We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

As usual fantastic place, excellent food, accommodation, atmosphere. A great Xmas break with a welcome spa to burn off a few Xmas pounds.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you glad you had a great Christmas break with us hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    308
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
192
723
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed in the Ambleside Salutation hotel for two weekend nights in early September (better late than never for a review). We stayed in one of the rooms situated above the Edinburgh Woolen mill on the other side of the car park. My first impression of the room was that it was spacious and clean. It had a huge double bed, tv, kettle, wardrobe, desk, sofa and chair, coffee table and bedside tables. The bathroom was lovely - very large and clean, the shower was great and the bath had a 'jet' function which was a rather fun gimmick.

The hotel spa was great - the swimming pool, jacuzzi, outdoor hot-tub, sauna and steam room were all very well used on our stay. It's a great way to end the day when you've been out walking for 8 hours. All facilities were very clean and well maintained, including the changing room and showers (they had great showers and shower gel in there).

We had a few drinks in the bar which is very cosy (lots of huge sofas and a large open fireplace), before we went through to the restaurant. The food is a little pricey for the quality and quantity of it - expect to pay around £12 for a main meal of very basic standard. I don't recall what i ate in the restaurant, but my girlfriend ordered the curry which was not very well cooked or particularly flavoursome. The waiter was extremely friendly and helpful though.

The hotel is situated at the top of the town, with a couple of pubs, restaurants, shops (co-op, spar, bakeries) etc all within a couple of minutes walk. The hotel was easy to find (we arrived by bus from Windermere) as the town centre is quite small, and the bus stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

Don't worry if you've forgotten any of your walking gear, there are lots of shops nearby catering for that!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiebiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your review and compliments about the rooms, leisure and hotel facilities realy pleased you enjoyed them. Apologies that you were dissapointed in your eveing meal, it's area that we work hard at and normally get great feedback, pleased that our waiting staff came up to the mark, we do feel that our prices are quite competitve for the area, I do hope you will visit us again, thank you very much for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

the staff and managers have got it so right.
The service they provide is second to none.
My Partner and I stayed between on the 28th December to 31st December, The Hotel is outstanding the food is excellent, the rooms are clean.
The ambience is great and you feel so relaxed, we wished we could have stayed for New Year but had work commitments.
Cannot fault this Hotel should be 5* stayed in a lot of posh Hotels but they cannot provide the Service that this Hotel does. They should Win awards!!
Tracy Heppenstall

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Tanks so much for your review and kind comments aboiut the food facilities and ambience, New Year was great so perhaps you could stay this year! Thank you once again glad you think we are 5*!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Just returned from spending on of the best Christmases ever at The Salutation
The hotel was welcoming, cosy and warm with the most helpful and friendliest of staff.
The rooms were lovely and clean and the food was fantastic.
There was so much attention paid to detail from the room settings to the food and even the morning spent on the boat trip around the lake.
This is such a lovely family run hotel in the middle of the lakes that I would highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: It would be worth paying a little more to have one of the larger rooms if staing for 2 nights or mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thanks for the fantastic review, so pleased you had a great Christmas with us , the boat trip was as popular as ever this year its always a highlight .... along with the brandy and mulled wine!Look forward to you returning in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

For the fourth year running our stay at the Sauation was exceptional as always. We stayed in the Woodlands room which was outstanding. The food was superb, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and the whole ambience of the hotel is calming and relaxing. I cant wait for my next stay!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, Front Office Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas break with us Woodlands is provng to be a really popular room ! We have had some greayt feedback fro this year's festive programme which makes it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Super hotel right in the middle of Ambleside nice staff and excellant rooms very good facillities and the food second to none. the carpark is very secure and contrled by a in out bollard super views of the hills from most rooms at the front i was there in december so all the decorations were up it was so nice. The fact this hotel is a best western it must be one of the best i have ever stayed in it has everything.

So if you are looking for a nice place to relax while in the lakes or up on business this place meets everyones needs from familys to business men to couples on a romantic time away.

Room Tip: Anyone at the front of the hotel there are a number with small balconies which are super in the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you think we are one of the 'Best' Best Western's you have used, we will keep up the good work for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We have been staying at The Salutation in Ambleside for 10 years now. This time we stayed in one of their Club rooms which are bigger and have a seating area as well as little extras like robes, slippers and complimentary bottled water. However whenever we have stayed here our room has been very good. Since we last stayed they have made the excellent breakfast even better with even more choice on the buffet for continental breakfast whilst still cooking a full English to order if that is your preference. We have always found all the staff very helpful and the location is so conveinient for anywhere in the Lake District.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Croxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Look forward to welcoming you back for the next 10 years! Thanks for a fab review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing