We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$265
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,398)
Filter reviews
1,398 results
Traveller rating
944
350
67
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
944
350
67
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclub roomsteam roomoutdoor jacuzzileisure facilitieslovely hotelcold buffetspa bathlake districtcar parkthe main hotelwalk in showercooked breakfastporridgelounge arealeisure clubpower shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,211 - 1,216 of 1,398 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Very attentive staff, any requests were duly met. Stayed during the weekend for two nights in a fabulously comfortable bed. Relax in your own spa bath, which is just the thing when you've returned from walking 8 miles.... mostly up the side of a mountain. Will gladly be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChocolateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Thank you so much, look forward to welcoming you back... plenty more mountains here for you to climb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Arrived on Saturday with my wife, daughter and her husband for one night. We were allocated our rooms by very friendly professional staff our room had a balcony overlooking the river at the back of the hotel. The room was very spacious with tea making facilities and was very clean. We had an a la carte meal in the restaurant in the evening which was very good value and cooked and set out to a high standard. The restaurant staff again were excellent and overall the staff cannot do enough for you during your stay. The spa facilities consist of a small gym , a pool together with a sauna and steam room. They do however have an outdoor Canadian style hot tub which is great. A tip with this hotel is to join their Westmoreland club for £10 which entitles you to a free meal when you join and 10% off all drinks and meals purchased during your stay. The hotel is bang in the centre of Ambleside shops right on the doorstep. I have used this hotel before and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Thanks for a great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay your comments about the hotel food and staff are much appreicated. Glad you joined our Westmorland Club there will be lots of exciting offers coming your way in 2012 as we celebrate our 25th year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Spacious, clean rooms with all the mod cons. Fab location. Very helpful and friendly staff - will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you what a fab review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have always previously stayed in another Windermere based hotel but fancied somewhere with full spa facilities,so did our research by looking at all the reviews and plumped for this one on a DBB basis for three nights.

We arrived which i concede was early at around 12.30 and were quite bluntly told to come back at 3pm !

I asked whether we could order off the Bistro menu for our evening meal as we had looked at the A La Carte menu for that night and didn't really fancy anything off it,and was told NO as we were booked into the restaurant (which turned out to be just a partitioned off bit of the bistro) this also turned out to be incorrect !

Also the coffee's,latte's in particular were awful !

I tried a steak the first night..................tasteless to be honest.
I tried the bistro curry the second night...................this tasted like something I would get from a
not very good cafe.
I tried Roast chicken the third night ....................thankfully much better.

The breakfasts were good,but you had to not order your breakfast as soon as asked otherwise it would appear immediately leaving you wondering how you could eat yoghurt/cereals/toast and fried breakfast all at the same time !

The leisure centre/spa was excellent and both myself and the other half enjoyed these immensely and the treatments she had were the best ever apparently.

We were booked into a standard double room which was spotless if a little small,I would suggest upgrading to a club room for the extra space.

All in all I would say that the hotel is of a good standard,with excellent leisure facillities and very clean indeed.
Booked on a B&B basis it is reasonable value for money,but in my opinion there are better options available and as for the evening meal....................DINE OUT DEFINATELY.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Jasper262,
Thank you for your comments. May I sincerely apologise for the short comings in your recent stay with us. May I also apologise for the way your check in was handled, unfortunately we can’t guarantee that rooms are ready before 3pm, we should have explained this to you and also that you can actually check in and use the hotels facilities while waiting for your room to be ready. I must also apologise for the explanation given regarding your restaurant allocation and your meals while staying with us. This is not our normal standard as you can see from previous comments and I would dearly like you to contact me personally on 015394 32244 so we can discuss your experience firsthand and hope to welcome you back to the hotel to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

have just returned from a 3 day break staying at this hotel, the facilities are fantastic and the service is excellent.
it has an on site gym, swimming pool, sauna and steam room with an outdoor hot tub, which all help to unwind and relax at the end of your day.
also has a nice restaurant with a good menu choice and reasonably priced.
it is located in a very picturesque area with great views and a friendly town with plenty of restaurants to choose from should you venture from the luxury of the hotel.
would definitley visit again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Than you for your review, and that you were impressed with the hotel and it's facilities and food, your great comments make it all worth while.Look forward to your retuen visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews