We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband & I have just spent 2 nights at The Waterhead, this was our 3rd stay here in a year. As on previous visits, everything was perfect. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful & nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are a good size with a huge comfy bed, iPod dock, tv & DVD player. And underfloor heating. The breakfast is cooked fresh to order & there's a wide choice. We ate in the restaurant on our second night & although it was extremely busy (there was a large group booking in) the food & service were excellent. A great choice of gins in the bar too! The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Ambleside, or there's a bus that stops right outside the hotel if you don't want to walk.
We'll hopefully get the chance to stay here another 3 times in the coming year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Chrissy038,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us. It was very rewarding to read how much you renjoyed all aspects of your stay, including our large gin selection! We do look forward to welcoming you back to Waterhead in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 27 and 28 Nov. Couldn't fault it. Nice spacious room (No 36) and bathroom. Very clean. Huge comfy bed. Plenty tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc and also ground coffee for the cafetiere. Nice touch. Slept well both nights as we heard no noise at all from any part of the hotel or outside and the curtains are blackout curtains. We didn't have a Lake view but we were out all day anyway so not really necessary and as the hotel is literally a few paces away from the Lake I think I'd rather be outside looking at it, not stuck indoors! All the staff (reception, bar, restaurant, housekeeping) were very friendly, welcoming and most helpful and made us feel very relaxed. Although the exterior of the hotel is victorian, the interior decor is light, modern and airy but still has character and warmth. The Xmas decorations were up when we were there which added to the warm atmosphere. The bar is a lovely place to sit and relax especially if you get one of the comfy leather sofas. Breakfast was buffet for cereals and fruit etc and there were plenty cooked options too. The eggs benedict in particular were fantastic Food in the evening is brilliant and not over priced. There is a very good selection, not run of the mill. Try the Sea Bass and the Smoked Chicken. We ate in the hotel on both nights. A nice touch is that you can sit in the bar to have a pre dinner drink and take a look through the menu and wine list. They take your order there and then escort you through to your table when your meal is ready and your wine is on the table. We were lucky enough to have the table in the bay window which looks over the Lake on both days. The hotel is also very handy for the Lake cruises, you can board a boat at regular intervals throughout the day just across the road and visit other towns on the Lake. Ambleside itself is about a 10 minute walk away. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the hotel for those that like the outdoors but a bit of comfort and relaxation come back to at the end of the day. Thank you everyone at The Waterhead Hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Julz1,

Many thanks for your comprehensive review of your stay with us. I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your bedroom, the food and the service we offer at Waterhead, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Located about 10 minute walk along the lakeside from Ambleside town centre. We were greeted with smiles and the most friendly stay at a hotel I have ever had. The hotel was clean, with all amenities in our room - free wifi, welcome cake, and nice little touches to make our stay feel special. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I ate in the restaurant on 09/11/13 with family in the evening. From the second we arrived the lady on reception was warm and welcoming and directed us to the restaurant. As we went down into the restaurant we were greeted straight away and were taken to our table, and they offered to take our coats.
The choice on the menu is wide and prices good. I ordered the trio of burgers which were freshly cooked and full of flavour, I didnt have any room left for desert! The overall service from the staff couldnt be better- they were very helpful and friendly which is what you like to see in a restaurant.
I will definitely be returning as it was a lovely relaxing evening here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raindrops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A return visit for us to the Waterhead and as always, we received a warm and informative welcome from the elegant, friendly receptionists. The hotel is wonderfully situated, all of the staff are amazing - really helpful and professional yet polite and friendly. The bedrooms are modern, clean, spacious and comfortable, food excellent and and service spectacular. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and look forward to returning soon. If you planning a trip to the Lakes, then visit the Waterhead, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a wonderfull hotel. Right on the shore of Lake Windermere and just a few minutes walk into Ambleside. Bus stops right outside too if you want to venture further without the car. The standard of appointment is extremely high throughout and the staff are so helpfull and friendly. At breakfast on our first morning I was greeted by name! How do they do that? Wonderfull food. A perfect few days break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0y123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

As owners of 2 labs it is so hard to find a nice hotel that will let them stay and feel comfortable. Well we found it right on the shores of Lake Windermere. Fab hotel totally dog friendly. Rooms well set out and they put dog beds and treats for the important guests! Food excellent and staff cannot do enough for you. Location great and you cannot beat seeing the dawn come up over the lake

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,833 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £110 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing