We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterhead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$263
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Rothay Hotel(Rydal)(Great Value!)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveller rating
1,419
301
57
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,419
301
57
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake view roomgrasmere gingerbreadlocal gingerbreadjelly beansdog bedlow woodlovely hotelice bucketturn down servicegin and tonicluxury roomsister hotelunderfloor heatingdvd playerlake districtbreakfast and dinnerwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When walking into the hotel , first impressions were looking good, this was until we got into the room. The room was nice but the cleanliness was awful. There was cobwebs everywhere and spiders covering the ceiling, on the curtains,on the lamp, pretty much everywhere. This really put us off. We didn't even have our breakfast, we just woke up and got out of there!!!
Would not recommend. This was a second choice as our preferred hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mohammed121091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mohammed 121091,

I was sorry to read your disappointing review and sorry that you did not bring this matter to our attention at the time as I assure you it would have been dealt with immediately. I can only apologise that the housekeeping was not up to our usual high standards. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future to restore your faith in the hotels products and services.

Regards

Mark Needham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really nice hotel. Complementary drinks and snacks on arrival. Friendly but discreet staff. Very nice restaurant. Very comfortable room. The only reason sleep quality below loses a mark is because it was uncharacteristically hot and there's no air con.

Room Tip: Luxury lake view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Sat outside looking at the lake and the 3000 Japanese people :) walking up and down we had the Burgers on a log or something and they where beautiful. service was great and the cost was good . beautiful hot day love it plus they speak good English as well

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a lake-view superior room at this hotel and it was worth paying extra for. Our view of Windermere was pretty (although the ducks did wake us up every morning). The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bed, superbly soft bedding and thick towelling robes. A pleasant surprise was the complimentary gin, tonic and snacks along with thoughtful touches such as a filled ice bucket and fresh milk. Bathroom was reasonably large, with an excellent shower and modern decoration. Things that made our stay particularly enjoyable were the friendly and helpful staff, the DVD library and delicious packed lunches (which were helpfully presented in individual cool bags so our sandwiches were fresh and tasty). Food was tasty and well-presented but not particularly adventurous. Staff understood my wife's coeliac needs and provided a range of gluten free foods (although notation on the dinner menu about gluten free dishes was not always correct so worth double checking). Ambleside is about one mile from the hotel, and an easy walk.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must. Room 20 was lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a two day stay at the hotel. What a fantastic location, right on the end of lake Windermere just out the door. The Hotel was excellent, clean and staff friendly. I only have one little fault, and that would be that it was a gloriously hot two days and the rooms as a consequence were also very hot. some air-conditioning would have been nice, but that is the only criticism, I will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: One nice room with balcony the would be fantastic to site with a drink and take in the view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Markleo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews