We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Just stayed at the Waterside for a 2 night, weekend break and loved it.

As it was to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we splashed out and booked a 'luxury room'. From what I could tell, the luxury rooms are the largest, on the first floor and with lake views. I don't know what other features ours had that the lower grades didn't but ours was very spacious, had a large, super king bed, 2 chairs and a coffee table, modern wall mounted fireplace, wall mounted flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers. The in-room tea and coffee facilities were above average with a cafetiere, ground coffee and lovely big mugs with a good selection of teas, hot choc etc. There was an ice bucket in the room which was filled each day and bottled water. The bathroom was very stylish with a great, crome, coil shaped, heated towel rail. I thought at first it didn't really need to be on as it was summer but then found it really useful to dry the bottoms of my jeans on when they got soaked in the rain!!

The staff were very friendly and always acknowledged your presence.

We had an excellent meal in the hotel restuarant and breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. Hot breakfasts were made to order so no desperate looking eggs and sausage that have been sitting there for an hour.

Loved the little querky touches like the piped 'stories' in the bar/restuarant bathrooms. It made a change from the usual elevator music. I think it was tales from Beatrix Potter.

This appears to be a hotel that strives to go the extra mile to make their guests stay as comfortable as possible. This is evident by the staff award programme they run - you can see all the examples of 'thank yous' in the copy of their newsletter in each room among the local area info. It felt like the sort of place that really cared if you were having a good time unlike some of the chains these days who, despite their loyalty schemes, really just don't care whether you make a return visit or not.

The Waterhead may not be the cheapest but you'll not be taking any chances with your hard earned cash!

  • Liked — That the hotel had really thought about what makes a great hotel stay.
  • Disliked — still quite pricey just for B&B but I guess you get what you pay for!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FERG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    285
    54
    5
    11
See reviews for
229
1,128
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My Boyfriend took me to this hotel for 2nights for a mid week break. Hotel was amazing, clean, modern and staff were lovely. Hotel food was excellant and the rooms were kept well stocked with bottled water and ice aswell as hot drinks. Loved the little touches the hotel staff did, such as prepared our bed in the evening and placed chocolates on our pillow!!!!

Location was excellant and we never had a problem parking the car in the hotel car park even though it was quite small.

I would highly recommand this hotel and we shall be returning. We did use the swimming pool etc at the sister hotel down the road this was no more than a 5min drive if that and was very nice with an outdoor hot tub!!

  • Liked — It was so modern and clean
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jade002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We booked 3 nights here in June for a wedding anniversary. The location was beautiful and we were lucky enough to have a lake view room which was really great with the modern decor of a boutique hotel, even such things as underfloor heating and towel rails which added a bit more luxury to our stay. The hotel was in a great location to visit the surrounding area of Conniston, Kendal and Bowness on Windmere which was especially nice. The breakfasts were really great and you had a great selection of continental or traditional english. We did dine in the restaurant on the night of our wedding anniversary to make it extra special but it turned out to be a bit of a disappointment. We did ask for a lake view table if possible but was shown an inside table when the next couple to come in were sat at a nearby lake view one? Also we had to wait about 20 minutes for our order to be taken, by which time we were very hungry and a bit anxious. When the food did arrive my husband's steak wasn't cooked enough and so he had to send it back and when his plate was brought again, it was a different piece of steak but much smaller than the last one! He wasn't amused but was so hungry that he ate it and didn't complain. The meal in the end was nice but a ltitle overpriced and of course the troubles we encountered were disappointing as we wanted it to be a special anniversary night. The restaurant wasn't exactly busy that night but obviously they were experiencing some service problems. However, all that aside it was our first time to the Lake District and we would certainly return again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Luxury hotel with great modern decor and lake side view couldn't be beaten
  • Disliked — Disappointed meal in hotel restaurant - such a shame to spoil trip
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 1 night stay at The Waterhead Hotel and we can honestly say we didnt want to leave.
We booked to stay the night in the House Double Room for my birthday, but on arrival we were pleasantly suprised to be upgraded to the luxury room - Fantastic! This was a larger room, where we had our own bathrobes, slippers and a small balcony with a great view of the lake.
the room itself was in immaculate condition, very modern - you have as standard Plasma TV, DVD Player ( Hotel has small DVD library - Which i think was free), Electric Fire place ( Which would have been lovely but too warm to use in July - would be very cosy in witner), great Tea & Coffee making Facilities - Real ground coffee and an Ice bucket that is replenished daily.

Staff at the hotel were lovely, very welcoming.

As standard you will have use of the leisure facilities at their sister hotel - unfotunatley we didnt get chance to go and use them as we were there for such a short time.

The hotel is located just on the outside of Ambleside town centre and takes about 10-15 mins walk - where there are plenty of shops, Cafes, pubs and restaurants plus there are a few ATMS too.

The Waterhead Hotel is modern and goes way beyond your typical hotel in the lakes. will definatley be recommending to my family and friends.

Im looking forward to returning in Autumn/Winter!

  • Liked — How Modern it was!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We spent an absolutely wonderful night at this hotel last week. The only fault was ours - for not staying longer! I honestly and truly cannot fault the hotel. The room was large, with a beautiful comfortable bed, amazing bathroom, and loads of nice touches - the cuddly dog on the bed, the local gingerbread instead of biscuits, lovely filter coffee etc etc. All the communal areas were equally fantastic, and all the staff were great too. The location is excellent - right on the lakeside, with beautiful views.

We cannot wait for our return trip!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianstreips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

Stopped at this hotel during our 3 weeks tour of the UK. It was one of the best hotels during our trip. Expensive with the dollar so low but worth it compared to other hotels throught the country.
Modern amenities and the second best dinner we had in the UK. Breakfast buffet is included and the a la carte choices as well with a great vegetarian selection.
Room was beautiful with lake view even though we only paid for a standard. Would highly recommend! They need to update their DVD collection a bit though. Only romantic and feel good movies. Need more action, scifi and horror please! :-)
Short walk to Ambleside with its little stores and an OK selection of restaurants. Best afternoon tea was just across the hotel on the lake shore, other places in town were disappointing in that respect. Lots to do around Ambleside but I recommend spending a day or two checking out the attractions around Keswick which is about 30mns drive away. If you can, book a show at the theater on the lake in Keswick and play a round of crazy golf (minigolf) before going to your show. Lots of fun!

  • Liked — modern fixtures in a classic building
  • Disliked — DVD selection at the desk. Parking can be a bit tricky.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Having spent two days there this June, I would certainly recommend this hotel. The suite we occupied was lake facing and was modern, comfortable & ideal for a short break.

Beautiful clean & modern bathroom, which was matched by the equally clean & modern bedroom. A lovely touch was the fire (Behind glass) was switched on by the maid for our return, as even in June the temp can plummet. The Dressing gowns,slippers,hair dryer are all supplied.

Car parking is rather unusual but adequate . The reception area staff are not to dynamic, desk left unattended on quiet periods, but always helpful when asked.

Breakfast in the room was good and plentiful and delivered exactly on time.

The restaurant is nouveau quisine & fairly expensive (as N.E) always tend to be!I I had wished I had read it was this type before booking. My mistake, but I do wish the style of a restaurant was stated in their literature.

In all a wonderful break.

  • Liked — Situation & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hopesprings66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,209 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing