We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to gleneagles. We had 3 nights.
The staff were friendly and great with our kids. The room was fab and slept a family of 4 comfortably.
bottled water and fresh milk were complimentary. The views from the rear of the hotel onto the lake is to die for. dvd player plus free view in our rooms and they have dvd library. great. only thing would be nice to get complimentary newspaper in the hotel price but such a small point.
would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank sindychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear sindychick,

Many thanks for your review of your family stay with us. I was so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed all the little extras of the hotel and that you felt well looked after. We do hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    281
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
226
1,119
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Waterhead last year, when it came to choosing a place to spend our honeymoon after renewing our vows the Waterhead was our first choice. As on our previous stay we booked a luxury lake view room with fantastic views and all the expected amenities and complimentaries .... again it did not disappoint. We dined each night in the restaurant and the food was excellent matched only by the superb staff, attentive but not intrusive.
We will definitely be returning.
Karl and Jill

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lambrettadoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear lambrettadoctor,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your honeymoon stay with us after renewing your vows. I am so pleased that we helped make this a special occasion for you, and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed a great 2 night break here with dinner as part of a deal English Lakes were offering. The room was lovely with the fresh coffee and grasmere gingerbread a nice touch. We had a maintenance issue with our room but this was dealt with swiftly. The food at the bar and grill we found to be great value (for the offer) and was well presented and tasty if a little slow to arrive. The breakfast, particularly the waterhead grill and eggs benedict, was exceptional. The hotel is in a great location for Ambleside, the fells and the boat which you can get directly to wray castle. Finally we appreciated that you could borrow a large selection of DVDs from the lounge and the bar serves a great gin and tonic with a large selection of gins to choose from. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Pete802014,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recetn stay with us. I was glad to read you enjoyed our extensive gin collection and our food offerings at both breakfast and dinner. I was also pleased to read that the maintenance issue you experienced was dealt with quickly. I do hope we can welcome you back to Waterhead soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We decided on this lovely hotel for our short break 'away from it all' based on the reviews we had seen on here and the fact that we have also had some lovely times at other hotels from the same group, including our honeymoon. We weren't let down from ringing to see if we could have an early check in, to our breakfast just before departure in the lovely bay window in the restaurant with gorgeous views over the lake.
Our room (room 16) was lovely; large bed, lovely bathroom, chair and dresser to get ready at and to top it all off two patio doors out on to our cosy balcony with some good quality furniture to sit at with views out to the lake. It was a little chilly whilst we were there, but it would have been rude to not even try to sit out so we did.
It was lovely and peaceful although we had thought it might be a little noisy being close to the road but this wasn't the case and just a short walk into Ambleside Town Centre meant we didn't have to use the car.
We cant praise the staff enough as they were very polite and friendly (especially the bar staff) and the restaurant is a lovely setting and the tables aren't too close together. The food was delightful I in particular enjoyed the chicken ravioli and both myself and my husband enjoyed the chateaubriand and the cheeseboard is lovely with some amazing little crackers.
We will definitely be returning and cant recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a lovely little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Joanne G,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay with us at Waterhead, I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff. We do hope to welcome you back soon, hopefully in some warmer weather so you can enjoy the balcony properly!

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a nice break here but was disappointed on the night we dined in.The steak was not as superb as previous visits, and the lady on the next table complained about her duck being dry so perhaps it was an "off" night..Also if you have a half a sweet with a coffee be warned they are tiny anyway so one teaspoon and its gone!.We had a lovely meal at Tarantella in Ambleside which was far superior.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Jan S,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I was, however, disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your steak as much as you have on previous visits, and that you found our 'half dessert with hot drink' option too small, as we have found this a very popular choice for our guests. We do however take all comments on board and I apologise that you were disappointed on this occasion. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here, and was just as good as the first. We stayed in a lake view classic room, and loved the large and extremely comfortable bed and the excellent bathroom. Really appreciate a teapot and the famous Grasmere gingerbread! Staff will bring a mug of fresh milk for tea on request. Nothing is too much trouble, all staff were friendly and went out of their way to provide everything you could need. Breakfast is superb (recommend the eggs benedict) as was the dinner. We love the boutique feel of the hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herdiebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear ronnie14

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read you enjoyed our super king size beds and our room facilities. We are very proud of our staff and I will certainy pass on your kind comments. We do hope to welcome you back for a third stay in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our wedding anniversary was spent in this great small hotel. The view from our room was out on to picturesque Waterhead Bay on Windermere. Our room was high ceilinged and spacious and we slept well in a generously proportioned bed. The lounge and bar area were well designed and the food excellent. Our breakfast was taken in the restaurant overlooking the lake and the menu offered a great breakfast selection that was cooked to perfection. I recommend this hotel for the perfect weekend break. It is situated away from the bustle of he shops in Ambleside but yet is located next to the pier for the lake's boats and makes a great base for exploring Windermere lake and many tourist attractions nearby.

Room Tip: Ours was a ground floor room which was perfect in May, but might be noisier in the warmer evenings o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Nic W,

Many thanks for your review of your wedding anniversary stay with us. It is so rewarding to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing