We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent experience from check-in to check-out . Very friendly and helpful staff , great rooms with mega beds . Spotlessly clean . Great restaurant ( the meals were exceptional ) .Great location opposite the lake and two minutes to the launch pier ( so if you're sick of driving you can cover the length of windermere by boat ) .Having read the previous reviews regarding air con I agree to a point BUT the windows do open and it's really quiet on a night AND it was freakishly warm for the lakes ! We had a brilliant couple of days and will be returning . I would recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: We've stayed in the luxury room ( which it really was ! Open the curtains and you're looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    285
    54
    5
    11
See reviews for
229
1,128
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed at all of the English Lakes hotels and all of the hotels are first class. The Waterhead is however outstanding. Room, facilities, food and service could not be faulted. The hotel is on a pretty busy road at the north end of Windermere but we new that before our visit and the views from the rooms and the terrace bar more than make up for any noise from the traffic. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When walking into the hotel , first impressions were looking good, this was until we got into the room. The room was nice but the cleanliness was awful. There was cobwebs everywhere and spiders covering the ceiling, on the curtains,on the lamp, pretty much everywhere. This really put us off. We didn't even have our breakfast, we just woke up and got out of there!!!
Would not recommend. This was a second choice as our preferred hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mohammed121091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mohammed 121091,

I was sorry to read your disappointing review and sorry that you did not bring this matter to our attention at the time as I assure you it would have been dealt with immediately. I can only apologise that the housekeeping was not up to our usual high standards. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future to restore your faith in the hotels products and services.

Regards

Mark Needham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really nice hotel. Complementary drinks and snacks on arrival. Friendly but discreet staff. Very nice restaurant. Very comfortable room. The only reason sleep quality below loses a mark is because it was uncharacteristically hot and there's no air con.

Room Tip: Luxury lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Sat outside looking at the lake and the 3000 Japanese people :) walking up and down we had the Burgers on a log or something and they where beautiful. service was great and the cost was good . beautiful hot day love it plus they speak good English as well

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wellow, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a lake-view superior room at this hotel and it was worth paying extra for. Our view of Windermere was pretty (although the ducks did wake us up every morning). The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bed, superbly soft bedding and thick towelling robes. A pleasant surprise was the complimentary gin, tonic and snacks along with thoughtful touches such as a filled ice bucket and fresh milk. Bathroom was reasonably large, with an excellent shower and modern decoration. Things that made our stay particularly enjoyable were the friendly and helpful staff, the DVD library and delicious packed lunches (which were helpfully presented in individual cool bags so our sandwiches were fresh and tasty). Food was tasty and well-presented but not particularly adventurous. Staff understood my wife's coeliac needs and provided a range of gluten free foods (although notation on the dinner menu about gluten free dishes was not always correct so worth double checking). Ambleside is about one mile from the hotel, and an easy walk.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must. Room 20 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a two day stay at the hotel. What a fantastic location, right on the end of lake Windermere just out the door. The Hotel was excellent, clean and staff friendly. I only have one little fault, and that would be that it was a gloriously hot two days and the rooms as a consequence were also very hot. some air-conditioning would have been nice, but that is the only criticism, I will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: One nice room with balcony the would be fantastic to site with a drink and take in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markleo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing