We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style without stuffiness”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here, and was just as good as the first. We stayed in a lake view classic room, and loved the large and extremely comfortable bed and the excellent bathroom. Really appreciate a teapot and the famous Grasmere gingerbread! Staff will bring a mug of fresh milk for tea on request. Nothing is too much trouble, all staff were friendly and went out of their way to provide everything you could need. Breakfast is superb (recommend the eggs benedict) as was the dinner. We love the boutique feel of the hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herdiebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear ronnie14

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read you enjoyed our super king size beds and our room facilities. We are very proud of our staff and I will certainy pass on your kind comments. We do hope to welcome you back for a third stay in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,710)
There are newer reviews for Waterhead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our wedding anniversary was spent in this great small hotel. The view from our room was out on to picturesque Waterhead Bay on Windermere. Our room was high ceilinged and spacious and we slept well in a generously proportioned bed. The lounge and bar area were well designed and the food excellent. Our breakfast was taken in the restaurant overlooking the lake and the menu offered a great breakfast selection that was cooked to perfection. I recommend this hotel for the perfect weekend break. It is situated away from the bustle of he shops in Ambleside but yet is located next to the pier for the lake's boats and makes a great base for exploring Windermere lake and many tourist attractions nearby.

Room Tip: Ours was a ground floor room which was perfect in May, but might be noisier in the warmer evenings o...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Nic W,

Many thanks for your review of your wedding anniversary stay with us. It is so rewarding to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is well apponted and fitted out and the room we had was large and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable with quality bed linen The staff are very motivated and friendly. The restaurant is excellent with good service and for the quality of food is good value. The outlook over the lake is lovely. The car park is a good size. which is important in the Lake District. You feel that the hotel does care about their guests
Be aware that the hotel is at Waterhead which is a ten minute walk from Ambleside town

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear colLeeds,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your bedroom, and also our food offering in the Bar & Grill. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We celebrated my father in-law's 80th Birthday at the hotel with 6 of us for dinner. The meals are superb and certainly world class. Congratulations to the chef on producing such a delicious menu which is well seasoned and smartly presented. The service was also very good. We dined on Trio of Pork, Scallops, Duck which melted in your mouth and topped it off with Hot Chocolate Fondant-Simply divine. Highly recommend this venue to anyone seeking a quality meal with a lovely atmosphere and friendly service. The prices were also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Katpom,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We were so glad that you and your family enjoyed your experience with us to celebrate your father-in-laws 80th birthday, and that you especially enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good size room with a comfortable bed and a good bathroom with plenty of hot water. Nice bar area with outside terrace overlooking the lake. We had a nice meal with friends in the restaurant. Terrific breakfast with lots of choice and friendly service throughout the hotel.The hotel was good value as it also included a meal in the restaurant on the first night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear 1954Elizabeth,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us, I was especially pleased how much you enjoyed our breakfast and also the service you received from our staff.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a birthday weekend with family. Lovely setting extremely comfortable rooms ( birthday card and ballon on bed) and great weather. Ambleside pier opposite for boat trips, Would certainly return and recommend,

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssexMooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear EssexMooley,

Thank you for taking the time to review your birthday weekend with us. I was so pleased we helped to make this a special occasion, and we do hope we can welcome you all back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We spent three nights here during Easter week. Great location, well appointed rooms, nice restaurant, excellent food, friendly, efficient staff. Only slight grumble is that the bar is a bit clinical and not really a cosy, relaxing environment for an an after-dinner drink; this is probably down to personal preference and the idea of 'cosy' perhaps doesn't fit with the boutique hotel theme so the criticism might be unfair. The location's beautiful - looking out over lake Windermere and directly opposite the pier for Windermere cruises, including the trip down to Bowness-on-Windermere. Not cheap but good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SP1jockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear SP1jockey,

Many thanks for your review of your Easter stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we do take on board all comments regarding the decor and layout of our public areas. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,221 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,405 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £139 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing