We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakes Lodge(Ambleside)
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Ambleside)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wateredge Inn(Ambleside)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveller rating
950
352
67
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
950
352
67
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclub roomsteam roomoutdoor jacuzzileisure facilitieslovely hotelcold buffetspa bathlake districtcar parkthe main hotelwalk in showercooked breakfastporridgelounge arealeisure clubpower shower
Filter
Updating list...
1,195 - 1,200 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fantastic location in Ambleside. Hotel was clean and tidy, the breakfast was great too and filled us up for the day. Pool area was very impressive and you could swim lengths, then relax in one of the various steam room, jacuzzi etc. Lovely lounge area for a quiet coffee, we certainly hope to return

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the main hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, great comments abpout our pool, breakfast and facilities it makes it all worth while thanks very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nearly everything about this hotel was excelent. I refer to the breakfast in my title because it is probably the best hotel breafast I have ever had. There is a choice of just about everything one could think of from around Europe & the quality of the food was superb. The full English has everything too & is perfectly cooked, presented & served. The hotel itself is lovely too. I have been visiting Ambleside for too many years to mention. The Salutation was allowed to get a bit run down a few years ago but what a great job has been done on it now! It looks the part from the outside & inside is just as good. There is a nice little bar & Bistro with loads of seating on the ground floor. Downstairs is the gym, pool & spa, which is also excelent & free for guests. Our room was very well appointed with everything in it that you would want. It was, however, a little on the small side. It only had a double bed, rather than king size but it was exceptionally comfortable. The service we received from all the staff was excelent. Good value for money too. Not much more than the local B & B's yet with so much more to offer. I will definately make this place my first choice when staying in Ambleside again.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel overlooks the town & has the best views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thanks for your review and great comments about our breakfast... we like to make a great impression for the start of the day and our breakfast buffet and cooked selection has become very popular! We do have King size beds there are in our Club rooms either in the main hotel or in the two Lodges.We do hope to welcome you back soon to sample some more of our award winning breakfast, your comments are very much appreciated .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for the first couple of nights of the half term break. Excellent location and superb value for money!! Staff were very approachable and helpful and flexible to our needs. Food was great - breakfast is a must and is so tasty!! The leisure club is good as well and my daughters lover the pool and outside hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are a bonus as you can sit outside and admire the scenery
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezza1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great location, super hotel, friendly staff, lovely pool and spa, excellent breakfast, in fact one of the best. Great place, will definitely stay there again. If you get booked early enough there is 20% off the prices, worth every penny. Great for children too.

Room Tip: 114 - first floor with own terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, Public Relations Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Glad you had a great break with us, thanks for the comments we are really pleased with the Spa facilities and think its a real bonus for the hotel, don't forget the Early Bird offers book well in advance and get up to 30% discount! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our third stay at the Salutation for a winter break walking in the Lakes. This time we took our dog and the staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and understood the requirements of guests with dogs.
The staff are a real strength of this hotel and make guests feel special.
There is a lot of lounge space in a series of cosy rooms that give the guests a chance to sit quietly and chat the evening away. We had B&B and the the breakfast kept us going for a day's walking. There are many good walks within a short drive and, although located in the centre of Ambleside, some walks start right behind the hotel car park.

Room Tip: Join the hotel's Westmorland club.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaMike520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you we like to keep our four legged friends (and their owners !) happy! Great comments about our staff we are always lucky to have such a good team and so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and our award winning breakfast... we will keep you up to date with all our great Westmorland Club offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews