We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I have just got back from staying at this hotel this week. The leisure facilities are very good. They have a traditional wooden Canadian hot tub outside, and you can hear the Stock Ghyll Beck while you are relaxing in the hot tub. The pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are really very good.

Me and my friend ate in the bistro, and the food was brilliant, and good value for money, with most main meals being under 10 pounds. The breakfast has many items to choose from, and you can have continental and cooked breakfasts. You can eat as much as you like at breakfast, the choice is great.

The staff are very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you are after a relaxing break. I certainly will return there myself.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

We didn't like our stay at the Salutation Hotel. It has all the appearances of a great hotel but when you look closer it is more like a backpackers. The room we were given was terrible... I got the impression it was the last available even though we had booked in. The reception staff must have had a bad day as we felt they couldn't have cared less. Food was good ( you have to pay for your meals when you order , we got the impression they thought you might make a runner without paying if they served you first ! )
The car park situation is a disgrace... no room !
Everywhere you looked people were clomping about in walking boots with umbrella's it really is a strange place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank casimir_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

After much research we selected the Salutation for our first ever Christmas Break-It was all that we could have asked for.
The service is outstanding with always smiling and always helpful staff who seem to take a real pleasure in looking after their guests.
The hotel is rated 3 star and easily justifies its rating. The beds are comfortable and the showers really good. Flat screen TV ,Trouser press,salon quality hairdryer and attractive decor make the bedrooms very pleasant . The food is good, the wines are reasonably priced and the bar serves real ale. Public areas are warm and cosy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakelover72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Excellent hotel, a very good breakfast cooked to order, evening meals good value and to a really good standard.
All staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
Good central location with good local amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tavitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed in the Salutation last weekend. Arrived on the Friday just as the snow was beginning to fall in earnest !

Parked up the car which reamined there all weekend and went to explore Ambleside in the snow and have some lunch before checking in - which went very smoothly.

Room was a club room and as such slighlty more expensive. It was a more of a suite than a room and as such it wasn't huge but it wasn't pokey either. It was clean and comfortable and of a good standard. The bathroom was a little small but very well appointed with jacuzzi bath and power shower. The big plus was the bay window which opened to give access to the balcony overlooking Ambleside. The view from our room was wonderful, especially on Sunday when we woke up to clear blue skies and the early morning sun hitting a snow covered Lough Rigg. It was a bit to cold to sit outside on the balcony and sip the champagne we ordered however!

We made extensive use of the leisure facilties which for a hotel of this size were extremely good. I was a little dissapointed not to be able to use the Hot Tub on Friday evening, but it was absolutely chucking it down with snow and was closed for safety reasons! It was open on Saturday however and was well worth the dash in freezing temperatures to get in. The gym looks very modern and well equipped but as I was looking to expand my waistline over the weekend rather than reduce it it did not get tested by me!

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis for the Friday night and B & B for the Saturday. I am very gald I booked it this way. On Friday we enjoyed a very good three course meal in the hotel restaurant, whislt out in Ambleside chaos descended as the snow continued to fall and many restaurants closed early or did not open at all. Both the service and food were of a very high standard and In fact it was so good we chose to eat in the Bistro, which offers bar meals, at the hotel the following evening.Again we were not disappointed with food and service both excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and you are free to eat a much or as little as you wish. It is a self service buffet for the continteal breakfast and cereals etc, but the hot breakfast is waiter serviced to a friendly and very high standard.

Overall a really great weekend in the Lakes made better by staying in a great hotel with a good room with a great view, great leisure facilities, excellent food and friendly high quality service from all the staff.

Heading back in January with the kids this time and, based on this experience, I am really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kino21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

recently stayed for one night at the salutation best western hotel, everything went smoothly from on line booking to check in i've often stayed in ambleside and always used the B&B's which are really good value but this actual hotel was on a special price and didn't cost much more, but being a hotel you had all the extras such as a car park , fitness suite swimming pool although i didn't use the fitness suit and pool but next time i go to ambleside i will take my cossie! because of the time of year there are lots of good deals on so for a few pounds more a hotel made a really good choice. Excellent bath and shower and comfy beds although had to turn off radiators as felt a little too warm ! but really in november not a bad thing, dinning room for breakfast good choice on self service followed by full english, pleasent helpful staff. Dined out at stampers in the evening but may try the hotel resturant next time. comfy lounge area all round great experience

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibizaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this Hotel. We had booked three rooms as we attended a wedding alongside our children and their partners. Everything about the stay was perfect. The staff are very friendly and helpful our rooms were lovely - 2 in the hotel and ours in one of the lodges. The leisure facilites are very good and the hot tub perfect after a busy day or walking. Lovely to have a cooked breakfast included -many four star charge extra for this. We stayed an extra night and our evening meal was fantastic. We would stay again and try more Best Western Hotels in the future.
ps Great to have car parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,219 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £113 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing