We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great for our needs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Hill Cottage

Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage. Showing our car parking space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
87 reviews
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage.
Showing our car parking space.
A prosecco moment!
Relaxing in the lounge!
Cosy lounge.
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom.
Twin room.
Newly renovated bathroom with walk-in shower.
Bathroom
Some visitors arrive by horse!
A walk from Bluehill Cottage overlooking Grasmere.
A host of dancing daffodils- by Stockghyll waterfalls a short walk from the cottage.
Lake Windermere at Waterhead. 10 mins walk from cottage.
Waterhead.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Anglophil...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great for our needs”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

Ambleside, although busy with tourists had everything we needed and central to Lakes District venues. The cottage was lovely and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muzikat
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We have just stayed at Bluehill Cottage for the sixth time in four years, and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. Located just minutes from the centre of Ambleside, and convenient for walking the fells, this cottage is ideally situated as a base for exploring the Lake District. Cosy, comfortable, well-equipped and spotlessly clean, Bluehill Cottage will not disappoint.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Thank you for such a great review. We love our little cottage and we’re glad you do too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve f
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“COSY COTTAGE WITH AN EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Reviewed 28 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is in an excellent position for all Ambleside amenities. These can all be accessed without the use of a car. The cottage had everything that was required to make the holiday a success.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. At least you will have had no complaints about the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely small cottage in an excellent location only 5 minutes walk into Ambleside for pubs & restaurants. Big plus was the allocated parking spot and we didn’t move the car during our stay as lots of walks are available from the door step. Perfect weather & perfect holiday

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
I’m so glad you had a good time. Hopefully you’ll be back. There’s a 5% discount for returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique...
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a perfect location... a little away from the centre of Ambleside, yet in perfect walking distance to everything. The cottage has a wonderful charm. It is cosy but everything you could need is provided. Little things like aluminium foil, salt and pepper, paper towels. Things if you are traveling you won’t carry with you. It was a very comfortable stay. I would certainly return. Everyone was also very friendly in Ambleside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our little cottage and glad you did too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Glad you had a good break. Don’t forget there’s a 5% discount if you book again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth H
Strandhill, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy little cottage”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a fabulous stay in Blue Hill Cottage. Great location, parking, open fire, warm & comfortable beds...what more could you wish for?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
So pleased you had a good stay. Hurry back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing