We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good all round hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for a 1 night bed,breakfast and dinner deal.Enjoyed the warm welcome and stayed in room 7 which had been recently refurbished and was very comfortable.We brought our dog and enjoyed the little touches provided for her(dog bed,water bowl and some doggy godies).Found the breakfast first class but dinner was a little uninspiring.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewS186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear AndrewS186346,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to read you and your pooch enjoyed your stay with us and she enjoyed her little extras. The bedrooms were actually refurbished 10 years ago now but it is rewarding to read that our maintenance is being kept to a standard that they still look recently updated.

We hope to welcome you back to Waterhead in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    281
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
226
1,119
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at the Waterhead. The bedrooms are much more modern than the other lake district hotels i've stayed at. Fully equipped, warm and clean. I had requested we have a small fridge in our room, and this was organised for our arrival. Heated bathroom tiles after being in the mud all day is a warm welcome! We didn't eat at the hotel as we prefer to check out the local restaurants, however breakfast was delicious. I would recommend the eggs benedict. My boyfriend was a little disappointed in his full english as you could tell the sausages and bacon had been fried then kept warm, rather than freshly fried, which made them a tad dry. House keeping brought round ice and offered a turn down service. A lovely little touch. We had brought bikes with us and the hotel arranged for us to have them stored.

The hotel offers you a chance to use the facilities at Low Wood Bay Hotel, about 5 minutes drive away. We had a look but didn't fancy it. If you have kids it would be worth a look at, however too many children for me. That being said, they do have adult only times later in the evening.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. Cosy and a great view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameliabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Ameliabeee,

Many thanks for your great review of your stay with us, I am glad we managed to help with your requests such as a fridge in your room and the storage of your bikes. The underfloor heating feels lovely on cold feet!

We hope to see you again soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Was looking a for a short break for my boyfriends birthday and found this little gem. the hotel is fabulous! authentic from outside however inside modernly decorated. the room was lovely, the bathroom was modern and the room was spacious. The room was equipped with a dvd player and you could take a dvd from reception to watch which they had a wide selection. the room even had an electric fire on the wall which was a lovely touch! the only problem i found is that one pillow was not enough, yet two pillows where too much which led to a bit of a stiff neck the next morning. we where provided with an ice bucket and wine glasses without even asking as the maid service had seen the bottle of wine we had bought for the evening. Everyone was really friendly and happy to help, i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a little get-a-way and i will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Lauren7474,

I was pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us for your boyfriend's birthday, and that you enjoyed the levels of service you received from our staff. The DVD library is especially popular at this time of year! We do offer different pillow types if you prefer something different, hopefully we will welcome you back soon and we can arrange this for you.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed in Room 10 at the Waterhead last weekened, the hotel and staff are amazing. We had a lovely time and would return in a heartbeat! The rooms are beautiful and the views of the lake are amazing too.

Room Tip: Room 10 because of the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Simon M,

Many thanks for your concise yet fantastic review!

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Visited on January 31st - February 2nd 2014 for a Family wedding, The rooms are great and very clean, staff were fantastic and would go that extra mile for anything we asked for, food was delicious. I would recommend The Waterhead.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Tracey R,

Many thanks for your review of your stay for your family wedding. It really was a pleasure to plan and host and I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We do hope you come back to visit us soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to this hotel for 10 years and it has not 'tired' in any way. The staff are lovely and courteous from start to end. The beds are really comfy and big with quality bed linen. Rooms are tasteful and full of everything you need. Brought our parents along as part if their Xmas pressie - they loved it. One parent is in a wheelchair however this posed no problem - the room for disabled persons is fantastic ( one suggestion would be for the hotel to light up the walkway from room 30 to the front door as this was pitch black). Another lovely stay - thankyou

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear diane c,

Many thanks for your great review of your most recent stay with us. It is so rewarding to read feedback from guests who have been staying with us for so long, and to hear that we have maintained our standards all that time is all we could wish for. We have taken onboard your suggestions regarding the lighting from room 30. We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterhead soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed in room 33 on 20th January,2014; great view from window over the lake; décor and furnishings were absolutely first class, could have used a hairdryer for my partner. I found the staff very courteous and helpful. This hotel is excellently situated by the lake and is only a ten minute walk into Ambleside. Had dinner on first night only but I have to say despite paying a surcharge for the fillet steak, it was the best I've had in a long time. Particularly enjoyed the gingerbread biscuit that came with the courtesy tray. I would like to say a special thank you to the staff for finding the charging plug and cable for my ipad and then posting it back to me ALL AT NO CHARGE.

Room Tip: Our room 33 was on the 1st floor overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Robert J,

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us. It was great to read how much you rnejoyed your dinner in our Bar & Grill, and also room 33. Just as a note all our bedrooms are equipped with hairdryers and reception would have been able to help you locate it in the dresser, sometimes it is easily missed. We do hope to welcome you back to Waterhead soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing