We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Super hotel right in the middle of Ambleside nice staff and excellant rooms very good facillities and the food second to none. the carpark is very secure and contrled by a in out bollard super views of the hills from most rooms at the front i was there in december so all the decorations were up it was so nice. The fact this hotel is a best western it must be one of the best i have ever stayed in it has everything.

So if you are looking for a nice place to relax while in the lakes or up on business this place meets everyones needs from familys to business men to couples on a romantic time away.

Room Tip: Anyone at the front of the hotel there are a number with small balconies which are super in the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you think we are one of the 'Best' Best Western's you have used, we will keep up the good work for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

We have been staying at The Salutation in Ambleside for 10 years now. This time we stayed in one of their Club rooms which are bigger and have a seating area as well as little extras like robes, slippers and complimentary bottled water. However whenever we have stayed here our room has been very good. Since we last stayed they have made the excellent breakfast even better with even more choice on the buffet for continental breakfast whilst still cooking a full English to order if that is your preference. We have always found all the staff very helpful and the location is so conveinient for anywhere in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Look forward to welcoming you back for the next 10 years! Thanks for a fab review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have just come back from from four days at the salutation which was excellent you can not fault any thing infact they always seem to be improving things. We have been coming to this hotel over ten years now when we first started coming there was no pool,spa or hot tub which i must admit is the best thing they ever got its just a shame you couldn't sit in the hot tub having a drink that would make it perfect after along day walking. The staff are the best they are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help you. We look forward to going back there at easter.

Room Tip: the club rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thanks for your great comments we are very lucky to have such wonderful helpful and happy staff, so pleased you liked all the leisure facilities also. Look forward to welcoming you back at Easter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Very attentive staff, any requests were duly met. Stayed during the weekend for two nights in a fabulously comfortable bed. Relax in your own spa bath, which is just the thing when you've returned from walking 8 miles.... mostly up the side of a mountain. Will gladly be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChocolateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Thank you so much, look forward to welcoming you back... plenty more mountains here for you to climb!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Arrived on Saturday with my wife, daughter and her husband for one night. We were allocated our rooms by very friendly professional staff our room had a balcony overlooking the river at the back of the hotel. The room was very spacious with tea making facilities and was very clean. We had an a la carte meal in the restaurant in the evening which was very good value and cooked and set out to a high standard. The restaurant staff again were excellent and overall the staff cannot do enough for you during your stay. The spa facilities consist of a small gym , a pool together with a sauna and steam room. They do however have an outdoor Canadian style hot tub which is great. A tip with this hotel is to join their Westmoreland club for £10 which entitles you to a free meal when you join and 10% off all drinks and meals purchased during your stay. The hotel is bang in the centre of Ambleside shops right on the doorstep. I have used this hotel before and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Thanks for a great review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay your comments about the hotel food and staff are much appreicated. Glad you joined our Westmorland Club there will be lots of exciting offers coming your way in 2012 as we celebrate our 25th year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Spacious, clean rooms with all the mod cons. Fab location. Very helpful and friendly staff - will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you what a fab review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have always previously stayed in another Windermere based hotel but fancied somewhere with full spa facilities,so did our research by looking at all the reviews and plumped for this one on a DBB basis for three nights.

We arrived which i concede was early at around 12.30 and were quite bluntly told to come back at 3pm !

I asked whether we could order off the Bistro menu for our evening meal as we had looked at the A La Carte menu for that night and didn't really fancy anything off it,and was told NO as we were booked into the restaurant (which turned out to be just a partitioned off bit of the bistro) this also turned out to be incorrect !

Also the coffee's,latte's in particular were awful !

I tried a steak the first night..................tasteless to be honest.
I tried the bistro curry the second night...................this tasted like something I would get from a
not very good cafe.
I tried Roast chicken the third night ....................thankfully much better.

The breakfasts were good,but you had to not order your breakfast as soon as asked otherwise it would appear immediately leaving you wondering how you could eat yoghurt/cereals/toast and fried breakfast all at the same time !

The leisure centre/spa was excellent and both myself and the other half enjoyed these immensely and the treatments she had were the best ever apparently.

We were booked into a standard double room which was spotless if a little small,I would suggest upgrading to a club room for the extra space.

All in all I would say that the hotel is of a good standard,with excellent leisure facillities and very clean indeed.
Booked on a B&B basis it is reasonable value for money,but in my opinion there are better options available and as for the evening meal....................DINE OUT DEFINATELY.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Jasper262,
Thank you for your comments. May I sincerely apologise for the short comings in your recent stay with us. May I also apologise for the way your check in was handled, unfortunately we can’t guarantee that rooms are ready before 3pm, we should have explained this to you and also that you can actually check in and use the hotels facilities while waiting for your room to be ready. I must also apologise for the explanation given regarding your restaurant allocation and your meals while staying with us. This is not our normal standard as you can see from previous comments and I would dearly like you to contact me personally on 015394 32244 so we can discuss your experience firsthand and hope to welcome you back to the hotel to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing