We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just returned from another jazz break at The Salutation. Once again it did not disappoint. The staff, as always, were very pleasant and nothing seemed to be a problem for them. Many of the staff have been there for a number of years and you are always made to feel very welcome.
I am already looking forward to my next visit in October.
Well done The Salutation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dycer128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Many thanks for your review, so pleased you had 'another great break' and enjoyed the Jazz it's always very poular. We are very luck to have such great staff with the majority being with us for many years and quite a few of us old timers (myself & Sue included) being in it for the long haul for the full 25 years.... we must be doing something right! Looking forward to welcoming you back once again for another foot tapping Jazz break, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have stayed here before and not been disappointed. This time, I was in an upgraded room in the lodge. It was clean, modern and spacious and was used as our meeting room before we went into town. A brilliant extra is the free ice machine in the bar area.
The spa is excellent with a warm swimming pool and excellent hot tub, sauna and jacuzzi.
The breakfast is brilliant with cheerful service and a great choice.
The front of house staff are lovely and very helpful even when one of our party locked himself out of his room three times!
The hotel is perfectly located for walking and is an ideal base for going out in the town.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Many thanks for your great review and kind comments, so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and that we ticked all the boxes! Glad you like the ice machine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I recently visited this hotel with my daughter and stayed in one of the lodges.
It was a lovely break and fully met our expectations in all ways.
The staff at this hotel go out of their way to be friendly and helpful.
We were met on arrival and helped to find a car park space ,then allocated our room.
We stayed in one of the new upgraded rooms approached from outside of the main hotel.
We wondered at first whether or not this would feel as if we were not staying in the hotel! We needn't have worried. It was lovely.We also made full use of the indoor leisure facilities and the hotel restaurant and Bistro.
We also used the Beauty salon attached to the hotel. This was good too, very relaxing and reasonably priced,with very attentive,caring staff.
The meals were wonderful. A varied and plentiful selection of hot food served with a smile.
Breakfasts were a real treat . The selection of food was amazing. The portions too, were very generous. Even possible to order double sized cooked breakfasts!!!
Only wished we could have stayed longer.
After our four days here we moved onto another hotel( rated 4*higher! ). I know which one we will
be back to though! Without a doubt, the Salutation.

Room Tip: Higher floors if you are concerned about the view. We were not as this hotel is in the centre of Amb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneB506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review and I am so pleased we lived up to your expertations and then some! It is really great to get your feedback and reviews like yours make it all worth while. We are so lucky with our fantastic helpful staff, blessed with a great location and facilities, so pleased you liked our Club Lodge rooms they really are popular and you still feel part of the main hotel.Look forward to welcoming you back soon .... perhaps you will be tempted to try a double grill on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just spent the night at this hotel, we arrived at just before midday but the receptionist checked if our room was ready and as it was we were allowed to check in early.
This meant we could get changed into our walking stuff and make the most of a lovely sunny afternoon.
On our return we made full use of the leisure club to relax, especially in the hot tub.
We ate out in the evening at "The Priest Hole" 200 yds away and had a great meal so we cant say what the hotel evening meals were like.
However after a good night sleeps in our rooms massive bed we had a very good full English breakfast.
We found the hotel to be just right, very clean, with pleasant staff and well situated in the heart of Ambleside.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave664_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Many thanks for your great review about our facilities location pleasent staff and our breakfast.Pleased we were able to get your room ready a little earlier for you so you could enjoy some Lakeland sun on your walk, hopefully we can arrange for more of the same for your next visit, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely location lovely views nice hotel ok staff, good food, if you stop here ask for a room at the front of the hotel. You get a balcony even if its cold it's nice to have a cup of tea, and look out at the Views, The spa is very clean and a treat to use after a long walk. Down side was some off the staff, not one ask if we enjoyed our stay or even said good bye see you again nothing, shame really, but would not put us off going again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ste s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for posting your kind comments about the hotel Spa our and our Club rooms. I agree the Spa is a great way to relax after a hard day on the fells... the hot tub is a must! I was disapointed to read your comments about our staff and apologise that you felt we did not come up to the mark on this occasion. We do have fantastic reviews about our staff and how friendly and helpfull they all are I am sorry that you felt this was not the case on this visit. I do hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and once again accept my sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have had several short breaks at this Hotel and have never been disappointed. Some rooms are small, but we tried an upgrade and the room was excellent in comfort and facilities. The breakfast is perhaps the star feature! Excellent choice and generous proportions - what more could you want? The Hotel is very clean and comfortable and always warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, it is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the hotel and its facilities. So pleased you liked our Club rooms and our breakfast, we have worked really hard on the presentation and the selection of dishes we offer.Glad we never disapoint you and look forward to your return your feedback and coments make it all worth while, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We were a bit apprehensive booking this hotel, as we normally book 4* plus. I have to say, what value for money. The leisure facilities were fantastic. Shame the steam room was out of order , but the outside hot tub made up for it! The rooms are a little small , but again it did not take anything away from our stay. The breakfast , well don't know what to say but FANTASTIC , you did not want for anything. The only thing We were disappointed with was the evening meal in the restaurant, but I think with having such a fantastic time we expected perfection !!! Look forward to going back ...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and great comments about our hotel epecially our leisure and breakfast's. Apologies for the steam room being out of order we are having a few tecnical isues withy it but hopefully they will be resolved.I look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £116 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing