We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there yet”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is a nice hotel but not quite the "boutique" standard it's trying to talk itself up to. Spent a couple of days here recently with a friend, just for a quiet break. It's clean and comfortable with modern, but welcoming furnishings. Where it doesn't hit the mark is in the food and beverage side. Staff were lovely, very friendly and chatty, but I don't expect, in a "boutique" hotel that advertises cocktails, to have to teach a barman how to make a simple Bloody Mary or classic Martini. We ate in the hotel both nights. First night I had to send my Dover sole back as it was uncooked in the middle. Second night I asked for my venison rare and it was very definitely blue. Fortunately I'm an unreconstructed carnivore and a little blood doesn't offend me, but my friend was nearly put off her own meal (which was fine). With a bit of training for bar staff and a bit more attention to timings from the kitchen, this could come close to justified in considering itself "boutique".

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graninwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Graninwonderland,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you regretfully experienced in our Bar and Grill. I can assure you I will discuss this with my Food and beverage team and ensure the necessary training is put in place. If you are in the area again I would appreciate the opportunity of restoring your faith in our food and beverage offering by doing a preferential rate.

Thank you again for your invaluable feedback and I hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
There are newer reviews for Waterhead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

Excellent value on a discount deal for two days. We were given an unrequested upgrade to a lake view room- much appreciated. It was well appointed apart from a lack of hanging hooks or rails in bathroom. Bathrobes & slippers provided. Room service excellent ( e.g. towels changed each day) & checked by house manager.
Food was very good- so much so that we ate here on our second night ( with a discount of 10% which was not advertised)
Maitre d' & restaurant staff were pleasant, efficient & attentive.
Free Wi Fi in bedrooms.
All-in-all much better than many four star hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalesman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We got a great deal from the hotel website, we were not disappointed at all. We had looked at this hotel before but were put off by the prices so when we saw this deal we went for it. The hotel is certainly 4 star, from check in to check out everything was wonderful. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff were extremely professional and attentive. We were in room 6 which we were a bit wary of as it is onthe ground floor with a car parking space outside the window, however this was not a problem, there was no noise from the road. The room was spacious and clean, the fresh fruit and offer of fresh milk was a lovely touch. We had 2 radiators which gave off ample heat, bathroom was beautiful, only downside was no towel rail, one hook on the back of the door to hang towels on. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, we wanted to bring the duvet home!
We had dinner in the restaurant and again this was excellent, the food was delicious, hot and fresh, the staff were brilliant, this was included in our deal, had it not been it would have cost approx £70 for 2 three course meals, this may seem expensive but was worth every penny.
We had a bottle of wine in our room and asked reception for ice, on our return they had left a tray with a white napkin on, an ice bucket and 2 wine glasses!
The hotel was very quiet at night with most guests in bed by 10pm
Check out is at 11am, we would have liked another hour, we could have had this but at a cost of £10.
This hotel is not cheap to stay in and would have to be a treat, however with our deal and excluding dinner the room cost approx £125 per night, a B&B in Ambelside wanted £120! no comparison. Please give it a try it is well worth it, not to be missed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We chose this hotel because of the very positive reviews it had received and we are happy to confirm that it is truly a gem. We were particularly impressed by the attention to detail in all aspects of the hotel. The décor is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms were of a very high standard with lovely little details to make the stay even more special. The original Grasmere Gingerbread provided was a lovely local touch. The breakfast choice was vast and everything was cooked to a high standard. We ate in the restaurant one night and were impressed with the food. We are vegetarians and there was enough choice. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived at the waterhead. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a huge hit! Staff Very helpful. Lovely hotel, would def recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBunny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside provided us with a relaxing getaway to the Lake District at an affordable price. The standard of the rooms was first class and the service was exceptional throughout our stay.

On arrival, we were fully briefed by the receptionist about the facilities, our room and what the meal times were. Our room was a double room with en-suite bathroom. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the room was fitted out with modern fixtures and fittings and we were made to feel very much at home. There was ample selection of hot drinks available to us, as well as a selection of magazines with information about local attractions and entertainment. The bathroom was of a very high specification and is easily one of the best I have seen installed at a hotel.

The hotel itself was of a good standard of decoration, with a wonderful picturesque location on the side of the lake. The various lake-side villages were very accessible either way with a 2 minute drive taking you into the centre of Ambleside. Unfortunately we did not have appropriate equipment with us for walking but we did view some delightful walking trails and routes which looked to en-capture the amazing views around the lake.

We decided to dine in the hotel restaurant on both evenings after how satisfied we were after our first offering. We both had the steak which was cooked to perfection and it was easily comparable to some of the better food we have had at places like Marco Pierre Whites. The service was excellent and we were never left waiting on drinks or empty plates. The breakfast service was equally as good with a range of cereals, drinks and pastries available before the hot food was served. We sampled both the full english and the american breakfasts and both were equally as good and were a great meal to set us up for the days ahead.

Overall the Waterhead Hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever visited and I would not hesitate to go back tomorrow if the chance were to arise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed for 4 nights half board over Easter,rooms 19,20 lakeside view,bedroom was clean warm and comfortable plenty of tea coffee and fresh fruit plus ample wardrobe space, the bathroom again very clean and tidy a little compact though only downside no seperate shaving mirror.The restaurant had a lovely relaxed atmosphere something that is lost in some many places today the quality of the food and service were excellent and breakfast was also equal to this standard.All the staff were very polite, the cleaning staff always arranged to clean when it was conveinent for us,which is nice to find .The hotel itself is located just a couple of hundred yards from the ferry jetty they have a deal with the operators which will give you 10 per cent discount on ferry fares,getting around the area is so very easy from this location we found everything within easy reach.Anyone getting one of the hotels deals that they offer are getting a bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £133 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing