We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Just returned from another excellent stay at 'The Salutation'. One of the wonderful jazz beaks held there each March and October. The whole staff, from management down, are first class and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is first class and there is a wide choice of food from bistro style food during the day and evening and also dinners served in the restaurant during the evening. Wide choice for breakfast with a large selection to choose from - either continental or cooked breakfast. On site car parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dycer128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, so pleased you had a great time on one of our Jazz breaks everyone really seems to enjoy them .... they certainly get your feet tapping! I will pass on your comments about our staff and food I think we have a great team at the hotel !Look forward to seeing you in March for more Jazz or before if you can get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    330
    65
    19
    13
See reviews for
208
780
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston lancs
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed with a group of friends last weekend.
We were all in the annex that had just been re carpeted before our visit.
The rooms were large and of a high standard.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We dined as a group and on the first evening we were asked if we wanted coffee in the lounge. The waiter then re arraged the furniture to accomodate the 14 of us so we could all sit together.

Both breakfasts and dinners were of a high quality.

Overall the hotel is in a great location and one I would reccomend without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Many thanks for your comments, really pleased you an your group had a great weekend with us and that you enjoyed our food and Club rooms in one of the lodges. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

First visit to the Lake's and how much my Wife and I enjoyed it. The Hotel was better than we expected. Standard double room - nothing Fancy, but clean. Bathroom maybe a bit dated, . great bath and shower though.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best I have had in the UK. Great choices, plenty of fruit, pastries, breads, porridge. There was also smoked salmon, smoked mackerel and some quite delicious cooked Ham slices. The cooked breakfast complemented the excellent range of help yourself food I just mentioned. On the second day I took the poached eggs - got to say best I have had - no vinegar, no water, just served on top of the Bacon and they were perfect.
The location is a real bonus, being right in the centre of Ambleside, which in my opinion is much better than Windermere.The Hotel also has free parking which is very useful in Ambleside.
Lovely Pub across the road serving great Local real ales - the Gold was my favourite(4.4).
Went walking up Helvellen on the Saturday and it was great weather and a lovely walk with plenty of opportunities for additional routes.
Will be back down from Scotland soon, and hope to meet up with our English relatives in Ambleside again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor room 205 - standard room. Below on the 1st floor were rooms with an outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

arrived Monday the 3rd October 2011 for two nights wish it was longer, the staff were excellent friendly and helpful, the accomadation was first class, very clean and comfy rooms, the pool, sauna and steam room were fabulous. thank you

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuttonRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Great location in centre of Ambleside, close to all shops etc, (though parking can be really tight, - a nightmare at peak season) but our stay got off to a poor start as we arrived a little early and lady on reception seemed quite grumpy about it and very unwelcoming indeed.
This is ironic as Hotel Manager is a very jolly fellow - it's a pity it does not rub off onto his staff! This theme of lacking any cheerful demeanor seems common amongst front of house staff at this hotel, many of whom have probably been there far too long. They tend to crowd around reception not doing anything...(Cleaning staff much more customer friendly though). Food quality good, though they got our breakfast order wrong. Pool facility excellent, - a real bonus when the weather is poor.
We had a club room which was very new, best room we have had there so far.
Overall a good Hotel, - just don't expect service with a smile!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you very much for recent review, I'm really pleased you were impressed with our leisure facilities, club room and you enjoyed our food, apologies for the error with your breakfast order I do hope that was rectified for you. We do have one car park space for each bedroom however with the increasing amount of larger and wider cars being parked, and the layout of the car park can sometimes make parking a little tricky, we would however always find a space for our guest's cars.

I was extremely disappointed to read your comments about our front of house staff, please accept my sincere apologies, the friendliness and helpfulness of our team is one of the main attributes of the hotel (as you can see from previous reviews) with many many regular guest's returning. I can assure you that I will look into this further , thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked a club room in the Wansfell lodge which was very comfortable,with bathrobes & slippers provided. The main hotel was a short walk across the car park, the lounge area & library were nicely decorated (pity the books were all just a facade!). Breakfast was fabulous freshly cooked, perfect start for a day on the fells. The pool, jacuzzi, & hot tub were all fantastic, just what you need for aching limbs, I loved the duck lights leading to the pool & the camel by the hot tub- very entertaining! All the staff from the reception,bar & the restaurant were extremely friendly & helpful. As the hotel is so central, we decided to have dinner in town, The Thai restaurant -Doi Intanon was very good, we also ate @ Luigis - a limited menu but still v.nice.We shall certainly return to this hotel, an ideal base for the surrounding area, excellent staff & great facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrybeeIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were in the annexe, Stock Ghyll, we were upgraded and had a superior room with good space and lovely bathroom with shower and spa bath.
Breakfasts were OK, I prefer a buffet rather than a waiter service, but the meals were good and a the menu flexible. We had one dinner in the Bistro and it was very good value. The staff were very friendly and the spa/gym is the icing on the cake. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to superior, annexe is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,213 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing