We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
700
44
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
44
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arts and crafts whitwell suite home made cakes skelwith room drop scones lake district antique furniture attention to detail original features superb views fresh fruit salad homemade jams birthday card warm welcome smoked salmon roll top bath large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2016

After finding this B and B when scrambling for accommodation last minute I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. The Owners and staff were welcoming, informative and charming. The room which I had was one on the cheaper ones but still well above average and very nice indeed. I was shown a few of the other rooms and they looked fantastic. Breakfast was superb! great walks around the local areas and lovely food recommendations in the nearby town of Ambleside.

Room tip: Ask for the valley view- its amazing.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank realitycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We were delighted that after searching for accommodation you found that we had one of our standard rooms available and that you felt that this way way above average.
It was also a pleasure to show you some of our other rooms before you departed and I hope these gave you a flavor for what we provide here.
I was delighted to read how welcoming, informative and charming we all were and that you rated our breakfast so highly.

We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Rydal room in the annex and it was lovely - great bathroom which is always something I look for! Staff were so helpful in their recommendations for dinner (lots of v impressive restaurants around this area) and booking tables/transport if requested. Also have lots of good walk ideas. Lounge area was great, with incredible views, the B&B is in such a stunning setting - well worth the 20 min walk into ambleside in the day or a v short taxi/drive in the dark. Oh and the muesli at breakfast is a must try, but all the food their is really high quality - bacon looked like gammon it was so thick! A really well done B&B! (And as an aside, didn't see much of them, but the two collie dogs are gorgeous!)

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you thought that the bedroom and bathroom was great.
It was also lovely to read your kind comments about how helpful all the staff were, the excellent choice of local restaurants, incredible views and the high quality of our breakfasts with a special mention for the home made muesli.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We stayed here many years ago and were more than pleasantly surprised, to find that the new owners have improved on something that was already perfect.
If your looking for somewhere central to the Lakes but also quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the Towns then this is for you, Enjoy!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianferguson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you both for your lovely review, and compliment about us improving on something that was already perfect. We have thoroughly enjoyed restoring Nanny Brow back to its Arts and Craft origins and are delighted to welcome guests back here that stayed before it closed in 2003.
Thank you for recommending us to other Trip Advisor readers and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We stayed here for two nights for a joint 50th birthday celebration in a party of 6 couples. The Brathay Suite was lovely with fantastic views up over the Wrynose Pass (at least when the mist cleared). We were well looked after with amazing breakfasts and with Sue and the team catering for our needs, including restaurant and taxi bookings. A lovely experience and we'll be back!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bromie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Thank you both for posting a review about your stay. We all enjoyed looking after the 12 of you for the weekend too and we were delighted you were all so pleased with your stay the restaurants we had booked for you all and the transport.
As you said Brathay Suite is a beautiful room and the views from the main bedroom window are stunning.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Having stayed at nanny brow prior to it's closedown it was nice to.see that things can be made even better. We stayed for three nights in Lingmoor which has great views. The afternoon tea is a must.

Thank you for a great holiday Sue and Emma see you soon.

Sue & Mike.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Thank you Mike and Sue for taking the time to post a review and including pictures of your stay. We are delighted that you feel that Nanny Brow is even better than it was last time you stayed which was before it closed in 2002.
We have now been open for 5 years following a complete renovation of the house to bring it back to its Arts & Crafts origins and one of the areas finest examples of this period.
Our pre-bookable afternoon teas are always popular and what better place to eat them than in the beautiful guest lounge admiring the view from the main window down the valley to the fells beyond.
We look forward to seeing you both soon.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews