We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2008

I was a little worried before my fiancee and myself visited Tha Salutation as the reviews were a little mixed on here, i shouldn't of been. As an all round package this hotel is the best i've ever stayed in. From first check in the staff awere so friendly and couldn't do enough for us they found a little room in the back of the hotel were we could lock up our mountain bikes and were very helpful with knowledge of trails and directions for us. The room was splendid with a fantastic view and a wonderful spa bath. The leisure in the base of the hotel was also excellent on our second day we got back to the hotel about 2.30 and had all the facilities to ourselves for nearly two hours. Breakfast is also top notch in a lovely setting again the staff are really really nice. I can't wait to go back if you've booked to visit The Salutation you're very lucky

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kingrat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
There are newer reviews for Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2008

Just returned from three night stay bed and breakfast, with my husband and my sister and brother in law. We found the Hotel very warm and friendly and ideally located. We were given rooms next to each other and both rooms were nicely decorated,spotlessly clean,comfortable and of adequate size.

The staff were all very friendly and cheerful and the breakfasts were excellent. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel as we had decided to try one or two of the many resteraunts in Ambleside, the hotel location is excellent for going out into Ambleside as it is central to the resteraunts , pubs and shops

We have previously been regular visitors to the Red Lion in Grasmere which used to be the sister hotel to the Salutation until the sale of the Red Lion this July,and we cannot understand previous review by some regulars,as we found both Hotels of the highest standards and will hopefully be coming back to the Salutation early next year.

Thank you to all the staff who made our stay very pleasant ,very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LythamEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Good hotel ofr family of four. Rooms small but clean. Staff friendly. Parking not easy at first but staff helped. Breakfast excellent. Evening meal not so good but plenty of other places ot eat in the town. Afternoon tea super.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LordWool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Last visit was June 2008

Visited this hotel several times over the past couple of years.
Central Location makes it so easy for restaurants, pubs, cinema, shops, in fact everything in Ambleside.
Its leisure facilities, Pool, Gym, Sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi is just what you need after a day up on the Fells!
Breakfast is fantastic. Excellent 3* hotel.

Don't tell everyone though, just keep this to ourselves!!

1  Thank GrimsbyKer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We went to Ambleside for the day and as the weather was fantastic we decided to try to get a hotel room. The receptionist was helpful and said she had an executive room that we could look at before committing ourselves. We thought the price a little steep but the room was clean and newly refurbished so we decided to go for it. I wouldn't realy describe the room as executive as it wasn't that spacious but it was very nice and the bathroom was lovely with a new spa bath and a fantastic shower. We were in an annexe rather than the main hotel and this was fine - the hotel helpfully places umbrellas in the room for the walk to the hotel (and we did have a thunderstorm in the evening). We didn't look at the pool/gym so can't comment but the hotel is well placed in the town and breakfast was above average. All in all it was a pleasant stay, although I would recommend booking in advance to get the best rate.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireWildgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

If I was to use one word to describe my experience of the Salutation it would be ‘Disappointing’. On entering the room we were initially allocated our noses were greeted by a strong stench of stale cigarette smoke. Our eyes took in the sight of a small dingy room with poor decor out dated furniture and watermarks on the wall paper above the radiator and around the skirting. Infact the only positive that could be said of the room was the view outside it.

Katrina (our Receptionist) was cheerful and good at her job (despite what she had to work with) offered us a choice of 2 alternative rooms. Although they did not smell of cigarette smoke, they remained outdated and poor quality bringing to mind low market bed and breakfast accommodation.

The 2nd of the alternatives we were offered (and through desperation accepted) had the following faults:
The TV reception was terrible; the base of the bed was bigger than the mattress which was lumpy and uncomfortable.

The bathroom was of a more acceptable standard, with a fantastic spa bath and power shower to die for, however the shower leaked onto the bedroom carpet.

The gym consisted of a couple of items of mediocre equipment situated in a small space with no air conditioning.

My sympathies go out to the staff who were cheerful, professional and faultless - They would without a doubt grace the ranks of any up market hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FrequentH0telUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmblesideManager, Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2008

I am sorry that “Frequent Hotel User” found the room he was allocated disappointing. As the entire hotel, including all bedrooms, has been completely non-smoking since July last year I fail to understand how he could have smelt stale cigarette smoke.

I would not describe any of our rooms as being dingy or having outdated furniture. With regards to the comment about watermarks on the wallpaper, unfortunately as we are in the Lake District, and we sometimes have rain here guests dry their clothes on the radiators thus marking the wallpaper. We have almost completed the process of refurbishing all our bedrooms and to solve this problem we are putting clear Perspex behind all the radiators. All rooms will be completely finished by the end of October this year and as the reviewer notes all our bathrooms were completely refurbished last year and have spa baths & power showers.

With regards to the TV reception we are looking forward with great anticipation to the digital switchover, which will hopefully improve the reception we receive - a hazard of living in a beautiful, though mountainous area. In anticipation of this we have installed flat screen TV’s in all rooms with Sky channels.

Our leisure centre has a superb indoor pool which is only 2 years old and receives lots of compliments from our guests. We only advertise that we have a mini gym, although it does have 6 pieces of equipment, but we will be upgrading this along with our sauna & steam room early next year.

I feel that this reviewer has painted a grossly exaggerated view of a hotel which you will see has had numerous excellent reviews and which is always improving the facilities offered to its guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

we stopped at this hotel for my birthday for 3 nights.

it was lovely to go into the swimming pool and spa it was clean and had clean towels also lockers for your clothes. The shower room could have done with a room to change into your clothes. some people don't like changing in front of other people. and there are children changing in there as well. i don't think its right changing in front of children.

ROOM
was abit small it was very nice and clean. and so was the bathroom. it were over looking ambleside town very lovely views.
the only thing, it was very noisey till about 1.30am 2am, comming from the hotel across the road people were sitting outside, the windows did not block the noise out.

Dinning rooms

very nice and clean,
the breakfast was very nice only thing i had to run to the loo about 1 and half after i had the breakfast on the first day. was ok
next day, and day after that was the same as the first day. i had to run to the loo 3 times. this never happens to me unless i have ate something that don't agree with me. i have wrote this the day after we came back and i still don't feel well. i'v had to have day off work and stayed in bed. we were ask to go to my sons for his birthday we are not going due to me been ill. my husband is ok we did not have the same food at breakfast. other then that we had a nice weekend. i have phoned the hotel they said i may have a bug, but my husband hasn't got a bug.
The staff were friendly

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannah12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £113 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing