We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa facilities absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spa facilities absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We came to the salutation spa as part of our trip to Ambleside, it was absolutely perfect. Nowhere would have been better. The hot tub was the highlight and the jacuzzi and pool were fantastic. The steam room, sauna and rainfall shower were all closed the day we visited but this did not take away from our day and it remained perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VicksTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review, I agree the hot tub is a must! Our Spa facilities have really been a major addition to the hotel and it sounds like you had a great day, despite the sauna and steam room out of action. Please accept my sincere apologies for that- all up and running now. Hope you can call in on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    308
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
192
723
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Visited in first week of January and whilst quiet the service and food reached the same high standards of the pervious year. Location is excellent, good menu selection and reasonably priced. Worth a visit

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GTFC60GrimsbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our restaurant No 1 Lake Road is really taking off thanks to the new entrance and menu, pleased we are maintaining our high standards from your previous trip. We are so lucky with our location - so central, hope you can call in for a meal soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Visited in the worst snow of the year and the hotel did everything to make our stay comfortable and amazing! Leisure facilities top-notch and restaurant amazing.
We received a free room upgrade and would really recommend staying in the lodges outside the hotel they are beautiful and give some privacy. Will be back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophieeh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review, your comments about our leisure and restaurant are great! So pleased you enjoyed your stay snow and all! Glad you like the Lodges I agree they do offer a bit more privacy - so pleased you think we were fantastic in every way it means a lot. Hurry back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time myself and my other half have stayed at the ambleside salutation and it did not disappoint. Staff always have a smile and a very helpful and friendly. Lovely surroundings, brilliant hotel and all together a lovely stay again. The only niggle that I had was the ceiling / floor was slightly thin and we could here the guests above us walking and talking. Never mind we still had a lovely stay and will be returning again next year if not sooner. Thank you again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RattyB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and birthday celebrations . Your compliments about our food, facilities, friendly staff are really very much appreciated. I'm so pleased you had a lovely stay. Will look into the sound proofing- the buildings date back to the 16th century so perhaps we need to re vamp the floor boards! Look forward to welcoming back really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Sitting in one of the comfort able seating areas at the salutation is just one of the best experiences a hotel can offer.
We were here again this time to celebrate my Fiancé s birthday. We were given an upgrade as soon as we arrived- what a pleasant surprise. The room was immaculate having a lovely big bathroom and power shower!.
Evening meal was delicious and breakfast was beautifully cooked. The selection is always varied and well presented.
A loyalty card is given if you return and we had a discount of £10 on our evening meal.
We will be back again very soon. Just love this hotel. Thanks to all for making our stay so memorable :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for a great review and your comments about the room, evening meal and breakfast. So pleased we were able to be part of the birthday celebrations, we look forward to your next visit thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband & I have just had a 3 night midweek break to celebrate my birthday. We stayed in the Rothay Room on this occasion and we were certainly not disappointed. Beautiful furnishings in warm contemporary purple plaid, giving a sumptuous & cosy feel. In my opinion the highlight of this room is your very own private hot tub which is situated through a large picture window on your balcony. Pure indulgence at its best with stunning views of the fells. The bathroom has a lovely jacuzzi bath & large open shower, spotlessly clean & gleaming chrome everywhere. Fresh quality towels & bath robes just top off these wonderful facilities. If a tv is an important feature in your room of choice you certainly won't be disappointed. Also the usual tea & coffee making facilities, along with a mini fridge & complimentary bottled water. We are really looking forward to staying at the Salutation again & would highly recommend this 'jewel of a hotel' to any Lake District visitor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review, so pleased you like our Lakeland Rooms and Rothay is certainly one of the popular ones and as you say your own private hot tub is pure indulgence! We have put a lot of thought in to the room with the décor , furnishings, facilities and finishing touches its good to know they are appreciated. I do hope we can top this on your third stay with us - looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed for new year 2013 at this hotel. Our stay was wonderful. We were in a group of 6 friends. Room 201 was our room. Lovely view. Nice room. The bathroom was on the small side but the whirlpool bath more than made up for it. We stayed 3 nights. The gifts on new years eve during the day, that were left in our room were a lovely touch. All meals were faultless. Staff were lovely and friendly. The hotel was very clean. Fireworks at midnight. On the downside we found having a caberet act on, actually during new years eve meal, was too loud and we couldnt speak to each around the table. Maybe background music until after the meal was over and then the caberet would have been more acceptable. This would not put me off booking again though. The staff that served the meals were professional and friendly. The spa facilities are very good. All in all we had a fabulous time and thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emlenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for a great review, so pleased you had a fabulous New Year with us, the hotel package went well and we have had lots of great comments. Will take on board your comments about the singer during dinner, we are in the process of putting together our programme for 2014/15 so I will bear that in mind. Your feed back is really important to us and your compliments about your stay really do make it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing