We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel is lovely and overlooks Windermere, I stayed in a lovely lake view room which was excellent, nice comfortable bed and bathroom, quite modern looking hotel but has lots of charm. I loved the fluffy dog on the bed! Delicious chocolates and complimentary tea/coffee tray which is always nice, some hotels do not provide this which I miss. Hotel is handy for Ambleside and Hayes Garden Centre and Waterhead Pier is just over the road where you can get a boat to Bowness on Windermere and Lakeside. Loved the toiletries and you can purchase these from reception. Lake view gardens where you can have a drink or bar meals. Enjoyed the breakfast with plenty cold and hot choices.

Room Tip: Nice to have a lake view room with stunning views across Windermere by day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royaltraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    277
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
225
1,109
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great hotel with lovely breakfast and attention to detail. Only a 15 minute walk into Ambleside too!
Booked this via a KGB/Groupon offer so was well worth it, I wouldn't pay the full up price due to other cheaper places in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattieusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great location, wonderful food, and friendly, helpful staff. Who could ask for more? The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and good quality toiletries were provided. The hotel is modern yet has not lost it's old charm. Ambleside is a short stroll away and the lakeside cruises are opposite the hotel. Chocolates left on our pillow in the evening was a special touch, as was the birthday card and goody bag for my son, to make the personal touch complete.

Room Tip: Room 34 was spacious, modern, clean, comfortable and had a great view from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

There is so much to recommend this hotel - The location for one, overlooking the Lake and 10 mins walk from Ambleside centre.
The rooms are stylish with exceptionally comfortable beds, great TV / sound system and smart bathroom. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, there's a generous hospitality tray with fresh coffee and grassmere gingerbread and luxurious bathroom extras.
The breakfast was excellent, good cold and hot choices the buffet table includes a great chunky fruit salad, quality cereals and juices and the hot choices are varied, well prersented and well prepared. (No supplements here for the more complicated choices like some places seem to do - I can never understand why)
The only bit of the hotel to disappoint us was the main bar - and I guess its down to personal taste but we found it bleak and unwelcoming. Some might argue its minimalist and contemporary but its also overpriced. If they are going to charge 5 star hotel prices you might expect there to be table service with bar snacks and not to have to stand waiting at the bar.
Overall though a very pleasant experience and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Excellent value for money! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was enjoyable and beautifully served. Dinner in the evening was delightful. A most enjoyable stay once again. Even our dog was mad very welcome once again!Many thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having just returned from the lakes I feel I must share this little gem of a hotel! We stayed (2 adults, 2 kids and 2 dogs just for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious even though we were all in the same room- not cramped at all. Comfiest beds ever!! It was modern and they'd even put dog beds, dog bowls and biscuits in for the dogs!!
Nothing was too much trouble (we can be a bit high maintenance!) and the staff were very friendly and happy to alter a couple of meals for the kids. Full dvd library was great for the kids.
Right on the waterfront so it was ideal.
Would highly recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.....A gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just had a girls weekend at the Waterhead on a superbreak offer. It is a beautiful hotel, the rooms are very stylish and have everything you need for a luxury weekend stay. The rooms have flat screen televisions and there is even a DVD player. The reception desk has a great library of DVD's which you can loan for no additional cost.Our deal included dinner on the first evening and the food was beautiful, even if you were paying for dinner separately the prices are very reasonable for the standard of food on offer.

The hotel is a couple of miles from the center of Ambleside which has a great selection of speciality shops and it's a very pleasant walk.

The views from the dining room are of the lake and the hotel is situated just across the road from the ferry port.

Would I stay again, definately and can't wait for our girly weekend away next year!

Room Tip: If there is a group of you try and get one of the larger corner rooms as they are so much bigger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegirlswarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing