We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you are looking for a very comfortable night with a spacious room definitely put this one in your list. Room 207 had a huge bed with corner windows looking out onto the main streets. Comfortable chairs which means you can relax after a long days hiking! Great jet bath - just don't put too much bubble bath in or it will be all over the floor! Superb choice for breakfast. The only down side was the spa facility and that was because some areas were too cold ie outdoor hot tub was Luke warm - ditto for the indoor jacuzzi - and steam room was cold. Pool was good and the gym was well equipped with new machines - just remember to bring your trainers.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review about the hotel and your compliments about the hotel bedrooms, I agree 207 has great views and a fabulous jet bath - just what you need after a long day on the hills! Pleased you enjoyed our breakfast selection there are plenty of choices which seem to go down well with everyone. Apologies about the hot tub, steam room and Jacuzzi being a little on the luke warm side, we have had the technical guys out to look at them and they are all back up and running correctly now. Glad you liked the pool and gym and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights while walking in the Lakes. Good, clean, well maintained hotel to an excellent standard. Great breakfast, helpful staff! Excellent pool and hot tub. The location is excellent. This was just the ticket. Book the Thai Restaurant next door for supper!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review and kind comments about our breakfast, location, great staff and excellent standards- all very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your walking break with us and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from our 4th visit to the Salutation Hotel and spent 3 nights here. Our room 116 was so nice.It had a small balcony and views of the mountains. The bathroom was a nice surprise as this one had a walk in shower as well as the spa bath. The towels are lovely and soft and big enough to wrap around you, not like some other hotels you go to. Plenty of hot water no matter what time of the day you needed it. The bed was massive and very comfy that I didnt want to get up in the mornings. The room was very clean and everyday the towels were changed even though we had hung them back on the rail to dry. Tea and coffee replenished every day. On arriving at the hotel the staff were friendly and polite asking how our journey had been. Food was as good as I remembered from our last visit and the breakfast is still the best I have ever had in a hotel. Plenty of choice and cooked to order, on our last day, my husband ordered the omelette and he said how lovely it was. All the staff are polite and very helpful. After our evening meal it was nice to sit in the lounge with a drink and be able to relax. We had an Irish coffee one night and the little biscuit that it came with was so tasty, I wanted to eat my husbands. This time we managed to try out the pool etc and we wished we had used it before this weekend. How refreshing to sit in the hot tub when it is raining! We had a look at the gym and my husband has informed me the next time we stay at the Salutation we are taking our gym kits. I am now looking forward to the next time we come and stay. My husband tried the banana bread this time and liked it but his favourite is still the tea bread.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowflakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

What a fantastic review thank you so much, so pleased you enjoyed your stay in 116- its a great room. All your kind compliments and comments are very much appreciated and I'm delighted you think we are a great hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back for more home made Banana and Tea Bread and I agree the hot tub is a must and even more refreshing when its raining - thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was here three nights. My room was just above the entrance and had a balcony and a view of some of the town. It was very well organized, though small, with a comfortable bed and good linens. Towels were good, as were the amenities. Free, good wifi. No safe, no minibar. The shower was really, really good: warm and a terrific flow of water; better than a rainshower showerhead I thought. The shower enclosure was like a glass maze where I sort of walked around a corner to get to it. It never wet the floor. The bathroom sink was a bit small. TV choices were good. Breakfast was served in a nice room and was very good. Service and staff were excellent. Very friendly, helpful, efficient. Various aspects of the hotel and its notices made their hospitality as well as concern for the environment apparent. This is the biggest hotel in Ambleside, but not "big" by any means. Free parking. If up in this area again, I would seriously think about Ambleside, and if I went there, I'd stay at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank busyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel . Your kind comments about our service, facilities, hospitality and green friendliness are much appreciated - we try to our part for the environment. We are looking at the possibility of putting a safe in the rooms as an addition - no mini bars I'm afraid but you can by chilled drinks in our vending machine by the bar. Thank you once again your feed back really does make it all worth while, look forward to looking after you when you visit Ambleside again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

However the gym is very very compact
And excellent food however not having proper chips is a big let down for us
And make sure you pre book for a massage ect
Very close to the main town so easy walking
The staff was outstanding
And helpful


  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review and kind comments about the hotel, our helpful staff, location and excellent food despite the lack of proper chips - we will look into that for you and perhaps make some changes. So pleased you describe us as 'Top Notch' that says a lot and I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have been staying in the Lake District for many years now, and now seem to be using hotels, rather than pubs. This hotel has everything we need. Comfortable room, friendly, efficient staff, good breakfast with gluten free bread on offer and a well kept cask ale in the bar. This is our first stay, but it won't be the last. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

'Best hotel we've used in the Lakes' - WOW ! Thank you very much for the compliment . So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to look after you and provide all you needed. I Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,436 reviews
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing