We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterhead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,809 results
Traveller rating
1,431
304
57
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,431
304
57
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake view roomgrasmere gingerbreadlocal gingerbreadjelly beansdog bedlow woodlovely hotelice bucketturn down servicegin and tonicluxury roomsister hotelunderfloor heatingdvd playerlake districtbreakfast and dinnerwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,809 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

On a trip to Ambleside with my folks, they were staying here and so we joined them for an evening meal. I was very impressed, ambience and decor were modern but inviting. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The food and drink was excellent....every course a winner, I particularly loved the tart tatin with their home made ice cream. Would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chuck_Whitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic weekend flowers and champagne on arrival. Lake view was fabulous . Would recommend this hotel because has a brilliant view and great access to the lake facilities . I will be back to visit the lakes and stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have just spent two evenings at this hotel and it was a lovely experience. From the time I booked a two night stay to leaving on Thursday, the staff were most helpful. I was going to book a two night dinner bed & breakfast which cost over £400 for the two of us. The receptionist recommended I book two nights B&B with one nights evening meal & pay for a second dinner separately. This saved me over £100. Good customer service!
The hotel is lovely. We had a room above reception with a lake view and it was a very pleasant room, plenty big enough for us. There is a hair dryer, iron & board & a trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities were a cut above. There was the usual choice of tea & coffee plus sachets of cappuccino, plus 2 individual sachets of ground coffee for the cafetiere.
The choice of food was good and it was excellent. The staff in the restaurant/bar/grill were very good & nothing was too much trouble. The Maitre d' greeted us by name making us feel like valued guests. Little touches mean a lot.
This is a hotel we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was our fifth visit to the Waterhead. The rooms are always clean. Excellent quality of toiletries. Plasma TV and iPod in every room Service is excellent, the staff can not do enough for you. Tasty food. This is why we return to this hotel

Room Tip: Try to book a Lake view room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Really pleased with my stay here. Excellent location - right near Lake Windermere and a short walk from town. Room was brilliant - clean, large and all the extras one could hope for. Breakfast too was very good and it really lived up to the billing. I didn't find staff as friendly as some others suggest but this was only a minor issue. Would definitely recommend staying here for a short break!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews