We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Been going there for many years and will continue to do so. All the staff (and Geoff, the owner) are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is "award winning" and you should follow it with a long walk. Always have the same room.

Room Tip: Front are best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments its always good to hear from our regular guest's- makes it all worth while. Your compliments about our great team and of course our leader Geoff are much appreciated , I agree after a full 'award winning' breakfast a long walk should be on the cards. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

The staff where excellent, the bedroom was very nicely decorated, the food was excellent, the lounge areas were a joy to sit in and to top it all the decafe coffee was fresh. We also used the swimming pool and thought that it was an excellent facility including good showers. A weekend visit which was superb in every way. We hope to come again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibleydibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you so much for a great review pleased you had a superb weekend with us, look forward to having the chance to look after you again soon- glad you enjoyed the decaff too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
4  Thank Emlyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We came to the salutation spa as part of our trip to Ambleside, it was absolutely perfect. Nowhere would have been better. The hot tub was the highlight and the jacuzzi and pool were fantastic. The steam room, sauna and rainfall shower were all closed the day we visited but this did not take away from our day and it remained perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank VicksTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review, I agree the hot tub is a must! Our Spa facilities have really been a major addition to the hotel and it sounds like you had a great day, despite the sauna and steam room out of action. Please accept my sincere apologies for that- all up and running now. Hope you can call in on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Visited in first week of January and whilst quiet the service and food reached the same high standards of the pervious year. Location is excellent, good menu selection and reasonably priced. Worth a visit

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GTFC60GrimsbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review and kind comments about our restaurant No 1 Lake Road is really taking off thanks to the new entrance and menu, pleased we are maintaining our high standards from your previous trip. We are so lucky with our location - so central, hope you can call in for a meal soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Visited in the worst snow of the year and the hotel did everything to make our stay comfortable and amazing! Leisure facilities top-notch and restaurant amazing.
We received a free room upgrade and would really recommend staying in the lodges outside the hotel they are beautiful and give some privacy. Will be back!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophieeh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review, your comments about our leisure and restaurant are great! So pleased you enjoyed your stay snow and all! Glad you like the Lodges I agree they do offer a bit more privacy - so pleased you think we were fantastic in every way it means a lot. Hurry back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time myself and my other half have stayed at the ambleside salutation and it did not disappoint. Staff always have a smile and a very helpful and friendly. Lovely surroundings, brilliant hotel and all together a lovely stay again. The only niggle that I had was the ceiling / floor was slightly thin and we could here the guests above us walking and talking. Never mind we still had a lovely stay and will be returning again next year if not sooner. Thank you again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RattyB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and birthday celebrations . Your compliments about our food, facilities, friendly staff are really very much appreciated. I'm so pleased you had a lovely stay. Will look into the sound proofing- the buildings date back to the 16th century so perhaps we need to re vamp the floor boards! Look forward to welcoming back really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £105 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing