We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, excellent service, great rooms and Dog Friendly !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent service, great rooms and Dog Friendly !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Have visited The Waterhead several times and as always we had a great stay.
The location is ideal, the rooms - even the standard rooms are well equipped and comfortable The housekeeping standards are high so rooms are spotless.
The fact that it is dog friendly makes it ideal for us.
Food at both dinner and breakfast was good.
Despite the weather we had a lovely relaxing break and have already booked our next stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped, though Lake view adds greatly to experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMalpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    272
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
223
1,079
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed for two nights b&b and dinner on the first night .The staff were very attentive and extremely hard working .Always happy to help ..the food was very nice and a large selection to choose from . Also noted the hotel was dog friendly so i will keep that in mind for my next visit . Fab weekend .just what we needed. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m200audi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a lovely hotel to take a break, and have a restful stay with wonderful views of the Lake.
We have stayed before, and was delighted to see that it was still as lovely as before. We were staying as an anniversary treat, and had planned to do loads of things, but when we got there just decided to relax and do nothing.
This is a great place just to wind down with good food and wine. Very good stay, great special breaks available, and interested, friendly and well trained staff.

Room Tip: Look on the Web for special deals. Excellent florist used by hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed hear before and the previous reviews say it all.Lovely hotel by the lake, pleasant walk into Ambleside,the set up could not be better.Rooms are spotlessly clean,ask for a lake view room,worth the extra.Food is top class as is the service.Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view,worth that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter grafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Waterhead for a weekend to celebrate his birthday. We had previously eaten at the hotel on our last trip to the Lakes and loved the hotel so much we decided to stay there on our next visit.
Chocolates and a birthday card were waiting for him when we arrived-lovely touch. We stayed in room 5 which was a lovely size and had everything we needed. The toiletries were fab, everything from full size bottles of hand wash to earbuds and a nail file. And instead of biscuits we had Grasmere gingerbread on our tea tray. Bed was huge and very comfy, room spotless, there were slippers and robes, and a basket full of fruit. In the evening, chocolates were put on the pillows. It's these little touches that make the stay worth the money and we felt very spoilt indeed.
Breakfast was lovely, the usual fruit and cereals, and a wide variety of hot options to choose from. Evening meal was delicious, scallops, steak and lamb were our favourites...and the gingerbread crime brûlée was so nice we asked for the recipe. We ate in the restaurant both nights as having eaten out in other restaurants in and around Ambleside, we found nothing could beat the food at The Waterhead. Try to get a table in the bay windows, stunning views.
Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were friendly and attentive, and the lovely barman made the most amazing cocktails.
All in all a fabulous break, a lovely, clean, modern hotel serving delicious food. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great location on the edge of the lake and only a mile to the shops and waterfalls of Ambleside. The pier is opposite the hotel giving you easy access to the ferries. We stayed in a dinner bed and breakfast rate and the good was fantastic. We were fortunate enough to be seated with a view of the lake for every meal. The rooms are spacious and clean with an enormous bed. The staff were friendly and informative. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our lake view room was on the ground floor (No 5.). It was of a good size with windows to front and side, which made it light and airy. It had ample modern facilities with a reasonable-sized bathroom, down to a teapot and cafetiere. The cleaning staff were unobtrusive but kept the room spotlessly clean and well-replenished with fruit, tea and coffee and ice - and a chocolate on the pillow following the turn-down service. The bathroom toiletries were rather special as they were not the miniature size provided in many hotels, but were full-size pump dispensers of harir and body wash, hand wash and moisturiser. We are continuing to enjoy them at home!
Our meals in the restaurant were outstandingly delicious and served by attentive, friendly and courteous waiting staff. Indeed, all the hotel staff were quick to help and offered a high level of service. The breakfast menu was varied and plentiful and special requests appeared to be no problem.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again when we are in the Lake District and would thoroughly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room five is light and airy because of its two windows. Also, it has neighbours only on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireneark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing