We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“childens birthday party”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A great location to stay with great views. However its a bit diffiicult to have a quiet evening meal with childrens birthday party next to you for a 5 year old who was not staying at the hotel at 8.30 pm fully supported by the hotel staff. We left part way through our meal and went to a nearby hotel to finish our evening despite our meal being prepaid. A bit disappointing.

Room Tip: the lake view room was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

What a lovely hotel!
Staff are so friendly and professional, the room (with lake view) was lovely and the food was out of this world! Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety and dinner was supperb!

- We have booked to go back again in October!

Room Tip: Lake view is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookieInTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Lovely relaxing break in Ambleside. Perfect hotel in a great location. The breakfast was really good too, there was an impressive range of cold and cooked breakfast. The room wasn't by any means dirty but it wasn't spotless, that was the only thing which let the place down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We've just returned from a second visit to The Waterhead Hotel. We were not disappointed as once again we felt pampered, and generally extremely well looked after. The hotel just seems to get everything right! I often return home from a hotel visit looking forward to my own bed and home comforts, but I haven't felt like that on either visit to this hotel. Can't wait to go back and will miss kippers, and whiskey in my porridge at breakfast tomorrow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We are getting married at the Waterhead later this year, so we decided to sample it's facilities beforehand. Everything about our two night visit was perfect. All the staff were friendly and attentive, we had a fabulous room with lake view, the food in the restaurant was varied and great quality. Breakfast was excellent especially the vegetarian sausages and bacon. We really enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning with friends and family for our wedding day.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Beautiful hotel. Rooms very modern, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Lovely and warm. Great views of the lake from the window. Breakfast was lovely, great choice and made fresh when ordered. Staff very polite and helpful. Nice touch that the manager helped with breakfast. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Lovely views of the lake, we stayed in Room 6 which was at the end, perfect if you are worried about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at the Waterhead on the 14th March. The room was stunning. Fabulous super king sized bed, luxurious bathroom with fluffy bathrobes and excellent supply of quality toiletries with which to pamper yourself. Loved the choices on the beverage tray complete with locally sourced Gingerbread.
Would definitely recommend this hotel as a relaxed luxury destination for couples.
Thanks to the staff for their attentive service. We had a wonderful time and would love to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Room 21 has a fabulous view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suiecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £134 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing