We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST in the lakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Fylde coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST in the lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have stayed at The Salutation on many occassions and value for money for what is on offer gets better on each visit.The management are always re-investing improving rooms, decor-even a new reception area this time. The staff are lovely,the bar area is relaxed but fitted out to a very high standard,the restaurant is excellent and the pool/leisure area is top quality. The bedrooms are spacious and have everything you need for a great break. It's location is very central with 5/6 pubs all within 5 mins walk. All in all- get me back there !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigga36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review its great to hear from returning guest's, sounds like we ticked all the boxes! We do believe in re investing in the product and we are always busy with something, pleased you like the new Reception desk- its a lot better for both staff and guest's.
Your kind comments do make it all worth while and we can't wait to get you back here again soon too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    308
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
192
723
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hull UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our third time of staying here and again we could not fault anything with the hotel. We only stayed one night due to when husband tried to book for the Friday it was fully booked so had to settle for just the Saturday night. Reception staff very welcoming. Room was a classic one and although looking a little tired it was nice and clean, the bathroom was a nice size. Plenty of hot water and such a powerful shower. Food on the evening was again to the standard we have become accustomed to and I had the roast chicken and wish it said on the menu that it was half a chicken, it was so huge that I couldnt finish the meal and had to ask if we could wait for 15 minutes for the dessert, this was no problem to the staff. Breakfast again is lovely and the best we have had in any of the hotels we have stayed in, such a good selection of fruits, breads etc. My husband loves the tea bread that is out at breakfast. Lots of seats in the bar area, very relaxing sat having a drink in here. Once again I cannot comment on the spa as we didnt use this but we are going to make sure that the next time we come we will get to go in the pool. I would always recommend staying here as its such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments about the hotel's breakfast, food, staff and facilities. We are in the process of a refurb programme to re vamp and update the décor, soft furnishings and furniture in the rooms and the ones we have completed are looking very nice indeed! Glad your husband enjoys the homemade tea bread at breakfast I agree its very nice! Only sorry we could only offer the one night, hopefully next time you can stay longer and try out the leisure and Spa too, thanks you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a night for his birthday. Stayed in the Helvellyn room.. Fantastic! Clean and spacious. HUGE bath, excellent shower, very comfortable bed. Bathrobes and slippers, toiletries, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities all included. Staff were very helpful. Gym is great. Steam room and sauna were lovely! Stayed at Slaley Hall recently, but the Salution was FAR better. Already booked to go back, trying the Woodlands room next time! And recommended Helvellyn to our friends who are joining us. Would love to try the Rothay room but unfortunately it was fully booked at the time we wanted to return, but we will definitely be booking it in the future! :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for a great review, so pleased you liked the Helvellyn Room. Our Lakeland Rooms are proving very popular with guest's , it looks like you are getting round to trying all of them! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just returned from the Salutaion hotel,could not fault this hotel. The spa was great so relaxing.
Our room was lovely spotless,shower, jaquzzi in our room tv coffee making facilities. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. the bar area is really nice and comfortable with flame fires, could of sat there all day reading. We had bar food for lunch which was very nice and good prices,the evening meal was lovely.
Start the day with breakfast you have so much choice. We have been to many hotels some being 4* but they are not as good as this hotel which in my opinion should be 4* been this hotel a few times and will be returning.

Room Tip: This time we upgraded to the Rothay room with a hot tub on the balcony. Luxury, we have staed in oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review and compliments about the hotel, Spa, food , facilities and staff (we are lucky to have such a friendly and helpful bunch!). So pleased you think we should be four star- a great compliment indeed! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked on the strength of good reviews and were not disappointed - it was hard to fault - friendly local staff - a wonderful relaxed feel - a great spa and excellent breakfasts - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments I am delighted we exceeded your expectations and you will definitely be back , we look forward to welcoming you back, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This is the first review I have ever submitted to trip advisor, but felt compelled to do so due to the appalling service and food at this establishment. My husband called in for lunch on a Saturday. I only wish that I had taken a photo to upload of the "jacket potato" that we paid £5.25 for each, It was microwaved, the size of a medium new potato and came with approximately twenty grated strands of "mature cheddar" cheese! (Which was more like tesco value mild rubber cheese which was all I could afford when a poor student at university!) My husband managed to find approximately ten dried baked beans on his! No salad garnish, poor service, and overall somewhere most definitely to be avoided!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am extremely sorry that we have fallen short of the mark with our food and service when you called in for lunch. We have a great friendly team of staff and as you can see from other reviews great comments about our food. Please accept my sincere apologies as I feel on this occasion we have let you down and this is not our normal standard. I really would like to discuss this with you in more detail, perhaps you could contact me direct at the hotel, your feed back is so important to us especially when things haven't gone to or normal standard I look forward to having the opportunity to speak to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Been going there for many years and will continue to do so. All the staff (and Geoff, the owner) are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is "award winning" and you should follow it with a long walk. Always have the same room.

Room Tip: Front are best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments its always good to hear from our regular guest's- makes it all worth while. Your compliments about our great team and of course our leader Geoff are much appreciated , I agree after a full 'award winning' breakfast a long walk should be on the cards. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing