We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Lakes”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Lakes”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We chose this hotel because of the very positive reviews it had received and we are happy to confirm that it is truly a gem. We were particularly impressed by the attention to detail in all aspects of the hotel. The décor is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms were of a very high standard with lovely little details to make the stay even more special. The original Grasmere Gingerbread provided was a lovely local touch. The breakfast choice was vast and everything was cooked to a high standard. We ate in the restaurant one night and were impressed with the food. We are vegetarians and there was enough choice. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    281
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
226
1,119
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived at the waterhead. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a huge hit! Staff Very helpful. Lovely hotel, would def recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBunny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside provided us with a relaxing getaway to the Lake District at an affordable price. The standard of the rooms was first class and the service was exceptional throughout our stay.

On arrival, we were fully briefed by the receptionist about the facilities, our room and what the meal times were. Our room was a double room with en-suite bathroom. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the room was fitted out with modern fixtures and fittings and we were made to feel very much at home. There was ample selection of hot drinks available to us, as well as a selection of magazines with information about local attractions and entertainment. The bathroom was of a very high specification and is easily one of the best I have seen installed at a hotel.

The hotel itself was of a good standard of decoration, with a wonderful picturesque location on the side of the lake. The various lake-side villages were very accessible either way with a 2 minute drive taking you into the centre of Ambleside. Unfortunately we did not have appropriate equipment with us for walking but we did view some delightful walking trails and routes which looked to en-capture the amazing views around the lake.

We decided to dine in the hotel restaurant on both evenings after how satisfied we were after our first offering. We both had the steak which was cooked to perfection and it was easily comparable to some of the better food we have had at places like Marco Pierre Whites. The service was excellent and we were never left waiting on drinks or empty plates. The breakfast service was equally as good with a range of cereals, drinks and pastries available before the hot food was served. We sampled both the full english and the american breakfasts and both were equally as good and were a great meal to set us up for the days ahead.

Overall the Waterhead Hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever visited and I would not hesitate to go back tomorrow if the chance were to arise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed for 4 nights half board over Easter,rooms 19,20 lakeside view,bedroom was clean warm and comfortable plenty of tea coffee and fresh fruit plus ample wardrobe space, the bathroom again very clean and tidy a little compact though only downside no seperate shaving mirror.The restaurant had a lovely relaxed atmosphere something that is lost in some many places today the quality of the food and service were excellent and breakfast was also equal to this standard.All the staff were very polite, the cleaning staff always arranged to clean when it was conveinent for us,which is nice to find .The hotel itself is located just a couple of hundred yards from the ferry jetty they have a deal with the operators which will give you 10 per cent discount on ferry fares,getting around the area is so very easy from this location we found everything within easy reach.Anyone getting one of the hotels deals that they offer are getting a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed with our 3 year old boy and baby in the hotel for 3 nights for a wedding and explore of the Lake District. The hotel was very clean and modern. Our room was spacious and had a great view across Lake Windermere. The staff were all very polite and helpful, going out of their way to make us feel at home, particularly in keeping the children happy. The food was scrumptious throughout (although a little sophisticated for fussy children). Loads of nice touches in our room on arrival (fresh fruit, local gingerbread, brilliant selection of teas and coffees etc). Very comfortable bed/bedding. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahG799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have visited here before and it ticks all the boxes for a comfortable stay and very good service.
It's location makes it easy also for walking into Ambleside.
The food is of a good standard in a well run restraurant with plenty of choice.
The rooms are of a high standard with nice touches of good tolietries. The bed also is very comfortable and tea and coffee facilities very good quality.
We visit The Lakes around 6 times a year and enjoy trying new places but The Waterhead makes for an enjoyable stress free stay.
Thank you to all the staff, we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Sparkey_10,

Thank you for your feedback, it was great to hear you enjoyed another relaxing stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back later in the year. Our new restaurant menu will be available from May.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week for a friend's wedding. The wedding itself was very well organised, but our stay was wonderful. Both before and during our stay service was excellent. The rooms were great, beds were very comfortable and the food was excellent. And staff were ever so friendly and helpful. They even called us and left a message with an update regarding our room. Going to the Lake District? Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehjsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing