We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights while walking in the Lakes. Good, clean, well maintained hotel to an excellent standard. Great breakfast, helpful staff! Excellent pool and hot tub. The location is excellent. This was just the ticket. Book the Thai Restaurant next door for supper!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our breakfast, location, great staff and excellent standards- all very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your walking break with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    308
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
192
721
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hull UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from our 4th visit to the Salutation Hotel and spent 3 nights here. Our room 116 was so nice.It had a small balcony and views of the mountains. The bathroom was a nice surprise as this one had a walk in shower as well as the spa bath. The towels are lovely and soft and big enough to wrap around you, not like some other hotels you go to. Plenty of hot water no matter what time of the day you needed it. The bed was massive and very comfy that I didnt want to get up in the mornings. The room was very clean and everyday the towels were changed even though we had hung them back on the rail to dry. Tea and coffee replenished every day. On arriving at the hotel the staff were friendly and polite asking how our journey had been. Food was as good as I remembered from our last visit and the breakfast is still the best I have ever had in a hotel. Plenty of choice and cooked to order, on our last day, my husband ordered the omelette and he said how lovely it was. All the staff are polite and very helpful. After our evening meal it was nice to sit in the lounge with a drink and be able to relax. We had an Irish coffee one night and the little biscuit that it came with was so tasty, I wanted to eat my husbands. This time we managed to try out the pool etc and we wished we had used it before this weekend. How refreshing to sit in the hot tub when it is raining! We had a look at the gym and my husband has informed me the next time we stay at the Salutation we are taking our gym kits. I am now looking forward to the next time we come and stay. My husband tried the banana bread this time and liked it but his favourite is still the tea bread.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
What a fantastic review thank you so much, so pleased you enjoyed your stay in 116- its a great room. All your kind compliments and comments are very much appreciated and I'm delighted you think we are a great hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back for more home made Banana and Tea Bread and I agree the hot tub is a must and even more refreshing when its raining - thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
383 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I was here three nights. My room was just above the entrance and had a balcony and a view of some of the town. It was very well organized, though small, with a comfortable bed and good linens. Towels were good, as were the amenities. Free, good wifi. No safe, no minibar. The shower was really, really good: warm and a terrific flow of water; better than a rainshower showerhead I thought. The shower enclosure was like a glass maze where I sort of walked around a corner to get to it. It never wet the floor. The bathroom sink was a bit small. TV choices were good. Breakfast was served in a nice room and was very good. Service and staff were excellent. Very friendly, helpful, efficient. Various aspects of the hotel and its notices made their hospitality as well as concern for the environment apparent. This is the biggest hotel in Ambleside, but not "big" by any means. Free parking. If up in this area again, I would seriously think about Ambleside, and if I went there, I'd stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank busyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review about our hotel . Your kind comments about our service, facilities, hospitality and green friendliness are much appreciated - we try to our part for the environment. We are looking at the possibility of putting a safe in the rooms as an addition - no mini bars I'm afraid but you can by chilled drinks in our vending machine by the bar. Thank you once again your feed back really does make it all worth while, look forward to looking after you when you visit Ambleside again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

However the gym is very very compact
And excellent food however not having proper chips is a big let down for us
And make sure you pre book for a massage ect
Very close to the main town so easy walking
The staff was outstanding
And helpful


  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the hotel, our helpful staff, location and excellent food despite the lack of proper chips - we will look into that for you and perhaps make some changes. So pleased you describe us as 'Top Notch' that says a lot and I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have been staying in the Lake District for many years now, and now seem to be using hotels, rather than pubs. This hotel has everything we need. Comfortable room, friendly, efficient staff, good breakfast with gluten free bread on offer and a well kept cask ale in the bar. This is our first stay, but it won't be the last. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
'Best hotel we've used in the Lakes' - WOW ! Thank you very much for the compliment . So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to look after you and provide all you needed. I Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a lovely weekend in a very comfortable and stylish room. The staff were polite and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay again soon. It's a little bit of luxury in a delightful setting.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased you and your partner enjoyed your weekend with us. Glad you liked your room and that you felt like you experienced a little luxury with us, we do hope you can come back to stay soon and that we can look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing