We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We first visited this fantastic hotel in 2009 for our honeymoon, and have returned on many occasions since, the last being a couple of weeks ago in July for our Wedding Anniversary. This hotel really is as good as the reviews suggest. The location is perfect, being right on the shores of Lake Windemere. The rooms/bathrooms and decor are fantastic, the beds are large and extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant, both breakfast and evening meals, is superb and the service is attentive without being intrusive. What we love most about the Waterhead is that you are always aware that you are in a top quality hotel, and yet you feel completely relaxed and at ease at all times. This is a fantastic base from which to explore the Lake District and we're already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    272
    53
    4
    10
See reviews for
224
1,079
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I think this the fourth stay we have had at the Waterhead. You are made to feel at home immediately on arrival. Everything is just as it should be - room and bathroom spotless, other areas of the hotel the same. Only here for two nights this visit, definitely not long enough. Dined in the restaurant the first night food is still of an excellent quality, very pleasant place for a nice dinner. Staff very attentive and friendly. Breakfasts are also of a high quality, still nice to get a prepared to order breakfast served at the table along with Tea/Coffee and toast. Too many hotels these day days expect you to make your own! Also all staff are absolutely brilliant. Can't wait for next visit.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay at the Waterhead, the weather was disappointing but the hotel wasn't. Very friendly and accommodating staff. The room was an excellent size, very clean and smelt beautiful. The bed linen and towels were of a good quality. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were excellent, even ground coffee and complimentary local gingerbread biscuit. The turn down service on an evening was a nice touch with chocolates left on pillows. I would highly recommend this hotel and would gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Checked in on line and so on arrival the everything was ready for us and what needed to be done was done swiftly and efficiently. Room was a very good size and tastefully fitted out. The bathroom was particularly impressive. Had dinner in the restaurant - excellent meal and service. Breakfast, likewise. Would definitely stay there a again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights to celebrate my parents 60th wedding anniversary. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and so was the room. We had a room over looking the lake. It was a lovely touch having complimentary gin & tonic and snacks in the room as well as Molton Brown toiletries. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a room overlooking the lake and the complimentary drinks, coffee pods, fruit, free WiFi, etc were a nice touch as were the chocolates in the evening! The bedrooms were kept very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We dined in the hotel restaurant for three consecutive evenings: the menu was sufficiently varied and interesting for this length of time, however, it might become a bit mundane if dining in the hotel restaurant for a week or so. The staff were very friendly and we were able to park on site each day. I agree with another reviewer that getting luggage from the lower car park to reception was not easy, however, assistance was offered always. If parked at the front of the hotel there was no problem. Our stay was efficiently managed and we would definitely stay here again for a few days or for a special occasion as it is quite expensive whilst being well looked after.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lakeside of the hotel have excellent views, however, if a light sleeper you might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcjhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel descibes itself as Boutique but apart from from some purple signage we found it fairly standard. We had a ground floor room that is hidden behing the bar. Access from the car park was difficult and we were left to find our way ourselves.The young staff were friendly but not that useful. You should definitely get them to help with luggage. We did appreciate the loud voiced waitress noted in many TA reviews of the restaurant. The restaurant is comfortable, good but pricey. There are no other good looking reataurants near by. I tried the smoked haddock for breakfast, it was small, undyed and a bit bland and was full of bones which spoiled it for me. A good location but after such good reviews it fell short and was dissapointing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have difficult access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarachiDAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing