We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive, friendly service at this Lake side hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at Waterhead for a special occasion - staff were really friendly & helpful. Had dinner in the hotel - the lamb, & the chicken (updated version of Coq au vin!) & deserts to die for! Breakfast was stunning - full English & full Veggie - complete with Quorn rashers - cooked to perfection.
Great location overlooking Windermere and the pier. Bought Walkers' ticket for boat and headed over to Wray castle during the day.
Would highly recommend Waterhead for couples wanting a special get away. They did have high chairs & a kids menu though aswell.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red-Leather-Elephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at the Waterhead for a special occassion in June, and it was truely excellent.
Like some other reviewers we stayed in a ground floor lake view room, which was well worth it. The Hotel is situated , as the name suggests at the 'Waters head' of lake Windermere, and is perfect for access to shops and attractions such as the lake steamer, which departs just across the road from the hotel.
Apart from the stunning views, the room and modern bathrooms are beautifully appointed and although not might not seem very large at first, they areactually full of stylish furniture and one of the largest beds we have ever had - at least 6ft wide.

The food was very good, and the breakfast, which we opted to have in our room,was extremely good. Even though i was unwell one of the days and spent all day in bed, the staff could not have been more kind and helpful, and the view certainly aided my recovery as it looks directly over lake Windermere.

A lovely hotel to treat yourself for a break, with many good online offers available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Murff1,

Many thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing to stay at the Waterhead for your special occasion. Sorry to hear you were unwell for part of your stay. Should you wish to return in the near future be sure to contact me at the hotel so i can arrange a discount as a way of making up for the time you were not well.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was our third visit to the Waterhead Hotel, and, as with our previous stays, we were highly delighted. It is already a favourite of ours. Superb location overlooking the Lake, rooms of a very high quality, and a breakfast of the highest order. It is only a 15 minute walk away from the centre of Ambleside. Whilst we on this occasion decided to dine out, we have in the past dined at the Hotel, and will not hesitate to do so in the future. The staff are also very helpful and polite. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a bit of quality and style in a beautiful location at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianOgden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear BrianOgden1,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Its great to hear from one of our regular guests that we remain one of there favourite hotels. I hope we can welcome you back soon for visit number 4.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed for one night for a relaxing short break. Room very comfortable overlooking the lake. Lovely outside area by the lake to have afternoon tea. Evening dinner excellent food, well cooked. Used Low Wood Hotel (same hotel group) for complementary swim and to use very up to date gym, only a few minutes up the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding a month prior and had a lovely break. Room was lovely and comfortable with robes, sparkling wine and chocolates and little extras waiting for us when we arrived. The location is beautiful, lovely place to stroll around and not to far to walk into the centre of Ambleside. The weather was glorious so we enjoyed a drink or two in the garden overlooking the lake. Staff were friendly and relaxed but professional at the same time. Both our evening meal and breakfast were excellent, there was a huge choice and it is very good value and the bar and restaurant areas are lovely. Would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed at this fantastic hotel after doing the charity row across Lake Windermere for St Gemma's in Leeds. We've often stayed in high-end hotels such as the Lowry in Manchester and the Malmaison and Hotel du Van family - but we absolutely LOVED Waterhead. We stayed in room 101 which was close to the bar and had a fabulous view over the lake. The service from ALL staff was outstanding - the reception staff, the bar staff, restaurant staff and housekeeping team - all brilliant. The food was just perfect - plenty of it and so tasty, so well-prepared. Fabulous bathroom with lots of gorgeous products and fluffy dressing gowns and slippers. Perfect.

Room Tip: Pick room 101 - it's near the bar, gorgeously large and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherScott_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear HeatherScott_10,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was especially pleasing to see we 'WOW'ed you which is our goal for everyone that stays at the hotel. I hop we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed recently at the Waterhead with parents requiring an assisted needs room.Disabled parking was directly opposite the ground floor,lakeside room & couldn't have made things easier as this was our first trip requiring wheelchair use.Everything was fabulous,rooms,food ,location and the only possible fault was the disabled bath which could do with low door access or else perhaps could be turned into a wet room.The actual bedroom gives Lake view ,which is normally a premium.
As we were left without a car for 1 day while my husband was at a meeting no-where could have been more perfect.We could go for a walk ,take a short bus ride to the town centre or go on 1 of the many cruises,As the sun was shining ,we opted for the cruise down to Windermere & onto Lakeside.Certain boats are preferred for disabled guests & this being the case,we had an amazing day.Every -one was very helpful & staff at the Waterhead couldn't do more.The only thing we would change was the ''Great British Roast dinner'' which would have been more suitable for our companions as we stayed for 3 nights.Otherwise 1st class & worth a visit.

Room Tip: Very nice room available for ''disabled guests'' with close parking space.So close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,870 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £118 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing