We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Lovelly stay, parking was awkward but available, great room very comfortable bed, clean. It was a very nice touch being offered fresh coffee with gingerbread biscuits in the evening.

Breakfast was superb, even offering a veggie breakfast option.

Only lost a point because the a la carte meal in the restaurant could have been more flavourful

Would definitely return

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mattboyd,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was sorry to read you were disappointed with our restaurant menu back in November, and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to try our new menu.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    272
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
223
1,079
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just returned from a week long trip to the Lakes. This stay formed 2 days of that. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and perfectly placed to explore. The room was excellent although the lake view was a bit disappointing and there was noise from the air conditioner below. Food wonderful, served in a formal but friendly atmosphere. Would we go again? For sure.

Room Tip: Numbers greater than 32 on the ground floor would get a better lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Steve B,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. Just a note that room 32 is actually classed as a non-lake view room, so any glimpse of the lake is a bonus! We do, however offer lake view rooms with fantastic outlooks over the lake, just enquire with our reservations department. We hope to welcome you back to Waterhead in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a lovely venue for a relaxing break.The attentive dining room staff can't do enough for you and you are greeted by name on entering .We chose a luxury lake view room which had all sorts of little extras,fruit topped up daily,speciality gingerbread biscuits,a welcome gin and tonic ,crisps and nuts on arrival ,and yes,fresh milk in a vacuum jug each day to go with an excellent selection of teas.The bed was Queen sized and very comfortable ,luxurious pillows as well. I can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: Room no.seven has a lovely view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Patricia S,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of room 7, which is one of our newly upgraded luxury lake view rooms with all the little extras you have mentioned. We do hope we can welcome you back to Waterhead soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a very enjoyable couple of nights here with grandparents, 7 year old daughter and dog! The staff and service was excellent. Our room was large and very comfortable complete with dog bed and bowl was a lovely touch. The breakfast, bar meals and restaurant food we had was very good especially the fish and chips! Great location next to the lake.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AnabellesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear AnabellesMum,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your family stay with us in May. I was so pleased to read that you were all, especially the dog, well looked after and enjoyed yourselves. We hope to welcome you all back to Waterhead soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband took me to this hotel on my 30th birthday, on a bed, dinner and breakfast deal which was excellent value for money as the restaurant was top quality. We upgraded to a lake view room (room 8) which was huge and well worth the extra money for a special occasion. The view was amazing, especially in the morning! All toiletries and drinks/snacks (including G&T, crisps, gingerbread, nuts and jelly beans) were of very high quality and the room was attractive and clean. Fresh milk was a welcome bonus and this was replenished during the turn-down service whilst we were at dinner. We greatly appreciated the fact that the chef in the restaurant included a 30th birthday message on my dessert!
Breakfast was delicious, and the service was just as good as it had been the night before.
The only niggle was that as the room was on the ground floor and overlooked the outside bar area, it was quite noisy even with the window shut until almost midnight. Still worth it though to have that amazing view.
Thanks to all of the staff at this hotel and we look forward to coming again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 8 is great - ground floor with a lovely lake view, large bathroom and huge bay window to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenjd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear helenjd20,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and especially your happy birthday plate from the kitchen! We do hope to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to ask for a higher floor room if you enjoy the views but wish for a slightly quieter night.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to gleneagles. We had 3 nights.
The staff were friendly and great with our kids. The room was fab and slept a family of 4 comfortably.
bottled water and fresh milk were complimentary. The views from the rear of the hotel onto the lake is to die for. dvd player plus free view in our rooms and they have dvd library. great. only thing would be nice to get complimentary newspaper in the hotel price but such a small point.
would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank sindychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear sindychick,

Many thanks for your review of your family stay with us. I was so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed all the little extras of the hotel and that you felt well looked after. We do hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Waterhead last year, when it came to choosing a place to spend our honeymoon after renewing our vows the Waterhead was our first choice. As on our previous stay we booked a luxury lake view room with fantastic views and all the expected amenities and complimentaries .... again it did not disappoint. We dined each night in the restaurant and the food was excellent matched only by the superb staff, attentive but not intrusive.
We will definitely be returning.
Karl and Jill

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lambrettadoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear lambrettadoctor,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your honeymoon stay with us after renewing your vows. I am so pleased that we helped make this a special occasion for you, and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing