We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good New Year Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good New Year Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was our first visit to the Waterhead and we had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel was clean, well- furnished & beautifully decorated for the festive season. The food was excellent and the bedroom was very comfortable, plus the staff were very helpful & courteous. We would certainly like to return for another visit.
JF@LP

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JatLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    272
    53
    4
    10
See reviews for
224
1,077
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Another excellent new year stay at the Waterhead. Cannot fault anything. Rooms are lovely, food is fantastic and the staff are exceptional. The DJ at new year wasn't very good but we still had a good old knees up.
Cannot wait to come and stay again thanks to !ark and the team here's to a great 2014 to all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfy and the beds are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoyley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had an amazing time again this year for our New Year break. The staff are particularly helpful bearing in mind that we have a parent with us who struggles in every way. Food this year was particularly good. We have been visiting for a few years. The food was good to start a few years ago and then seemed to go down for 2 - 3 years. The last 2 years have been excellent and this year it was superb. A particular mention to Pauline who is so good in helping with Mum. Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: We love the rooms with Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had a fantastic time at this hotel ideal for young and old nothing was too much trouble staff first class rooms large and luxurious with lots of little extra touches. We spent new year there and would certainly recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Facing the lake gives superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a 4night New Year stay at the Waterhead. Have to say we had a wonderful time. Food was delicious and we ate and drank far too much. Lots of extras included, casino night was great fun, as was the quiz night. Staff are brilliant- friendly, polite, attentive and good fun.Good attention to details. Rooms are lovely, lots of nice goodies in rooms, beds are huge and the most comfortable we have ever slept in on holiday!
Was torn between giving it 4 or 5 rating. Only a couple of things could have improved it - we had very little hanging space in our bedroom, which normally wouldn't be a problem except as it was New Year we had lots of suits and cocktail dresses to hang up. The hotel would be perfect if it had a couple of cosy lounges with log fires. And unfortunately the DJ at the New Years Eve bash was not very good, but we still had a fun evening. These really are very small observations and we would highly recommend the Waterhead and will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have been so many times to this English Lakes owned/managed hotel that it must be doing something right to draw me back time after time. Basically it offers the best value/quality per penny of your hard earned in the Lakes. The rooms are stunning with the exception of some cramped rooms in the older sections, even the basic rooms in the new section are large and very well equiped. Rooms could be even better if the bathroom piped music worked, ditto the bathroom underfloor heating.The location is stunning if you can live with a main road either side, though I dont find this intrusive. Parking can be an issue at weekends and in high season.
Worst aspect is the restaurant, by far the worst of the English Lakes, even Lancaster House trumps it comfortably and it gets no where near the Midland. Best stick to their F & C's in the bar which ARE superb and great value before 7pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Couldn't wait to write this review just had to do it whilst staying at the waterhead hotel Ambleside enjoying the 4 night new year package. It has exceeded expectations which were high as we've stayed at the midland hotel morecambe which is part of the same hotel group and experienced a superb new year previously. The whole experience is wonderful - first class food, service, bedroom, entertainment and included extras which make us feel thoroughly spoilt. All the staff can't do enough for you and the manager Mark is hands on making you feel so well looked after. We continue to enjoy our stay and are looking forward to a wonderful New Year's Eve gala dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing