We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brasserie has scope for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Bala, North Wales
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Brasserie has scope for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had dinner in the Brasserie of the Salutation on a walking trip to the Lakes. I think this is the hotel dinning room re-branded. The service was good, food good and not too expensive. We were unable to order and Americano coffee as the waiter couldn't find it on his hand-held terminal. Instead we had regular coffee which was poor - very weak. A helpful waitress changed the coffee for a Cafetiere which was much better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker-paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your meal in our Brasserie. We have re vamped the eating area with the addition of a new part with a separate entrance on the front of the hotel, so that people can enter direct from the street, we have a new menu in there too which is proving popular with guest's. I am sorry our waiter was unable to locate the exact coffee you wanted on our hand held system, this error has been rectified and I'm sorry you found the other coffee weak. Our Cafetiere coffee is ground to order using Farrer's coffee beans a local Kendal supplier, I'm pleased you enjoyed it. I hope we will the pleasure of you dinning with us again, your feedback is very important to us we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    312
    62
    19
    11
See reviews for
197
733
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is my 2nd trip to this hotel, and its didnt disappoint!

I stayed in the Rothay Suite, which is amazing! Excellent fell views, excellent deco, high standard, walk in shower, added bonus of a fridge! Overlooks the shopping centre, although not spoiled with noise or anything like that!

Didnt experiecne the service/staff at the hotel as I was room bound due to the amount of work i had, but im sure everything would of been okay! Girl on reception was polite, well dressed etc!

Loved my stay, shame it was just for the one night!

I will deffo be back.

Thank You

Room Tip: Rothay a MUST !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you were impressed by our Rothay room, if you had to be room bound by work at least you have the excellent fell views from Rothay to keep you going. Hopefully you will be able to return soon for a leisure visit and experience our facilities a little longer - the hot tub is a must! I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and at different times of the year. Each time the rooms, service and food have been super. Free parking! Use of swimming pool, steam room etc... so relaxing! Breakfasts plentiful and tasty. Room very clean and comfortable, slept really well. Its central location makes it even more attractive... cant wait to visit again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for such a 'super' review, delighted you enjoyed your stay, sounds like we ticked all the boxes for you. Can't wait for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Warm, inviting hotel in a perfect location in Ambleside with superb leisure facilities, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. We stayed in a newly refurbished room which was beautifully done. Whilst we like to be part of the main hotel, the room was so quiet we had the best night's sleep in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank lornat583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our location (lucky to have everything on our door step) leisure, rooms, and our great staff. So pleased you enjoyed your stay, our Lodge rooms are very peaceful. Hope to welcome you back soon for another good nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Salutation Hotel. After taking the scenic route (sat nav) we arrived at 19.30. No problem with parking. Check in was very fast a efficient. The room was great, so comfy bed & pillows, flat screen tv, drink making facility etc.The bathroom was superb. Big power shower, Jacuzzi bath all finished of to a high standard. Paper delivered to your door every morning free of charge. We had drinks in the bar the first night with other members of our corporate party. (38 off us) Good atmosphere in the bar, not expensive.
We where a little late going into the restaurant and it had closed, however the maître d who was front of house organized some food for us and it was great. This gentlemen was such a great help all off our stay and an asset to the hotel. I did not catch his name. The next morning we went down for breakfast, "wow" anything and everything. That day we went on a 4x4 day with local company "KANKU" not to be missed. If you want to see the lakes, go and do this....not for the faint hearted, but some great views and scenery. After a busy day we all had a meal which we had pre-ordered. It was really nice and the service was great. This hotel makes you feel welcome and oozes quality without being snobby. If we went to the lakes again I would go straight here and not look any where else.
Im struggling for any negatives.......but to be very harsh.....maybe some background music in the bar.......and a rotating toaster at breakfast, but that is being very Fussey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveNicoCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind compliments about the hotel, our great staff, facilities, service, rooms, food and our breakfast's. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to look after you all so well. We are lucky that we have returning guest's time and time again, which I think is due to our fabulous staff, facilities and welcoming feel the hotel gives, I'm so pleased you enjoyed this. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Went for a short break with my wife for the first time to this hotel. The place was very warm and friendly. The staff were very good nothing was too much trouble. The room was of real quality (Woodlands) although if I am honest I do like to be in the main hotel and not across the road (Not far but having to put a top coat on to go for a meal or drink). Main hotel next time.
The food was very good and plenty of it.
A nice break for the wife and I.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakHgte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review and your kind comments about the hotel and our great team of staff - we are very lucky to have such a brilliant bunch. Glad you enjoyed the Woodlands room, its proving to be very popular, we do have other Lakeland rooms in the main hotel that you could try on your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

It is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location and very friendly and cosy. Best breakfasts!!
Rooms well appointed and staff cannot do enough to help. It charges 4* prices because it is a 4* facility.
Would return.
The food in the restaurant is ok, and the fish plate starter was a bit dry on the a la carte, and the lamb shoulder main was disappointing but the hotel itself is really well run.

Room Tip: dont eat the lamb main
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitricoxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our hotel, facilities, staff, location and breakfast. We are very lucky to be in such a good location with everything on our door step. I was sorry to read you were disappointed with the meal you had with us, please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your meal with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on another visit and that you will let us rectify your dinning experience with us. So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us even if I say so my self we feel it is one of the best breakfast's in the Lakes. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing