We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A real treat”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Hill Cottage

Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
A roaring fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
58 reviews
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
A roaring fire
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom.
Showing our car parking space.
Some visitors arrive by horse!
A walk from Bluehill Cottage overlooking Grasmere.
Stormy day near Ambleside .
A host of dancing daffodils- by Stockghyll waterfalls a short walk from the cottage.
Lake Windermere above Blue Hill from Jenkins Crag, another walk from the doorstep.
Well stocked compact kitchen with dishwasher.
Newly renovated bathroom with walk-in shower.
Twin room.
Lake Windermere at Waterhead. 10 mins walk from cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jane T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is my second time at Blue Hill cottage with friends and it was a super as the last visit. We quickly got settled in, getting the fire going (which is such a treat for those of us who normally live in the town). My friends agreed that the cottage has everything you could need, including wifi, which is essential for me. My friends were also impressed with the location, (particularly the ease with which you can get both into town and to the steamer terminal). We slept like logs in the comfy beds. We will be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cottage has a great feel to it and you immediatley feel at home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0k5
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Quaint little blue stone cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Blue Hill Cottage for 4 nights as a family of 4. The owner Jenny did tell us that it was better suited for 2 people but we managed with 4 people as there are 2 bedrooms upstairs.
The stairs are quite steep and you have to be careful to negotiate going to the bathroom because of the unevenness of the stairs but having said that we had a super time in Ambleside. The cottage is within walking distance from the village of Ambleside a huge plus with parking problems in all villages in the Lakes District. There is an open fire which we used every night as it was cold while we were there. It is a cosy cottage to spend a week in the beautiful Lakes District.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Staying in Ambleside and able to walk to the village
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hawick, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the location , near th main part of the town
Liked least: cleaning out the fire!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ross3210
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything you need for a cosy getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

A small terraced cottage in a convenient location, with all the things you'd need for a short break. Ideal for a couple, but there is a second bedroom too. We enjoyed the fire during the windy weekend we were there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotongirl...
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Lovely Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage in late September this year, and found that the location was perfect. Right in the heart of Ambleside, only a very short stroll into the village. Being September it was still busy, but not ridiculously so. The village is very well situated for exploring the Lake District and has loads of lovely cafes and pubs. Particular favourites were the Giggling Goose and the Golden Rule. Walking back from the pub is not as bad as some other reviews have said, it's literally five minutes and we didn't find it too steep.

The cottage itself was as described, small but perfect for two people. The open fire was great and coal and kindling was provided. The kitchen was well equipped and lots of local information provided by the owners.

If we were going back to the area on our own we would definitely consider renting this cottage again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Convenient location and cosiness of open fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cgw11
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a last minute holiday in Ambleside - I checked out tripadviser for all kinds of accommodation and stumbled across ‘blue hill cottage’ and decided to book. I am so glad i did. My boyfriend and i had a lovely time.

It was our first trip to Ambleside and we did not really know what to expect. On arriving at the cottage i was struck by the lovely view on top of the hill and even took a minute to admire the cute cobbled street leading up to the front door (much to the annoyance of my boyfriend who had driven from scotland and just wanted to get in the cottage).

The cottage is about a 5 minute walk, uphill, from the heart of Ambleside. The hill is fairly steep and can feel like a mountain after a nightcap or two. Other than that i would say the location was ideal. It is very central and i think it would be a maximum 10minute walk to any of the shops, restaurants and to waterfront. There are good transport links to the rest of the lake district.

The kitchen was well stocked and we were delighted to find washing up liquid as thats something we had forgotten. There is a coal fire which would be lovely in the winter - a little bit of me was upset the weather was so nice that we didn’t need to have it on during our stay. The cottage was clean and had everything you could need during your stay.

All in all, we had the most delightful stay in this cosy little cottage and would book again if visiting Ambleside - which i think we will. We took another reviews advice and spread ourselves put by used the second bedroom as a dressing area. We did that because we had the luxury of having a spare room but the cottage can happily hold 4. Communications with the owner were good which made the whole process really easy and enjoyable.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The steep hill when walking back to the cottage- this can be a mountain after a days walking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing