We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,403)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveller rating
947
352
67
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
947
352
67
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclub roomsteam roomoutdoor jacuzzileisure facilitieslovely hotelcold buffetspa bathlake districtcar parkthe main hotelwalk in showercooked breakfastporridgelounge arealeisure clubpower shower
Filter
Updating list...
1,094 - 1,099 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had a club room in one of the outbuildings which was large, modern and comfortable. Combined with the well-equipped spa and good breakfast, this made for a good holiday, and we would certainly return.

Less good was the barely-sufficient parking stuck in odd corners. We were also disappointed in the evening meal which did not live up to the expectations set by the menu.

Room Tip: Go for one of the outbuildings to get a modern room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Hotel_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your kind conments about our Club rooms, Spa and breakfast.We are alays on hand to help out with car parking and we do have enough spaces for every room . I was dissapointed to read your cooments about our food and menu we have launched a new evening menu and I am so sorry that it didn't come up to the mark during your stay, I will look into that.Many thanks your feedback is most important to us I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Really surprised this is only a 3 star.

We had a room in the Wansfell Lodge annexe.
Modern and comfortable.

The pool, sauna and hot tub are great.
The restaurant serves good food. Hotel prices obviously.

The room was cleaned promptly while we were at breakfast every day.

good central location in the town

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveboxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Many thanks for your great comments so pleased you enjoyed our Wansfell room it s a great room with a great view over the town.Thank you for your comments about our breakfast, lesuire facilities, food and central location. So pleased you will be back to visit us, and thanks for the better than a 3 star title, made my day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just stayed here on our first wedding anniversary! Really friendly hotel in a great location, a great base for a lake district stay. We stayed in the Helvellyn room, which is a new addition....What a room! I thought this room was very thoughtfully designed and decorated, with an amazing bathroom.

Staff were very friendly and attentive and we would stay again. I must also add that the spa and gym facilities are worth the visit alone!

Happy.

Room Tip: Helvellyn room all the way.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Firstly congratulations on your first wedding anniversary, so pleased you were able to stay with us to celebrate. Thank you for your great review, I agree Helvellyn is an amazing new room withn lots of added features and a fabulous bathroom, we have to thank Geoff the owner of the hotel for this one, his desgins skills were on overdrive creating this room! Pleased you enjoyd the Spa facilities and many thanks for the comments about our staff, they are a great team, look forward to welcoming you back to stay in Helvellyn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just had two great nights at this hotel, idealy situated in Ambleside lake district.
We had booked a club room but on arrival we decided to ask for an upgrade as the room we were alocated didnt live up to what we expected. So we were given the woodlands room outside the hotel and it was way above the other hotel rooms. Delux room with all mod cons, if you stay here just ask for the woodlands room.
Hotel decor was lovley very friendly staff, spa facilities were excellant along with the gym, swiming pool, two saunas, and outside hot tub.
Breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice. Restaurant food needed to be more up to date but all in all a great hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are lodge rooms or the woodlands, always ask for an upgrade if not happy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikinunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Tank you very much for your review, I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in 'Woodlands'.It's a great room with a little touch of luxury and a fab view over the town!Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff, great breakfast and Spa facilities- a great place for an indulgent pamper or chill out in the hot tub.Thanks for your feed back about our Restaurant food, we are days away from launching a new menu which will eventually be served through out the hotel.I hope you can re visit soon to try our new dishes, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have to preface the title by saying that we had originally booked for one night, on our way to the north of Scotland, and suddenly wanted to stay a second night - the room availabilty was thus compromised, which meant that we each had separate Club rooms, but the hotel generously waived the single supplement on one night - it was still, however, quite expensive when compared with the next hotel we visited, and this was a BW Plus hotel.

My main criticism was car-parking. The hotel is situated at the top of a hill in a busy one-way system - when you're almost upon it, you have to turn sharp left, and take a ticket, which then allows a vertical bollard to fall, allowing access to the site. Parking is free, and you merely keep the ticket and swap it for a token to lower the bollard when you want to leave.

However, once within the compound, there are clearly a couple of outside car parks, which you could use, but because of the premium nature of space, some of the spaces are not generous, and if you drive too far in to a car park, and then find it full, backing is not that easy, as invariably there will be another vehicle at your rear. When we arrived and found what seemed to be the main car park full, another guest kindly shouted out that we could use an internal park just below where we were. This we did, although it didn't say that it was for hotel guests' use. Because of the difficulty I felt in parking, I left my car there the second day and used the bus! Unfortunately, Dad (92) had then to stay in the hotel because it's a good way down to the town to catch a bus, even though you then realise that it can stop almost outside the hotel.

When we checked out, and mentioned our difficulty in parking, we were told that in fact there is at least one space for every guest's car. My response was: 'Then parking areas which don't appear to belong to the hotel' should be more clearly marked!'

However, the most bizarre thing about the hotel is that, given it is not that new a building, all the corridors upstairs are filled up with arm chairs, cupboards, sideboards outside the rooms. It looks as if the whole of the ground floor and lounge was refurbished, and, rather than throw away the old stuff, it was strewn along the corridors upstairs. It makes the corridors narrow, especially when pulling two cases along, must be a fire hazard - I have yet to check with the local Fire Officer about this, and would be a nightmare for a partially-sighted, or worse, blind guest. Also, as the housekeeping staff say there is nowhere to store things, it makes you wonder why it litters the corridors.

I
However, the hotel has a great little lift - one of its best features - the food is pretty good, and the service in the restaurant from the two guys very good - one of the other girls appeared monosyllabic - and with a Cumbrian accent!

Room Tip: Our two rooms (117 and 221) were actually directly above each other, and connected by a steep, winding staircase. However, to reach these rooms from the lift, individually, was a long walk, along the furniture-strewn corridors
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolksby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews