm, relaxing atmosphere. Can't really find fault with it anywhere. To be honest though much as we loved it, don't know if we would pay the full asking price, might just be slightly over priced, but if you can get a "deal" don't hesitate. In the words of the terminator "I will be back" Well done Waterhead

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Just back after a two night stay, not our first time at Ambleside but our first stay at Waterhead and most definitely not our last! The was a post 60th birthday 'relax and unwind' for my husband after a full on weekend of celebrating. The Waterhead delivered everything we needed, stylish surroundings, a calming atmosphere and delicious food. All this just an easy stroll away from Ambleside.
We chose to upgrade from Classic lake view to Superior lake view and, having seen both, felt we'd made the right choice. Our room was very spacious and gorgeous lake views from the balcony, an ideal spot to sit and sip our Prosecco and feel very spoilt. Bathrooms are well designed,with good quality towels and toiletries and underfloor heating.
All public areas were equally stylish and relaxing, and the bar and restaurant area was lovely. Its especially nice if you are lucky enough to bag one of the lake view tables for breakfast or dinner, tho most tables provide at least lake glimpses. As mentioned by other reviewers, the food in the restaurants is first class. Dinner on both nights was delicious and memorable, we both indulged in three courses per night, which is unusual for us but the food was too nice to resist! There is a good and well priced wine list,which included a lovely Margaret River Shiraz, one of our favourite. Breakfast was great too, it's a refreshing change to have cooked to order rather than lukewarm buffets. Service was impeccable too.
Having stayed at similar priced and more expensive hotels in the area on previous visits, I can see why Waterhead currently holds the Trip Advisor crown for Ambleside.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We booked this meal with a party of a variety of ages and tastes all in the party were served well with only one problem meal which was not charged for. Choice of local and specialist beer and wine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBo770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here for one night with my sister as it was our birthday (we're twins!). We've been looking
forward to staying here for a long time and we finally got to stay here with an offer of an overnight stay and a 3 course meal. The staff were friendly and efficient on reception on arrival and then we went to the room. It was room 33, it actually has a lake view, but we didnt pay any extra for it. Probably because the window is over where all the deliveries are made in the morning! I was awake and didnt bother me, but if you like a lie in, choose another room, Considering it is a 4* hotel, the cream carpet in the room is quite dirty. We took with us a bottle of prosecco and they bring ice to your room about 3 pm, which is a good idea. Our meal in the restaurant was lovely, we both had fillet steak, cooked to perfection, it was delicious! I would definitely stay here again, but only with another offer, i dont think its worth the top price.

Room Tip: room 33 for a lake view without paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisont2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Had a long weekend away for my boyfriend's birthday and chose the Waterhead due to the reviews. It was wonderful and the staff could not have been more helpful. The location is excellent as just by the lake and it is within easy walking distance to Ambleside. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious with great attention to detail and good quality products. The gingerbread on the drinks tray was very well received! The bar is excellent and the breakfast first class. We also used the facilities at Low Wood as it rained one afternoon -sauna, pool and hot tub - just what was needed! Amazing find in the Lake and the perfect base for a wonderful weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed there for my husband's 50th birthday with our two teenage daughters and his parents. Rooms were modern and very well equipped. Hotel is bright and airy and staff were very friendly and helpful. Evening meals and breakfast were both lovely. We did not have time to use the spa which is about a mile away. Hotel is on the bank of Windermere separated by the road. It was very quiet at night and we all slept well. Amazing choice of breakfast. I am sure we will be returning. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. My only surprise was that there is no boot room or drying room, but I got the impression not many of the guests intend to go walking. We went walking and weather stayed good, but I am not sure where you would dry out wet clothes or store muddy boots.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor with views of the Lake. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMarc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing