We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
700
44
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
44
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arts and crafts whitwell suite home made cakes skelwith room drop scones lake district antique furniture attention to detail original features superb views fresh fruit salad homemade jams birthday card warm welcome smoked salmon roll top bath large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

There's a reason Nannybrow has 5 stars and if I could give 6 stars I would. This is a fabulous family run business, with lots of heart and soul and it shows in everything they do and in everything that they have worked for during their renovations too. They genuinely want you to have a fabulous time and that includes fab suggestions for dinners, walks and even making bookings (which I highly recommend you do through Emma because we were majorly looked after at each restaurant!).

We were staying in the jaw dropping of a view "Whitwell Suite" over the Bank Holiday, with the awesome roll top bath and it was my treat for The Man's birthday - be careful, you may never want to leave because you can just laze in bed and enjoy the view for hours, whilst snacking on Sue's delicious cakes and biscuits (yeah, we had a fantastic lie in!). You'll also notice the beautiful Chinoiserie tiles in the fireplace and the hint of the Orient in the lampshades too, which I adore...

Stuck for reading material? There are tonnes of recent magazines in the guest lounge and more in the bedroom , why not read the incredible renovation story whilst you're there, it's in a file and makes for a good read. If you're doggie mad, indulge yourself with a cuddle from Josh and Miffy, I wanted to adopt them, they're very cute and well versed in the big eye charm, which of course works every time with me!

We can't thank you guys enough for making our stay very special and fun, we'll be back x

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeagreenTangerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review, its like an journalists advert for here and its much appreciated. As you pointed out we put our heart and souls into renovating this beautiful Arts and Crafts house and run it as a family business with care and compassion. I am so touched that you felt we deserved 6 stars as opposed to our 5 star gold, its a real compliment to all the team here.
The room you stayed in was originally the architects bedroom and the tiled fire place is original, I used the influence of this for the decoration of the rest of the room, as you noted with your comment about the lampshades.
Its always lovely to hear how much our guests enjoy the company of Myffy and Josh the two resident dogs and of course Kewi the cat.
I am delighted you found our restaurant recommendations to your taste and that our recommended places provided such excellent service to you. We are always happy to recommend and book restaurants for our guests as we work closely with them and they with us.
Finally thank you for the cake mention.

We look forward to meeting you both soon

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Everything at Nanny Brow was so lovely. The surroundings are stunning, the welcome from the rightly proud owners was warm and friendly, the food was delicious - and especially the fact that catering for my gluten free diet was absolutely no problem - GF shortbread in our room and GF dropped-scones for breakfast!
The views are breath-taking and no matter what the weather, you feel like you've truly escaped here. A huge thanks for such a blissful break.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahL0u70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the gluten free options we provided at breakfast and the home made gluten free shortbread I baked for your room were such a hit. I know whats its like when you are on special diet, it can be really stressful going out to eat or staying somewhere and I am so pleased we were able to take this stress away and let you have a blissful break.

All the best

Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Just back from another short visit to Nanny Brow - excellent once again. A friendly welcome from management and staff, excellent attention to detail, superb breakfasts and stunning views. Perfect. Planning our third visit already and can't wait. Simply the best and most luxurious B&B you will find.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FineWineDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We love welcoming all our guest to Nanny Brow but especially those that are returning for a second time or more. To be told by a returning guest that we were excellent once again is the biggest compliment we could receive. Thank you once again for this and we look forward to seeing you both for your 3rd visit very soon.

With best wishes

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

My partner and I stumbled across this quaint property whilst viewing a long list of B&B's around Lake Windermere. The thing that struck us the most about this property was its charm, character and attention to detail.
The building has been renovated extensively and obviously with the comfort of its guests in mind. It is extremely clean, very well laid out and tastefully decorated using reclaimed antique furniture.
We stayed in the Grasmere suite which is situated in the Annex and has an amazing double shower and gorgeous views out onto the valley. For those wishing to walk the paths towards Loughrigg Tarn and Rydal water; there is a backdoor from the property that leads to directly to the trail.
Emma and her family that run the property were so welcoming and friendly that you really felt like you belonged. They were always available to assist in making dinner reservations, suggesting activities and giving more information on the history of the area and of the restoration of the property itself.

Although the property is breakfast only, the breakfast itself is truly amazing. Cooked onsite and served beautifully, the menu and choice is impressive and there was a large choice of jams, cereals, muesli and juices also available in the breakfast room.

All in all I cannot fault this property - it was a true delight and my partner and I will most definitely revisit in the future. Not just to see more of stunning lake Windermere and the surrounding area, but also to revisit Nanny Brow itself - a true spot of paradise.

Room tip: Lower ground floor rooms in the annex have direct access to the gardens and grand views over the valley.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beecch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.Emma and the rest of the team were delighted to read all the lovely things you had to say about Nanny Brow and and the team. We all felt that we had made a difference to your stay in The Lake District and that you really embraced what this beautiful historic Arts and Crafts House is all about.
Its always a delight to hear how much our guest enjoy our award winning cooked to order breakfast and the large selection of home made jams, marmalade and lemon curd.
We look forward to seeing you both soon and helping you fine other wonderful places to visit and restaurants.

All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Having stayed in a number of places in and around the Lake District this beautiful luxury B&B is one of the best, the room was elegant, large and spotlessly clean, the owners were friendly and helpful and even managed to help us get into a fully booked restaurant at the last minute. If you try the nanny brow whatever you do don't leave without taking a walk out of the back of the building to the top of the garden/woodland for amazing views of lake Windermere. Thank you Sue and co we will be back

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mayersonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay. We were delighted to read how much you had enjoyed yourselves and the experience of staying in this beautifully restored Arts and Crafts house, which is one of only a few significant houses in The Lake District.
The team were delighted to read how spotlessly clean you found the house to be as we all work really hard to achieve and maintain the high standards we have set our selves.
As you said the walk out the back of us through our private gate onto national trust land that leads to Loughrigg fell is a delight and the views over lake Windermere are stunning.
We are always here to help our guest make dinner reservations and to facilitate this we send out our recommended list of restaurants ahead of guests arrival. We work closely with the restaurants that we recommend, not only because in our eyes they their food is excellent but the the service they provide our guests is also excellent,like getting them into a top restaurant at short notice because they are staying here.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
All the best

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews