We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Had lunch here at the weekend before a two hour drive home.....it was fantastic!

We ate in the bar area as the restaurant actually looked closed, there was only ours and another table.....but it didn't feel awkward!

We had battered sausages and wholegrain mustard mayo to share, the batter was so light and the sausages so tasty. I had the strips of sirloin in brioche with chips and salad, my partner had the burger with the same accompaniments. The burger was huge and mine wasn't small either! We struggled to eat it all! It really was delicious.

I can't really review the service.....it was good! As it should have been as it was so quiet I wouldn't have accepted anything less!

I must add....Beatrix Potter playing in the toilets! Scared the life out of me! HA!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    271
    52
    4
    9
See reviews for
218
1,061
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed for two nights ,and had a really superb break in this lovely hotel .The welcoming and helpful reception staff, the beautiful lake view room and the excellent food all made it a very relaxing stay The decor is bright and modern ,the 6 foot square bed supremely comfortable ! There are generous supplies of teas and coffee Even a cafetiere and ground coffee supplied in the room . There is an iron and ironing board and a radio with I pod dock. The toiletries in the lovely bathroom are lovely quality. There is a full ice bucket supplied and a turndown service in the evening The cleanliness was faultless All in all, this is an excellent hotel with absolutely faultless attention to detail

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Very short stay and booked last minute but the service, room and location were absolutely perfect. Couldn't fault anything about the hotel and even got to use the spa facilities at the neighbouring Low Wood which just rounded the trip off nicely. Would highly recommend and definitely heading back again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Waterhead Hotel near Ambleside for my birthday and we had a fantastic stay! On entering our room, there were balloons and a birthday card from the hotel. Everything about our stay was excellent from the attentive staff to the prompt service we received. The ipod station in the room was not working properly, we asked Reception to see if they could fix it and when we returned from a walk, there was a replacement. The hair dryer broke and the Receptionist was at the door in 2 minutes, now that's what I call service on both accounts! Meals were very good and service was also excellent here. Would definitely book this hotel again and again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 which had a lovely view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My partner and I had the most wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel. Everything about our stay was perfect. The hotel is spotless, clean modern decor with a warm cosy feel. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Staff are fantastic. Really attentive and helpful. Nothing is too much bother. Food in restaurant is spot on and the breakfast one of the best I have had in a long while and certainly sets you up for a long day walking. Cannot fault the waterhead and am looking forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzstupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a relaxing 2 nights for my 40th got a free upgrade to a fabulous room overlooking the lake. Lovely food I had the salmon and my husband had venison.
Staff could not do enough for you we had wine in our room and they brought glasses and ice for us without a quibble. Breakfast amazing eggs Benedict perfect. So good we asked to stay another night as we didn't want to go home.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Michelle0705,

Many thanks for the great review and for choosing the Waterhead to spend your 40th Birthday. We hope you have some fond memories from your stay and remember 'Life begins at 40'

We look forward to welcome you back soon,

Regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton Lindsey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Waterhead has to be one of the best positioned hotels in the lakes. Comfort, food , friendly staff all make for a great place to stay. Our only criticism is that the hotel is not disabled friendly, in particular access to the dining room and bar area from within the hotel is down several fairly steep stairs. This aspect is a shame in such a brilliant venue!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing