We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Merseyside
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Just back from a weekend at this beautiful hotel, and i must say everything about our stay was just perfect! The bedroom was absouletly gorgeous, with a very modern spotlessly clean bathroom. The whole feel of the hotel is modern and upmarket. Really good quality furnishings/accessories used throughout the hotel The attention to detail is second to none. Lovely staff, great unobtrusive service. Restuarant is fantastic ( altho pricey , but worth every penny). Food is top notch at breakfast ( altho some bread rolls would have been nice on the buffet table to have with the cheese/cold meats). I have stayed in so many lovely hotels in my time that i thought i had seen it all, but this hotel is absolutely stunning, it took my breath away from the moment we entered. Highly recommended and cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iddy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    271
    52
    4
    9
See reviews for
218
1,063
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and were amazed how good the hotel was for the price. Definitely lives up to the reviews and a solid 4* hotel. The rooms are fantastic, feeling recently updated, with plenty of attention to detail including an iPod docking music/alarm clock, flat screen tv, a great bed, plenty of room and a large bathroom - all spotless.

Location is perfect for a quick walk into Ambleside for some food. Breakfast was top notch - make sure it's included in your rate as it's quite expensive if purchased separately.

We didn't try the restaurant downstairs in the evening as I couldn't find any mega positive reviews and there's plenty of restaurants to chose from in Ambleside.

Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

There is limited car parking outside the front of the hotel but there is more around the rear which wasn't immediately apparent. Car parked is pretty secure/out of the way if you have a nice car.

All in all, would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megablst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Dear megablst

Many thanks for the great review and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was sorry to read that you didn't join us for dinner in the Bay Restaurant, as we do have an excellent reputation both locally and throughout Cumbria.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

....the answer is a resounding yes!!! Visited the Waterhead in April and was so impressed booked for 4 nights over the August bank holiday weekend (see earlier review of April visit), and also recommended it to friends who also booked for 2 nights over the August bank holiday weekend, who thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
Everything was just as we remembered, well apart from the weather!!! Rooms are beautifully designed and the shower is just bliss, especially after a day walking in the wind and rain!! Breakfast's were lovely and filling, great for a full day of walking.
The addition of the i-pod docking station was a nice improvement to the room!
Not much else to say, as have reviewed this hotel before, but felt obliged to comment that it is just as good on the second visit.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to the lake district, I will be booking again!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanchez0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Dear Sanchez0306

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review following your second visit to The Waterhead. It is certainly pleasing to read that we are maintaining the high standards of which we are extremely proud, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a third visit soon!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights over August Bank Holiday. We got a good price for the 3 of us booking direct on the hotel website. The booking was based upon the reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't surprised after we'd stayed here.
The hotel is very tastefully decorated and it is the first time we've ever had a bedroom that looks like the pictures on the hotel's site. Walking along the corridor in the morning when the rooms were being cleaned allowed us to see that all of them were the same. For us the bed was fantastic - very comfortable and a great night's sleep. A nice touch was the optional turn down service in the evening. Also things like the flat screen TV, DVD player and i-pod dock were also a great touch. There was a DVD library which cost nothing to use and our son made use of it at night after we returned.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings but the breakfasts were very nice. A great selection of cereals, pastries, meats and cheeses as well as the usual hot selection which you ordered and was then served to you. The quality of the hot breakfast was excellent. There was also porridge - a nice touch for those that wanted it was the availability of whisky to drop in it. We did use the bar in the evenings and found it very relaxing and not too pricy. A great real ale on draught was a real bonus.

We also made use of the leisure facilities at the sister hotel the Low Wood, a mile along the road towards Windermere. A great bonus on a very rainy afternoon

I have to say that all the staff that I came into contact with were friendly and very keen to help.

Would we stay at the Waterhead again - Most definitely

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T00nTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Dear T00nTraveller

Thanks for the great review - I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future. We do get generally excellent reviews regarding the Bay Restaurant and Ihope that you might join us for dinner during your next stay!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Yes yes yes. In full agreement with all other reviews.Service is excellent. Location fantastic. Rooms wonderful. The Lake views are superb. Very reasonable prices if you look on their website/laterooms.
The only thing I'd say is that the beds are really too soft but then they are a personal preference.
The restaurant isn't as good as the hotel although the fantastic breakfast is worth getting up for. For dinner it is pricey and there are other places nearby that are more reasonable but serve better food. Sorry Waterhead, it's obvious you trying very hard, but you're just missing here.
Everything else I recommend without exception. Treat yourself to a massage after a long day walking at the Low Wood's spa.. lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peak-District-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2009
Dear Peak-District-Ian

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review reagrding your recent stay - your comments will, of course, be passed on to the rest of the team here at The Waterhead.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

The hotel has a light and fresh feel. Lovely wooden floors in reception and tastefully decorated throughout. The service was excellent; attentive, responsive and personal. I felt treated as a person and not a 'customer'. The small touches make a huge difference: the bathroom is very clean and has all you need. The linen and beds are fresh and soft and the fluffy dog on the pillow was a lovely touch (I'm not normally a softy but my daughter loved it). It was very good value too, paying £116 per night for the three of us bed and breakfast. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Dear Jayemm

Many thanks for taking the time to post a fantastic review - I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the small personal touches that we believe make all the difference and ensure that guests enjoy a memorable experience.
Please do contact me prior to your next stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We selected this hotel for its location and quality. We were impressed from the moment we arrived, the staff were attentive, informed, efficient and very helpful. Our room was delightful, well furnished and comfortable with an excellent bathroom, particularly the shower! We felt it was worth paying the slight extra for a lake view. The restaurant was good and the chef and staff very willing and capable of dealing with special needs as a result of food allergies.
The hotel's location is excellent being just across the road from the Ambleside pier and a short walk from Ambleside town centre and we found it ideal for hiking and visiting within the Lake District. Although we did not take advantage of all the facilities the hotel is linked with the Low Wood Hotel where a variety of activities and watersports can be enjoyed.
All in all this was a most enjoyable visit

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AubreyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Dear AubreyC

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I will, of course, ensure that your kind comments are passed on to the team, and in particular our head chef .
Please do contact me direct prior to your next visit should you require menus to be prepared in order to ensure your next stay is just as memorable!
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing