We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is wonderful place to stay. The breakfast is superb, the dinner excellent. The rooms was large and very comfortable, the views beautiful. We had a club room with a Jacuzzi bath, used the swimming pool daily. Our family room had a proper extra bed, not a rollaway. By booking ahead, we got a 25% discount. Location is so central and with free parking. All so relaxing. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review, so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our superb 'Early Bird' offer. We are so lucky to have such a great location with fabulous views from our door step. Glad you enjoyed your relaxing break and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Our room was just amazing - spotlessly clean, quality furnishings, with a comfortable bed and a great bathroom. What made it so special though, was the view from our balcony across Ambleside and the hills beyond and our very own hot tub! We just couldn't believe our luck! The breakfasts were superb and as always the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Very relaxing spa facilities at this hotel as well, which are most welcoming after a full day's walking in the hills. Overall a superb hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for a great review and compliments about our rooms, staff, breakfast, facilities and spa. We are so lucky to have such great views from our door step and the added bonus of the hot tub on the balcony is sheer bliss- glad you were able to enjoy the views and the tub! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Salutation is a blissful escape. Warm (against the November chills), efficiently run by calm, helpful staff.
The highlight is breakfast. What a spread! It is a challenge to the memory trying to remember everything on offer, but as well as a very ample cooked full English, there is a choice of cereal , fruit, youghurt, etc
and another table piled high with bread, croissants and so on.
Rooms vary in size, amenity and views. Our room this time was a little on the cramped side.
Excellent bathroom with jacuzzi--type bath. We did not use the spa facilities this trip, but lovely to know they are available.
Ambleside itself is always a pleasure. Even on a damp November Monday, it is till charming. I am going back soon.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review and your kind comments especially about our breakfast set up, staff and leisure. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - if only we could sort out the November weather! but Ambleside it's self is a pleasure whatever the weather and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Overall fantastic stay , the only negative was the evening meal on our last night .. a little let down on both service and meal

Great welcome at reception , very efficient .. loved the room [Rydal] a little small , but the veranda and view looking across the Village to the mountains more than made up for it, was very cold during our stay but the room temperature was always warm and cosy.

The Hotel itself was lovely , looks as if newly decorated .. plenty of comfy sofa's and flame effect gas fires dotted about the bar / seating areas .

When we do manage to get away for much needed breaks , generally take a bottle of Champagne /Prosecco with us for the room ... there's a little self serve area by the bar where you can pick up ice / ice buckets and glasses..thought this was a great idea .

Breakfast was one of the best, couldn't fault the cooked breakfast for size or quality .. but really enjoyed the baked ham cold, cheeses, fresh fruit salad, smoothy, figs&apricots marinated in syrup & star anise at the cold buffet .. and of course the home made banana and fruit breads at the bakery section ... try a toasted bagel with the cream cheese & figs ... amazing , you can be as unhealthy ... or as healthy as you like.

The spa was a big hit used several times during our stay , never crowded .. the route to the changing room and pool was lit up by little blue ducks [nice touch] , both the sauna and steam room temperatures just right and the tropical shower / mist was really refreshing .. much better than being doused with cold water .. another nice touch was the Canadian hot tub ... total luxury

We have stayed at many hotels .. both pleasure and business , use the Hilton hotel chain and various others a lot , I can honestly say the spa and breakfast at this hotel has the edge .. it's the little touches that make a difference

We will be booking up for next year Birthday celebrations with family and friends soon

Room Tip: The Rydal room is idea for mountain / village views & also has a very handy balcony if smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeanieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, your feed back is important to us. I was very pleased that overall you had a fantastic stay with us and your compliments about our Reception staff, breakfast and Spa are much appreciated. We have worked hard on the breakfast set up which seems to be a hit with our guest's. The hot tub is a great place to chill after a day on the fells and I agree its a touch of luxury.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with our service and your meal on the last night of your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for this, we do pride ourselves on our friendly staff and our food, sadly on this occasion we did not come up to the mark for you . If you could contact me direct at the hotel I would like to have the chance to speak to you in more detail about your evening. I look forward to being able to welcome you back soon, please contact me so I can organise your booking your you. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We returned for dinner this time as we couldnt stay at the hotel - they couldn't accomodate us on the dates so we stayed in the best western in kendal.

Dinner was great again - a little bit pricey on the food but it was our favourite hotel and thought we'd treat my gran as it was her 74th Birthday that evening.

Staff seemed a little to robotic this time, last time when we stayed in April it seemed that they actually wanted to have a conversation and were genuienly interested. This time it just seemed like they were going throught the motions. not nice when there are 6 of you dining and paying near enough to £200 you expect better service.

We will be back next year as we love the hotel, but sadly wont be dining in the restaurant again....no offense but there are other restaurants we'd like to try as well. Oh and also because we just love your canadian hot tub - the castle green hotel in kendal dont have one - boo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sugarlover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review, I'm very pleased that you loved the hotel, its location and of course the hot tub!

I was disappointed to read that you felt our food was a little pricey and that we had let you down on the service with our staff. We do have a great team and as you can see from other reviews our friendly attentive staff are mentioned in most reviews. Please accept my sincere apologies for this and if you could contact me direct at the hotel I would like the chance to discuss this with you in more detail. I do hope I will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed here very regularly over the past 4 years whilst working in the area and have spent 2 nights here too with my girlfriend. I can honetsly say it's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
I work away from home a lot and have had the displeasure of staying in many hotels that claim to be 4-5 star and have also traveled extensively throughout the world and stayed at many "top" hotels. I can't help but use The Salutation as a benchmark to judge other hotels on as it's simply fantastic!
The service is first class, the rooms are comfortable and well furnished, the gym and leisure facilities are more than adequate and the breakfast is one of the best I have ever came across.
If you are going anywhere near the Lake District then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemonasterix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

'One of the best' - wow thank you delighted to read your review and your comments are really appreciated . So pleased we ticked all the boxes for you and that you think we are one of the best, comments like yours really do make it all worth while- thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank wasdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £96 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing