We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, wish it had nicer views but that's me wanting everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, wish it had nicer views but that's me wanting everything!”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Spent 3 days at the Ambleside Salutation last week.
I was torn between a town or quiet hotel when booking but booked the Salutation because of its location and facilities.
We had room 405 (1st floor club room) which was in a newish extension at the rear of the hotel. The room was excellent with a great bathroom that had a power shower/spa bath. Everything was spotless and the room was cleaned and replenished daily. The room also had slippers, bathrobe, internet, nice TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer etc.
Only bad point was that it overlooked the car park (tight as some others have pointed out) and rear of the main hotel. This also had the rear door of the kitchen which would be a bit noisy at night especially at 10.30pm when they were closing up or when staff had a smoke outside. Rooms to the rear of the extension had views over trees and a little stream, and the downstairs rear rooms had a balcony as well. If you get the option go for rear rooms.
Unfortunately these rooms were fully booked so we had to settle with the one we were in.
We paid full price, £450 for three nights (as we booked late) so it would have been nice to have been in one of the ‘better view rooms’ for this price.
The gym, sauna & pool were amazing! My wife used them twice daily and was alone most of the time. (I was resting instead!)
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.
Full English (as much as you want) and a buffet with rolls, jams, ham, smoked fish, fruit, juices, cereals etc.
Didn’t have dinner at the hotel but wished we did as we had a terrible meal at the Doi Imtanon Thai Restaurant just outside. Try Jade Garden which is great and steer clear of Tagore Indian Restaurant.
The food at the Tagore was recommended by a couple of people but we didn’t make it there as I was torn to shreds when asking what time last orders were! (Call at 8pm and if you get the idiot that calls you mate all the time – that’s the guy I spoke to)

Overall it’s a great hotel, but I really wish I could pick it up place it in a scenic spot but that’s just me wanting everything. If you want a great hotel in a small town look no further.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    325
    65
    19
    13
See reviews for
206
770
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Booked this hotel after reading Tripadvisor and was pleased with our stay. As mentioned parking can be a problem but we were lucky and found a nice parking spot and left the car for the duration of our visit, as the bus service is excellent and we able to get to all the places we needed. Staff were very attentive and helpful and I would have no hesitation to reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicklesFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle staffs
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Have just come back from a three-night stay at the Salutation in Ambleside. Would like to say we enjoyed the hotel and the facilities very much, the general ambience of the hotel and the leisure centre was as good as many four star hotels that we have stayed in. The staff all very professional and polite, but have to agree with other responses the bathroom was just a bit small, and parking a bit tight apart from that should be a four star.
Would defiantly go again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Our stay at the Salutation was enjoyment from start to finish.We were greeted by two very friendly and helpful receptionists and during our stay we found all other staff to be the same.The room we had was quite large with a seating area, huge balcony/patio and spa bath all for the price of a standard room.The swimming pool and fitness centre were excellent .Breakfasts had lots to choose from but the full english was particularly nice! We would have no hesitation in recommending this charming hotel to anyone who likes old fashioned service and courtesy !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. helens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Nice location, couldn't ask to be closer to the centre.
I was a bit concerned about the car park, really tight squeeze on the way in, obliviously space is a premium when you in the centre.
This theme then continued into the hotel.
Granted, we only purchased the basic room type but at over £80 per night I'd expect a slightly larger room. To say the room was compact is an understatement and the bathroom was crammed in, the overall size of the room and the smallness of the bed didn't make for a peaceful nights sleep, coupled with the temperature, in the middle of the night we where both awoken as the the heat was unbelievable, like a furness.
We didn't complain about the room, when we checked out I would have mentioned it but we were not asked if we had had a pleasant stay, they did attempt to overcharge us, this was quickly rectified once we pointed this out.
Overall, clean, polite staff, good location, would recommend getting a larger room, but for the price, it was too much for us for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellynbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We spent x2 nights at the Best Western Ambleside and had a very pleasant stay.

The room was a little small but very clean and tidy. The breakfast was fab and more than plenty to satisfy my boyfriends huge appetite!!

Would recommend this hotel as it is in a great location, right in the centre of Ambleside so it is in easy walking distance of all the pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEB-HEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

A lovely hotel, a great location, very convenient with parking which is such a bonus in Ambleside. The room was spotless and the facilities were fantastic. There is also use of the leisure facilities with pool, sauna, steam room etc which was a real bonus after a days walking and they were so luxurious. The food was great, an extensive breakfast menu and you could have as much as you wanted. The best thing of all was the staff. They were so friendly and polite. I will definitely stay there again and would recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnbracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing