We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Stayed for 1 night in this beautiful hotel in a fantastic location at Waterhead Bay. If you are travelling by train and bus, the bus stop is right outside the hotel and you are within a couple of minutes walk from Ambleside Pier to catch the steamer to Bowness. The hotel has a lovely feeling to it right from the moment you step in the door. Light, modern and yet historic at the same time. We had a room overlooking the lake and it really was a beautiful scene, particularly as it had been snowing. Room had very nice furniture & fittings and a really comfortable king size bed. Liked the touches such as cafitiere and fresh coffee, the ability to get fresh milk, water, robes, etc. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was delicious and the service excellent. Only critisism would be the bathroom shower is a peculiar overflowing water affair and doesn't quite get hot enough, and there was no shower gel/shampoo. Apart from that, excellent - will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear happy_couple52,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Its pleasing to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and got to enjoy the fantastic snowy scenery which is breathtaking. Thank you also for choosing to dine with us during your stay i will pass your comments onto the restaurant team. I will certainly look into the shower as we only have 2 rooms with this type of shower in. Just to let you know as you must have missed it but we have a extensive selection of products in all of our rooms, including shampoo and shower gel. I look forward in welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
There are newer reviews for Waterhead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

From arriving at the hotel to leaving the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and had everything you needed. The bar and restaurant were also fantastic, especially the staff. The food was tremendous. We will be returning back to the hotel in Spring with the children.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear YvonneGary,

Thanks for the great review of your recent stay with us. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the team here and look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Waterhead in Spring, have a great Xmas and New Year.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This is a wonderful hotel. Everything has been thought of and there was real attention to detail. Wonderful, spacious bedroom with a huge bed and fantastic bathroom with funky towel rail and underfloor heating! Great selection of teas and coffees in the room- these were refilled when we went out for dinner in the evening and chocolate left on the bed. The bar area of the hotel is lovely with a fantastic real coal fire to relax by. Breakfasts were excellent, the full English was perfect and haddock with poached egg the second morning was also delicious. We had a fantastic stay , the staff were so attentive and lovely- thank you for making it a perfect weekend away. We will recommend this hotel and stay again next time we are in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear Spruth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and all of the little touches which we feel set us apart form the rest. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future. Have a great Christmas.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Booked a one night stay at the Waterhead as a last minute thing to take my wife away to relax. THis is an excellent hotel beautifully situated right on Lake Windermere. We arrived early (around 10.30am) to make the most of the day and just popped in to the hotel to let them know we had arrived. Even though the do state chek in from 3pm we were told if we waited 10 minutes the room would be ready. In the room by 11am - the rooms are good size, we had a lake view, with excellent facilities (under floor heating, great bed, good TV on wall etc) We headed straight out from the hotel and enjoyed the walk along the lake to the centre of Ambleside. We went to the Waterhead's sister hotel - Low Wood - where you get complimentary use of the leisure facilities (about 1 mile away) which were excellent. Outdoor hot tub in the snow was a highlight.
Back at the hotel we enjoyed a drink in from of the roaring fire before dinner. The restaurant food was great - a very extensive and seasonal menu made for a very difficult choice. All courses were excellent with my wife's tuna cooked exactly as requested and the rack of lamb the same. A great nights sleep was followed by a lovely cooked breakfast - with a choice of fruits, breads and pastries for those that did not want the full English!
For £160 dinner, bed and breakfast this was a tremendous visit and one we will definetly repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear andyandhelen,

Thanks for the great review. It is certainly pleasing to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Be sure to check out our winter offers for some great deals.
I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment!!

When we arrived we were given an upgrade to a lovely lake view room. The room was a really good size and had some really nice touches like bath robes and slippers, binoculars, bowl of fresh fruit and locally made gingerbread on the hospitality tray! The hotel was very quiet, I guess because of the time of the year but this suited us. Even though the hotel is situated by the road, its not a busy road so there wasn't much noise. Only a 10 minute walk into Ambleside which is really pleasant during the day through the park and past some Roman Fort ruins!! The hotel has plenty of parking, clearly signed. Not that we moved the car once when we got there! There are plenty of lovely walks from the centre of Ambleside.

We ate in the hotel restaurant one night. Its not cheap but its nice food. The breakfast is plentiful and equally as delicious as the dinner was.

We were treated really well by all the staff, all of whom were very helpful and welcoming. It felt like a real treat staying here for what we think was a bargain. We will definitely be going back for another stay sometime.

So, if you're looking for a hotel with a touch of class in a great location then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longlegs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear Longlegs14,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your free upgrade to one of our luxury rooms. Keep an eye out for our winter offers on our website and i look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed at the waterhead hotel on the 23/11/10 as an anniversary treat.We checked in at lunch time and found we had been upgraded to a superior lake view room(2) .The room was beyond our expectations,with lots of little touches such as robe and slippers.We had a restaurant reservation at 8pm where we had a 3 course meal which was ok,my husband ordered the breast of pigeon,pheasant and partridge which was overcooked and also had bone and pieces of shot in(not very good on the teeth).We were told by the waiter that it was to be expected and that there was nothing they could do!(maybe this should be mentioned by the waiting staff when an order for the dish is taken or a warning printed in the menu maybe!).We went down for breakfast at 7.30 am as we had an early start,there were no waiting staff in site until 7.40,not very good when breakfast is 7.30-10.00.
The hotel and rooms are great the food ok service ok,may return but wouldnt eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjrob30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear kjrob30,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, it is only through guest feedback we can review procedures for the benefit of future guests. I am glad you enjoyed the room and the little extras, however my sincere apologies your restaurant experience was not upto our usual high standards. I do hope you will consider returning to the Waterhead to give us an opportunity to restore you faith in our restaurant offering. As you can see from other reviews the restaurant is normally extremely well received but i appreciate there will be times when these things can happen.
Thank you again for your comments and i do hope to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My wife and myself spent one night staying at Waterhead as a bit of a treat and we weren't disappointed. On our arrival (which was early!), we were informed that our room was ready for us and that we had been given a complementary upgrade to a suite (rm 17). The suite itself was beautiful, spacious and had fantastic views of Lake Windermere and the mountains beyond. The bed was really comfortable and ensured we had the best night sleep we had had in ages!

We had booked at a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate which proved to be great value as we enjoyed a great 3 course evening meal in the restaurant, and a lovely breakfast the morning after - both of which sourced local products.

The location of the hotel is great. Right on the lakeside, but only a short and scenic walk from Low Wood Leisure Centre in one direction and Ambleside in the other.

All in all, a hotel I would really recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blink_Vader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Dear Blink_vader,

Many thanks for the great review, its pleasing to read you had an enjoyable night's stay with us.
Keep a look out for some of our fantastic winter offers and i look forward in welcoming you back to the Waterhead in the future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £133 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing