We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant hotel in picturesque location”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for one night in October. We had a lakeside room which gave us gorgeous views of the lake. Room was clean and very comfortable. Location is great, few minutes drive to Ambleside and Bowness. Can get a boat to Bowness from right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

Attended a wedding on fri12 th oct , cannot praise the hotel and staff enough , food and service fantastic , rooms beautiful and full of nice little extras , filter coffee wonderful gingerbread and top notch toiletries , hotel full for sat night had to stay at another hotel in Windermere more expensive but not a patch on waterhead .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Khow,

Many thanks for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed the wedding and all the other aspects of your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Exceptional service made our weekend - fantastic room and food did absolutely nothing to spoil the experience either - not cheap but you would not expect it to be. We left a bottle of our own champagne in the room when we went out. When we returned it had been placed in an ice bucket with two glasses beside it - unique!

Room Tip: Lakeside view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DurhamStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

stayed at the waterhead for 1 night,hotel really good,rooms boutique style. we got our room at a reduced rate and was a standard room,our friend paid £70.00 more for there room and the only difference was a lake view and a basket of fruit.never had any problems parking.the breakfast was excellent,and a really large choice.would stay again if got a reduced rate. also you get a pass to a leisure centre 200yds away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have just returned from a romantic weekend at this hotel and found it to be an ideal location. The rooms were lovely, well furnished with everything you need including ipod dock, flat screen television,DVD player, living fire, well stocked drinks tray, cafetiere, Grasmere gingerbread, modern bathroom and the most comfortable 6ft bed!
There is a wide choice of food at breakfast all freshly prepared for you and a buffet for fruit juices, croissants,cereal etc The service was efficient and attentive. We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and found good quality fresh ingredients cooked how we required. There is also a choice to have dinner and breakfast served in your room. The bar area is relaxing with comfortable sofas and a good atmosphere.
We liked the wide choice of DVDs in the reception which could be borrowed for the evening if you just fancied staying in the room.
All in all a great location if you fancy a special weekend of relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iggsypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel was really nice stayed over 2 nights the food was excellent both breakfast and dinner, the staff where very helpful and always polite we also used the other hotel with spa and pool, Which was also nice ! Would definitely go again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fildesy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Once again a great stay.
A lovely welcome from the staff - very professional and efficient. The bedroom was lovely - loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom. Extremely comfortable and excellent décor.
Dinner was amazing on both nights as was the breakfast - excellent choice on the menus.
The location of the hotel is ideal - a short walk to Ambleside and a walk across the road to Windermere - who could ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suejohn4944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,870 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £118 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing