We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently took three night break with my husband and parents. As always, facilities and food excellent, staff friendly and helpful.

Only slight criticism, is the lack of disabled access, particularly to leisure facilities, and within the room allocated.

Have highlighted this directly with the hotel, and received a very prompt response.

My husband and I have stayed several times at this hotel, and will be returning, I can certainly recommend this, for visitors to Ambelside.

Room Tip: Double standard rooms excellent size, but twin rooms a little cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review - 'Excellent as always' sounds good to me! So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    330
    65
    19
    13
See reviews for
208
780
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. Facilities are excellent. Pool, hot tub and spa facilities are an added bonus. From arrival at reception through to the restaurant staff, everyone was friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely-clean and cosy- recommend first floor with balcony as lovely views over Ambleside and nearby hills. Had a lovely relaxing break and will return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zm0rris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review, sounds like you really had a really relaxing with us. Your comments about the hotel our staff and facilities are most welcomed. I agree the views form the hotel are great, we have everything on our door step and as you said no need to use the car! We look forward to your return - you may want to have a spin in our Twizy our little electric car is for hire and its a fabulous way to get around- thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed with friends at The Salutation Hotel in The Lake District's Ambleside for 2 nights. The room was very good, the bed comfortable, the breakfast excellent with buffet starters and hot meal cooked to order and all served by the superb staff.

We also had dinner in the hotel both nights with a tempting menu to choose from. The food was well prepared and presented and thoroughly recommended.

The lounges were large with comfortable seating with an adjacent bar.Car parking is on site with automatic barrier access.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the hotel. I'm pleased you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and our evening meals and breakfast selection which we hope sets you up for the day! I couldn't agree more on the 'superb' staff- thank you. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I spent four nights here recently with a party of American garden lovers and misquoting Oscar Wilde, have nothing to report but excellent accommodation, good food and the most helpful and friendly service from the manager, the waiting staff and most of all, the reception team. I believe that there was a little difficulty between the hotel and the tour company re booking and payments, but as far as our stay was concerned, it was excellent. I didn't use the pool but others did and found the facilities excellent too.

If I return to the Lakes with another party, this is where we'll be!

Room Tip: There's a certain amount of noise from traffic on the street as the hotel is in the town centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for posting a review, your kind compliments about the hotel, accommodation, service, staff , food and facilities are really very much appreciated. I'm so pleased you and your group all enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambleside, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a fabulous break could not fault anything at all the hotel food and leisure facilities were of a very good standard, breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful and made our holiday special

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, Public Relations Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Than you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your break with us and that the team were able to make it special for you. Pleased you enjoyed our facilities and our breakfast- we are very proud of the choice we have available at breakfast - a great way to start the day. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from 3 nights at the sal. Excellent spacious room. Huge bed for the two adults and 2 camp beds for the boys. Shame that one of those beds couldn't be a single bed, as my 13year old was a bit big for the camp bed. Room very clean. Bathroom excellent. Decor a bit tired. Front of house staff could not do enough for you. Food was hot and tasty but a bit average. Glad it was a bit cooler outside as this is the warmest hotel I've ever stopped in. Overall we really like the hotel and would have no qualms about going back. Loved the outside hot tub.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigmack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem in Ambleside. I stayed in a twin room with my son for two nights. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast was served in the gorgeous restaurant and cooked beautifully, loved the vegetarian option. The Lounge had lovely little alcoves to sit and relax in. The best bit was definitely the Spa. Nice pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi, facilities were part of the hotel price, very reasonable. My son and I will definitely be back!! Hopefully next time I can try some treatments.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Solovegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookson1342, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review looks like we ticked all the boxes for you during your stay, which is what we aim to do. Your compliments about the hotel and services are really very much appreciated, especially about the Spa facilities we are really pleased with them. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and hope you try a treatment at Oxley's guest's receive a 10% discount its best to pre book, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing