We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Rothay Garth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rothay Garth
Ranked #40 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at Rothay Garth with wife and 2 kids for a night last week. Great and friendly welcome from the Dixon family. Room 18 was perfect for the 4 of us, nice and spacious and quiet which all added to a good nights sleep in the lovely Lake District. Breakfast the next day was v tasty including all the things you want when you're not cooking or washing up, sausages, bacon, black pudding etc. Can't recommend a stay at Rothay Garth enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisClapperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Rothay Garth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at Rothay Garth for 1 night on 16th Feb in room 18 it was very clean, spacious with a jacuzzi & seperate lounge & our own private entrance. It is a family run hotel very well equipped, a lounge with all the daily newspapers & menus of most if not all places to eat. Would recommend this hotel it is perfectly situated for both the Town Centre or Lake. Plenty of choice for breakfast & hot. We will definately return to Rothay Garth on our next visit to Lakes

Room Tip: Room 18 has own private entrance & is very spacious
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at the Rothay Garth for one night as part of our engagement weeked. In room 17 and it was lovely! The Dixon family looked after us so well and made our stay very special. The room was perfect, spacious and emaculate and had the added bonus of a private entrance so we could come and go as we pleased. The Dixons recommended us to eat at the Glass House restaurant and then drinks at the Guilded Lily wine bar, Both were fantastic recomendations.
Breakfast was also served to perfection! We will most definately return and recommend the Rothay Garth to anyone wanting a quiet or adventurous weekend or weekday stay in the Lake District. On our departure the Dixon family recommended us to go for a relax at Oxleys Spa just up the road with topped it all off.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed at the rothay Garth for 2 days, we stayed in room 14 on the ground floor, it was lovely, very spacious, the breakfast each morning was delicious and piping hot, the family who run this hotel are very friendly and we will definately go back there on our next trip to the lakes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

A very friendly, family-run business. We we there to take in local walks, and it was central enough to do so without having to negotiate traffic. Awesome local produce breakfast. Owner was exceedingly helpful with walking routes to take and was professional in asking our expected return time, should we encounter any problem on the hills. I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dailaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Very friendly and warm family run business that welcomes you and serves your needs with pleasure and enthusiasm. Comfortable room and lovely breakfast. A lovely place to come home to after a wonderful day exploring the Lakes.

Room Tip: The lunch they provide to visitors staying that little bit longer is free and is excellent. Great ch...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Having stayed in Ambleside so many times and sadly not being able to book into our favoured B&B we booked the Rothay Garth. Not at all as expected and no we won’t be returning!

On our arrival Room 17 was freezing and when we asked for central heating to be put on, so we could remove our coats (a simple expectation we thought), the last thing I expected was a rude and terse remark. It was impossible to manage the room temp’ because the radiators were on and off despite having thermostat valves and not at all what you expect when you’re a paying guest. We actually left the room at 2.30pm on day two to go for a walk and get warm, however just prior to this we overheard others at the reception asking when the central heating was coming on - they were told at 4pm (1 ½ hrs later!)

The room dynamics didn’t work at all, no normal storage in bathroom, the mirror/shelf was ludicrously high (only 6ft folks should apply) so neither of us could use the thing, meaning my hubby shaved in the hallway. No sink in the separate toilet so getting ready was eventful to say the least (you were in one room then the next, all just to ready yourself for the day/eve).

Room 17 is a single glazed building with a pitched roof to the front/right hand side of the hotel and adjacent to the car park. It has no window coverings meaning everyone repeatedly looked in on us as they passed. It has its own door to the outside, however this meant people tried to come in thinking it was reception and the curtain covering the door, was clearly there to try to mask the draft which flooded in.

Breakfast – sausages were good and on the whole not a bad experience, however – when my husband asked for sausage and bacon on day two, the attendant brought forth exactly that – A sausage and A slice of bacon both sliding independently round on the plate which was remarkable and at the prices we were paying ludicrous.

The brochure has a picture, which incorporates St Mary’s Church spire; this is in fact on the other side of the Rothay Road, a view not possible without a camera and some editing software; very misleading and surely a misrepresentation.

The welcome was not warm from certain members of the family and forced otherwise. Our booking was for three nights, but we returned to our warm home on day three and despite mentioning we were leaving early this was not a concern to the member of staff checking us out.

Hospitality was not a resident at this B&B.!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 676Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#33 of 103 in Ambleside
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#54 of 103 in Ambleside
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#18 of 103 in Ambleside
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#62 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garth

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £79 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Garth offers you a blend of understated elegance and warm friendly family service. Set in beautiful gardens within Ambleside, we benefit from a large private on-site car park and superb mountain views. Enjoy our Lakeland breakfast in the Loughrigg breakfast room before heading out, and after a day's exploring relax and unwind with a glass of wine from the bar service in the comfort of our residents lounge - we look forward to hearing from you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rothay Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garth Hotel Ambleside
Rothay Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing