We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and not disappointed!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Back again and not disappointed!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Apart from the car parking arrangements (which are fine if you are not the last one trying to park!) the hotel again didn't disappoint and the evening meal was superb. The hotel was very busy but the staff tried hard to accommodate cheerfully.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    285
    54
    5
    11
See reviews for
229
1,128
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Waterhead Hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting the lakes. A superb location next to Lake Windemere, we paid a bit extra for a room with a lake view and it was worth it.
Clean, comfortable rooms with complimentary drinks and snacks and a very comfortable bed. The major asset of this hotel is the staff. They were all extremely polite and helpful and helped make this stay a truly memorable one.
The Hotel's bar and grill has a smart and relaxed atmosphere with excellent food, a good varied menu and more helpful and friendly staff. Overall a big 2 Thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djkelly46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our third visit to the Waterhead and it didn't disappoint. The setting is amazing, right on the lakeside with a fantastic view. The location is perfect, just one mile from Ambleside but with a shuttlebus leaving every half hour for those who don't fancy the walk, The hotel is not the cheapest in town but is well worth the extra money. The rooms are beautifully re- furbished to a very high standard and well equipped with everything you may need for your stay. The restaurant has plenty of friendly staff and the food is of the highest quality. We will return for a fourth visit!

Room Tip: We've paid the extra to have a Lakeside view in the past but, now we know the area well, we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from 4 nights' dbb at this superbly positioned hotel overlooking the lake. We had requested room 16 as it is the only room with a balcony and what a good choice this proved to be. The weather was exceptional and we were able to sit on the balcony each evening until dusk. This was further enhanced by the complimentary gin & tonics plus nibbles, which to our amazement were replenished daily, a brilliant touch much appreciated after a busy day's sightseeing. The attractively tiled bathroom was well appointed with a generous supply of Molton Brown toiletries, good lighting and mirrors, bathrobes and slippers. The only let down here was the shower curtain, a screen at the shower end of the bath would have been so much nicer.

The bedroom itself was lovely, light and spacious, well appointed, with very comfortable beds. It was also very hot, in fact we had to leave all windows and doors to the balcony open all day with curtains drawn despite this being a security risk. These also had to be left open all night so air conditioning would be appreciated here especially as, due to the hotel's position, there is a lot of traffic noise from the road between the hotel and the lake. I sleep with earplugs which helped but my husband, usually a deep sleeper, was always awakened by early morning traffic.

We found the standard of food excellent as was the service. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and pleasant. Maybe a few more specials on the menu would be an improvement, the only daily variation in the menu was the choice of soup in the starters and fish in the main course. Taking everything into consideration this hotel offers very good value for money considering the high standard of both accommodation and food plus, of course, the lovely views,

Room Tip: Room 16 with balcony overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

stayed in the waterhead for two nights 6/7 june, where to start,the room no 21 amazing lovely view of the lake and the most comfortable bed in the world.we were dbb and the food was excellent.everything in the room was top quality and it was spotlessly clean.its about a ten miute walk into ambleside which is a lovely little town and a very nice garden centre 5 mins away . i would recommend this hotel to any one wishing to have a luxury break in beautiful surroundings.its not cheap but you get what you pay for, we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear SheffieldFlyfisher,

Many thanks for your fantastic review of your recent stay at Waterhead. We really could not ask for a better recommendation, I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
803 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has a superb position at the head of the Lake. The car park is small and you wind your way to reception via a small corridor. Check-in was perfunctionary, I wasn't offered a morning paper though. My room was well appointed, narrow, a large old room split in two. The bed was very comfy and the shower worked well.

The evening meal was cooked nicely. Duck pate - why do you never get enough toast? - followed by rolled chicken. It was all tasty, portion sizes are quite small, so I filled up with cheese and biscuits, which were nice.

Cooked Breakfast in the morning was made to order; I had salmon eggs Benedict which were okay, the breakfast service was fine.

This is not a cheap hotel to stay in. On the whole it lived up to its 4 star billing. It's certainly boutique, which they stress at every opportunity. Next time I'll do B&B and try other eateries in Ambleside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear machinmad,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, although I am sorry you were not offered a morning paper as this is a standard check in offering. Although we do say, if you would like anything - just ask! And we will always do our best to help.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel for a week on a dinner, bed and breakfast break for my birthday.
The room was lovely and spacious and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, it also benefitted from having a balcony with a great view.
The room was spotlessly clean as well as the rest of the hotel.
The choice and standard of food was excellent.
We couldn't fault the staff in any way, from the manager Mark Needham right through all of the departments. The service was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
We would highly recommend staying here if you want that extra special break, you won't be disappointed.
Once again a big thank you to all of the staff for making our weeks stay perfect...

From Graeme and Nina

Room Tip: There are a number of rooms with a lake view but only one with a balcony. This is room 16 and is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gray_nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear gray_nina,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the balcony in room 16 overlooking the lake, and found our new super king beds so comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to Waterhead in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,212 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing