We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lakeside hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent lakeside hotel”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at The Waterhead- we booked a classic lake view room and were really pleased with the fabulous view & clean room. The room was well equipped and I particularly liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom. The staff had thoughtfully left us an anniversary card in our room- a lovely touch!!
The service was excellent throughout our stay. The breakfast was delicious & cooked to order- although I must say I was a little disappointed to see there were no hash browns on the menu!! The continental breakfast buffet was well stocked and varied.
We would not hesitate to return to The Waterhead Hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CymruambythWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear Cymruambythwales,

Thank you for posting your recent review. It was great to read you had an enjoyable anniversary stay with us. We are constantly reviewing our food offering and breakfast is something we are currently working on so you may see hash browns on our menu next time you visit, if not i am sure our chef will make some for you.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    276
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
224
1,094
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Just stayed at the Waterhead for 3 nights and I have to say the hotel is fabulous, the location, staff, food all great.

However I do have a slight complaint we booked a deluxe lake view room at a premium I might say, the room was fab but we had a poky little window over looking the lake. I did notice that there were 2 other rooms on the floor below with huge bay windows which appeared to be empty. So if you book a lake view room make sure you ask for one with bay windows. I feel a little cheated.

Having said that I would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canalboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear Canalboats,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Waterhead. I was glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. My apologies you were not assigned one of the rooms with the larger bay windows, if you are planning to return in the near future be sure to contact me personally at the hotel and i will do my very best to ensure you get the best view from your room.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We have recently returned from a week in the Lake District and felt I had to write a review on this great hotel. We stayed at the Waterhead for four nights during August and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

The hotel overlooks Lake Windermere and there is only a road seperating the hotel from the lake and the there is plenty of on-site car parking.

On arrival, the receptionist made us feel welcome and we were very pleasantly suprised at the good size bedroom we had. There was a king-size bed and another bed for our teenage son and we still had plenty of room to move around. The bathroom was a good size with both shower and bath and additional facilities included tea/coffee making facilities and overturn service in the evening. One extra nice touch was the DVD player in the room and a large selection of DVD's available at reception which guests can rent free of charge. Very handy when you have children or in our case a 15 year old! We would have liked a lake-facing room but unfortunatley these are only available for two people in a room.

Breakfast is excellent and plentiful and the restaurant has lovely views overooking the lake. There is a nice relaxed atmosphere and very attentive staff. We also had dinner at the hotel one evening and at £50 for two for three courses was great value for money. The hotel is situated about a mile from the centre of Ambleside and there are also plenty of great places to eat there in the evening. Try Tarantellas if you like Italian food. But pre-book as it is only a small establishment and very popular.

The hotel does have a lesiure centre at it sister hotel about a mile down the road but we did not use the facility.

So if you are in the area do try this lovely hotel. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torino20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear Torino20,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and i will ensure your comments are passed onto the team.
I look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a lovely 3 day break in this hotel in August despite it being school holiday time. We had a superior room which was very comfortable - the bed was like sleeping on a cloud! The breakfast was top class. Self service for cereals, fruit etc but the cooked breakfast was freshly prepared (I am not a great fan of the buffet breakfast). Regarding the location of the hotel the following may be of interest to others thinking of staying here. The hotel is right on the lakeside opposite the ferry terminal for Windermere. It is about a 15 minute walk to Ambleside itself. The hotel is quite isolated and there is not much around at night. You have to go into Ambleside town to see any nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear DianeCleethorpes,

Many thanks for the great review. I was particularly pleased with your "like sleeping on a cloud" comment. A good nights sleep is a fundamental part of any hotel stay and its pleasing to know our recent investment in new bedding is being enjoyed by our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Don't be put off because this hotel has a road between the hotel and the lake. There is in fact a narrow two land road on each side of the hotel..but it was very quite..we had no road noise at all. Our room was large..huge bay window looking out at the lake...the ensuite was large and very modern..all recently decorated. Bed was King size and comfy..plus there's a good sized Samsung flat screen and DVD player..free DVDs in the lobby. Spotless...quiet..large..beautiful. Food was very good and the overall service is good. They are obviously trying hard to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear 5starry,

Many thanks for the recent review from your stay at the Waterhead. It was great to read you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our overall guest experience at the hotel with investment and new ideas, hopefully resulting in the perfect stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Just a short overnight stay with family from USA.8 of us in total in 4 rooms. Did not know what to expect having never stayed on this side of the lake before. Nice rooms, good service excellent location. Never stayed this side of Windermere before always have done Bowness or B+Bs - but thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. A little expensive (182 per night half board) but well located and spent Sunday touring and doing watersports at narby Lowood Hotel. Evening meal in restaurant was good too. Will definetly be back Autumn/Winter for another break.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tddentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear tddentx

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of your stay with us. If you or your group are looking to return to the area in the future be sure to contact me personally.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

we have a gorgeous bassett hound and i wish we knew she could of come along! there were some beautiful dogs staying at the hotel and i've never stayed at a dog friendly hotel before.
my parents picked and booked the weekend trip away for us and babysat our daughter and didn't they choose well!!
the best part for me was the HUGE bed and excellent view over the lake.
they only thing i wasn't happy with, one night the evening meal was tiny and after doing a full days walking i certainly needed more even after 3 (quite small) courses walked into the town for a snack.
the second night we ordered a side of chips but that time the meal was much more substantial and didn't eat the chips after all.
that was the only thing i could fault otherwise absolutely perfect.
price wise i'm not sure because the bill had already been paid for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear jennyb82,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I was glad to read you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. My apologies you thought the portions were a little small on one of your meals in the restaurant i shall pass your comments onto the chef and i thank you for bringing this to my attention. I look forward to welcoming you and your bassett hound back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing