We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Christmas!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great Christmas!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just had our third, very enjoyable Christmas at the Waterhead, this time we brought friends as well; it is a long drive from South Bucks but well worth it! We first discovered it in 2007 when we realised that both daughters were taking the grandchildren off to the in-laws for Chistmas and we had the opportunity to try something different. It is a superb location overlooking Windermere and the optional supplement for a lakeview room is well worth paying. The efficient and friendly staff work very hard on the Christmas activities and make it all seem special and fun without you at any time feeling pressurised into joining-in. There is usually a lighthearted casino night, quiz night and a treasure hunt all with generous prizes plus a boat trip round the lake thrown in. The dining room has separate tables for each couple/group and excellent food and Father Christmas greets you with a present on Christmas morning? One highlight for us has always been the group Christmas morning walk up onto the hills overlooking the lake. A few years ago it snowed and was quite magical. The hotel has three floors but the road and reception are on the middle floor so if stairs are a problem to you, they are easy to avoid/minimise (I think there is also a lift). Altogether, a lovely way to spend Christmas and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mike W

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your Christmas stay with us. It is so rewarding to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the Christmas package, it was great to have a full hotel this year and everyone was in great spirits. We do hope to welcome you back to Waterhead in the near future and perhaps next Christmas as well.

Many thanks

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    281
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
226
1,119
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We got married at the Waterhead on December 23rd and friends and family stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The days were the best ever made so perfect by everyone associated with the hotel, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and not one of our guests came away with anything other than praise for their personal experience as well as the experience of our wedding day, every detail was carefully considered by the hotel staff and the day went by without a glitch. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful day. Any budding bride and groom would be foolish to overlook the hotel as a wedding venue, the team will really look after you and make you feel special. A great example of this was staff taking time out from a busy breakfast service to entertain 2 young nieces (including remembering their names) bringing some enjoyment to an otherwise stressful morning for the bride! Another example is the staff moved all the luggage and belongings of the bride and her family and friends, which were left in a chaotic mess prior to the ceremony and neatly unpacked everything into its correct place in everyone's individual rooms. We couldn't have asked for more. This was truly the greatest time of our lives and it was made extra special by the Waterhead Hotel and specifically Lindsay Price who we reserve a special thank you to for all her efforts - Lindsay, you took the time to get to know both the bride and groom on an individual level and really did make all of our wishes come true. Thanks for the memories. Sorry for the tears. We will be back. Ben and Jo

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanned1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Joanned1984

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your big day! It really was a pleasure to get to know you both and then to host your lovely wedding, and I am so pleased that you and your guests had a great day. We all wish you best for the future and hope that you will come and see us regularly.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I spent two wonderful days at the Waterhead in Ambleside in January 2014 to celebrate our "significant" birthdays. The room, the staff and the food were all excellent and helped make our celebration perfect. We were totally surprised to receive our desserts on the first night on plates with happy birthday written in chocolate, candles and the staff singing "Happy Birthday" to us!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Christopher D

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us to celebrate your birthdays. We always do what we can to recognise occasions, and I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed these small touches, especially the singing! We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Returning home from the south, we booked a mid-week package of dinner bed and breakfast in the normal (no lake view) room. Arrived early and were checked in and upgraded to a lake view room as they were quiet.

Room was small but very comfortable, large bed, plenty of tea, coffee etc, fruit, nice bathroom.

The dinner didn't disappoint - Nouvelle cuisine - my husband's dish of three types of pork was especially good. Despite having a deal you could pick most things on the menu which was very straight forward - service excellent as it was again at breakfast.

Can recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear freddielola,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. It was rewarding to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we can tempt you back for a longer stay in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 3/01/14 for only the one night but did have the evening meal and breakfast, both of excellent and plentiful quantity. A very nice hotel in a perfect setting with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Neil S

Many thanks for your great review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you found our staff exceptionally friendly, we are very proud of our staff and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

First time staying here as we usually stay elsewhere in Lakes but we will definitely be returning !
Perfect location overlooking the lake and only a ten minute walk into Ambleside town centre. Excellent courteous service from the moment we arrived, from all members of staff throughout the hotel. Room was spacious and immaculately clean, with a very comfortable bed. The food was excellent, good quality and plenty of choice.
We will be returning again soon for another perfect break at Waterhead !

Room Tip: lake view was worth the upgrade !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penjayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear penjayd,

Many thanks for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. It is always great to read when a first time guest enjoys all aspects of the hotel, location, food, service, and bedroom standards. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a great one night stay here. Lots of nice touches such as the gingerbread in the room, chocolates appearing on the pillow, the cute (soft toy) dog on the bed when you arrive. I think we were staying in possibly the 'worst' room (55 overlooking the car park), maybe due to getting a really good deal on the rate. Anyway, it was still fantastic - lovely and quiet and we got a great night's sleep. You could even see the lake if you stood close eough to the window. Breakfast was very good and the public areas were beautifully decorated for Christmas. My only criticism is that some of the 'art' on the walls in the rooms and other areas is a bit naff and dated and not quite up to the high standard set by everything else but this is a very minor criticism - it must be quite hard to find something neutral enough to appeal to almost everyone. There was however a nice selection of works by a local artist in one of the seating areas to counteract this. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernSky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear NorthernSky55,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. Your comments regarding the artwork in the hotel is actually something we are taking on board and currently changing. As well as the gallery of local artist Julie Ann Scott we have in our lounge, we also now feature changing residencies of local artists in our reception area. The changes will continue throughout the corridors and bedrooms, hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future to see the changes!

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing